We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slipped, but recovered well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NASCH bei Hilton Vienna Plaza Hotel - CLOSED

NASCH bei Hilton Vienna Plaza Hotel
Schottenring 11, Vienna 1010, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dear guests, we are going to make the great even better! Our restaurant NASCH will be closed by the end of 2013 due to a masterplan renovation and reopened in May 2014 with a new name and a completely new culinary concept. We thank you for your loyalty and are looking forward to welcome you back at our new restaurant! The NASCH-Team
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“slipped, but recovered well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The idea of serving traditional dishes in Tapas sizes is debatable. It makes trying to have a regular meal quite expensive and a bit of a faff to eat. Even though I likie Tapas, I feel that a hotel restaurant should also serve full size dishes.
On the night of our arrival, there was only 30 minutes of service left, and it was clear that the staff had begun shutting the place down. Service was reluctant and slow. The food was good, but as stated a bit faffy to eat. The menu could cater for vegetarians and food allergies more.
Two nights later, though, they made up for it. Serving us full size dishes from the room service menu in the restaurant without the room service surcharge, with excellent service. Very happy with the experience. Different crew to first night, though. Might account for the different service level.
All in all, just below average first night, excellent the second time round.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    12
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasure to be here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

A nice small terrace outside of the hotel where you can enjoy a beer or white wine "gespritzt". Good food presented in a nice way (small portions)
Tapas style of austrian cuisine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I thought this place was amazing. We shared 10 tapas (5 choices for 19 euros) and were stuffed. She was completely enamored with the Hugo (champagne, elderberry syrup, club soda, and mint?). If you're looking for something different than the typical Vienna tourist cuisine yet want to sample multiple flavors with some local flare, check this place out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Alas caught them on a bad night. Long wait for menu, waited almost an hour for a salad, suspect something amiss in the kitchen,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

See above. Incredibly slow service, I just don't get what the problem is, but a nice plan to stay in house for a quiet snack turned into an unnecessarily annoying
evening. I won't be back. Waitress just approached me with second meal that I didn't order. Let's hope it's just a bad night.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great tapas and good wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nasch is the restaurant in the HIlton Vienna Plaza. We were very pleasantly surprised at the wine selection and the tapas selection. They have been running a special that includes a choice of 5 tapas for dinner at a price of 19 Euros. Excellent selection and also a good selection of wine. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NASCH bei Hilton Vienna Plaza Hotel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NASCH bei Hilton Vienna Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.