We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a little different taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daniel Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daniel Vienna to your Saves list
Daniel Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landstrasser Gurtel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Asker, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place with a little different taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A very clean and nice hotel. Friendly staff. Modern and funky architecture. A nice bakery at the entrance offers lots of varieties. Tram stop is a hop and skip away and it's about 5-10 mins ride to city center...
One caution. Bathroom has a plain glass wall between it and the rest of the room. You feel like taking a shower at the middle of the room. Travelers with kids (group travelers) perhaps find it little awkward (depend on different cultures).
Value for money!

Room Tip: Higher level rooms offer nice view. Rooms towards main entrance could get little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Dimeka,

thank you very much for takeing your valuable time to write a review at Tripadvisor!

Hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    102
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
22
148
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is a former telecomm office building just on the outskirts of the main city center. The office ascetic can still be seen in the stairwell and on the ceiling of each room. The back of the hotel is much darker than the front for those that need a dark room for sleeping. The rooms offer glass showers, so they shy need not apply. Nice design at a very good price. For those that collect flier miles they can also her had here. The breakfast is worth 13 euros with a good assortment of baked goods. The staff is also friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear C_and_MH,

thank you very much for your nice review about your stay at the Hotel Daniel Vienna. We are happy that you liked your time with us and everything was fine for you.

About the miles: you only get the miles if you book via Worlhotels (our homepage) - otherwise if you book per mail or phone we cannot offer miles.

Thank you and kind regards from Vienna
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Young, trendy and withe a bakery too!
This hotel maybe a few steps away from the centre of town but it is ideally palced from viisting Belevedere and easy to get a quick tram into town/the sites.

It's cool and funky atmosphere made us feel really at home in our hammock room.

There is no gym but I was advised of some places for running and there is some out door gym equipment in the nearby schweizerpark.

The really good thing about this hotel though is the breakfast and food. We had coffee and cake/ate in the restaurant everyday which unlike most hotel restaurants is reasonably priced with local classics as well as worldwide favourites. Lillet Spritz is now a firm favourite as well as all the delicious cakes from their local home baker who has left her job and just bakes for Hotel Daniel.

The staff are friendly and the rooms simple, clean and well equipped.

What more could you want.

We stayed for 3 nights and I would have happily stayed for 3 more.

Room Tip: Pick a hammock room, not for the hammock but for a bit more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Stephanie M,

many thanks for taking you valuable time writing this nice review. We appreciate it and you have made our day!

We look forward to welcoming you once again in our Hotel.

Greetings from Vienna,
The Hotel Daniel Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very recently in May, I stayed in this nice hotel during a long weekend holiday with my sister. As an architect and a designer, she found out this hotel in one of the the design blogs and made the reservation. The hotel looks new and has very modern the decoration. The rooms are very simple and nice, offer only the requirements which was sufficient enough. The ladies in the reception were always smiling and ready to help.
We didn't book the breakfast in advance, since we thought of discovering cafes in the city; but we learnt that the hotel is very popular amongts the locals for having brunch thus we had the breakfast in the last two days; it was very delicious and offers multiple varieties.
The location is very good, situated just next to the marvelious Belvedere Palace, a "must-see" in Vienna, and only 2 minutes walk to the nearest train station. It only takes 6-7 minutes to reach the center by tram.
I recommend this lovely hotel which offers a very good service with a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Bronco 77,

thank you for the effort you have made to give us your feedback.
It is a great pleasure reading that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet, that you are pleased with our customer service and that your hotel room was to your satisfaction. We admire people that are into architecture and Design.
We would be pleasured to welcome you again in our urban stay Daniel Vienna.

With kind regards
The Hotel Daniel Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is well situated and a short stroll away from all the main sites. The reception / restaurant area have a very nice vibe reflecting all the young couples / people that stay in the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and modern although the aircon is not that effective on a hot day. Overall a great stay in a modern hotel at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that catch the afternoon sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Nico558!

Thanks a lot for writing a short and very nice review of our hotel.

