We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berry berry nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orient & Occident

Orient & Occident
Naschmarkt 671, Vienna 1040, Austria
+43(0)699 18236336
Improve this listing
Ranked #483 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Turkish, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Berry berry nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice place to escape for a bit from the crazy Naschmarkt atmosphere and enjoy a cold berry drink or a nice cold draft beer. Especially great to watch the world cup!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We actually ate here two days in a row, we enjoyed our first meal so much, we just had to go back and have the meatballs again.
The whole market area is interesting to walk through. I think this is a must visit. We had the minced meatballs, sensational and the chicken skewers.
Both very tasty. Good selection of drinks and quick efficient service.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great place for tea/coffee in the evenings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Orient & Occident is a great place to drop into for a tea or coffee in the evenings (I prefer their Turkish çay in a tall glass), along with their delicious panna cotta. Not exactly a traditional combination, but it works well. One thing to be aware of is that Orient & Occident tends to be quite crowded, so visiting it in the late evening as we typically do is a good idea if you want to get a seat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Unless you want a sit down cafe experience better food from take away outlets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This cafe serves breakfast, burgers and salads. My orient salad was about 97% lettuce some of which was a little tired with four slices of tomato and some nice marinated sesame chicken. But the structure of the salad was poor. Other two burger meals looked better but were a little overpriced for what they were.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Compreensíveis/understandable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Pedimos um prato e não constava que era muito apimentado. O atendente foi falar com o gerente e nos trouxe rapidamente um outro prato de graça e sem pimenta. Muito bom. O prato era gostoso.
We ordered a dish and it was not stated that it was very spicy. We talked to the attendant and he quickly made another one without spice for free. Very nice! The dish was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orient & Occident also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Orient & Occident? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient & Occident, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.