We know, espacially with the Panorama rooms we had the biggest problems with the temperature in the rooms, because there are many windows to offer a very good view. But we turned the aircon a little bit lower in all rooms, because we got some other feedbacks like yours. Now it’s much better than before.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We, family of three, stayed at the Daniel for five nights in June during a vacation. Very impressed with the clean rooms, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. The staff, in our experience, all speak excellent English (far better than my faded German) and are very pleasant. The room was very clean, air-conditioned and comfortable. A rollaway bed was provided for my son. The room included a hammock, which is one of the fun features of this hotel. Powered blinds made it easy to keep out the sun during the day. The wi-fi connection was good. There is a per call charge for local calls from the room. The room design was a bit odd, in that the shower has a clear glass door and wall, which are in the main part of the room, affording no privacy in the shower. The countertop around the sink for toothbrushes, etc., is small but adequate. There is no in-room fridge; as the website points out, the high energy consumption of small fridges would be inconsistent with the hotel's environmental consciousness. The room could use a desk for writing/working. There is a large flat screen TV in the room, but we only glanced at that to get the weather. There are two elevators, both small, as is typical in Austria, but the stairway is wide and has natural lighting. The breakfast is excellent. Offerings include made to order omellettes, smoked salmon, and a very nice selection of fresh breads and cheeses and soft-boiled eggs. On-demand brew coffee machines provide a selection of coffees and hot chocolate. The dining area is large and next to large windows; there is also an outdoor dining area. The laundry service provided our laundry the same day, although rather late in the evening, with items properly folded or on hangers. Staff provided tips on transit, called a taxi, offered to stamp and mail postcards, etc. The hotel offers items including white men's business shirts for sale. The location is very convenient for tourists. The D tram stops a block away and is a short ride to the Ring, and the O tram is also nearby and runs directly to the Wien Mitte station and the Prater. An S-Bahn station is also a block away, to provide connections thoughout the Vienna area. The Upper Belvedere Palace, with its excellent art collection, is a short walk from the hotel, as is the Botanical Garden. The hotel has its own drive off the street for unloading and loading your cab or rental car. Bikes and mopeds are offered for rental. The breakfast dining area serves as a restaurant throughout the day and into the evening for light fare. I would definitely plan to stay there again on my next visit to Vienna.

Room Tip: Excellent view from the Panorama room - in a corner, windows on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Robert,

we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the effort you have made to give us your feedback. We highly appreciate your great praise for the quality and richness of our breakfast, the atmosphere in our Bakery, for our competent and friendly staff and our Laundry Service. It’s a great pleasure reading that the white men's business shirts in our shop and our Bikes and Vespa rental attracted your attention. We take a pride in them.

We feel really sorry that the furnishing of our rooms did not meet your expectations and assure you that we will give serious consideration to your points of criticism. Naturally, each person has different preferences and we try to satisfy all of them with the variety of room categories. Nevertheless we would like to point out that it was a conscious decision to break the mould with our room furnishings.
Whenever you get thirty our hungry and you want to have a refreshing and cool drink or a tasty burger, don’t hesitate to visit us at our Bakery where you can get drinks 24h a day and delicious food till 11pm.

Our building with the curtain wall facade and the elevators are under urban heritage conservation so we are not allowed to rebuild them.
As per your and other guests feedback we have decided to equip our rooms with a desk for working. Whenever we will have the pleasure to welcome you as our guests again, please feel free to contact us directly – we will be delighted to allocate you a room with a desk in it.

We are looking forward to your next trip to Vienna!

With kind regards
The Hotel Daniel Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Really nice and different hotel. They have tried hard not to be a standard big city hotel. The people, service and rooms all very nice. However I was there on business and for a couple of reasons I probably would stay elsewhere as where travelling constantly the little conveniences make a difference. The wifi while free was pretty slow. The rooms are very chic and look great but there was nowhere for me to set my laptop up as a workspace. There was also no chair to sit on to do work. You could go downstairs and there is a large, friendly area around the bar/ restaurant that you can work but it is not ideal if you have to make calls.
However I think it is a great hotel for a couple visiting the city to use as a base if they want something a little different.

Room Tip: If you want to try a different cola as opposed to Cok or Pepsi. Order a cola in the restaurant. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear kiwisteveandali!

Thank you so much for your great and extensive review.

One thing I have to say. In some of our rooms we got chairs and tables now, especially for our business guests to do their work in the room. Please do not hesitate informing us directly before arrival, we will take immediate action and reserve a room with chair and table for you.

We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daniel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daniel Vienna

Address: Landstrasser Gurtel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daniel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
urban stay - smart luxury. The Hotel Daniel Vienna focuses on style and functionality instead of old-fashioned knickknack.Enjoy Austrian pastries and snacks in the bakery and explore Vienna by Vespa or by bike.The Hotel is situated near the "Schloss Belvedere" and just a few footsteps away from the new Vienna Central Train Station also including the metro station. Perfect accessibility via the motorway feeder road and stress-free parking in the parking garage.The smart-rooms feature a queen size bed and have room for one or two persons. In the panorama-rooms you can enjoy the extensive city view and in the hammock-rooms you can relax as much as you want to!All rooms are non-smoking rooms and feature free W-Lan, air condition, TV, radio, telephone, shower and WC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Daniel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daniel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.