We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Clock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoher Markt Clock (Ankeruhr)

Hoher Markt Clock (Ankeruhr)
Hoher Markt 10, Vienna, Austria (Innere Stadt)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 296 attractions in Vienna
Type: Other
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,230 reviews 2,230 reviews
2,008 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
1,898 helpful votes 1,898 helpful votes
“A Unique Clock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Hoher Markt Clock is a very unique clock and the artist who designed it was the painter Franz von Matsch, who made it in 1913. The clock is very interesting and artistic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    38
    23
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My personal Viennese highlight at 12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

At midday all the characters shown at the Ankeruhr are presented. This is one of my personal highlights in Vienna, by the way I am from Vienna. All the characters are connected with the Viennese history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very far to see anything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went to Vienna in the middle of July. The city was crazy packed!! So when me and my girlfriend went to the city to watch the 11:00 "Show", there were so many people on the streets and nearby. And the "show" is no big deal, the clock is so high that you can barely see anything that is going on. I think is just overrated.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“THE ANKERUHR IS WORKING!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived in Vienna on 1.6., the Ankeruhr started working after months of reparations on 24.5.!
Can't say I planed our visit according this fact, but certainly wasn't disappointed.
Nearby is the Josefsbrunnen- a beautiful fountain, showing the marriage of Joseph & Mary.
As our hotel was not far away we happened to pass there every day & every time stopped for at least a few minutes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Midday is the time to come”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The watch was made after the plans of the art nouveau painter Franz Matsch . They parade every hour with music and at NOON all 12 persons come with their music piece
The person represented are Marc Aurel Karl der Grosse Leopold VI Walther von der Vogelweide Rudolf von Habsburg with wife Anna von Hohenberg Hans Pu chsbaum Emperor Maximalian I Graf von Starhemberg Andreas von Lieberberg Mayor Prinz Eugen von Savoyenempress Matia Theresia and her husband Franz I and Joseph Haydn

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoher Markt Clock (Ankeruhr) also viewed

 

Been to Hoher Markt Clock (Ankeruhr)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoher Markt Clock (Ankeruhr), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hoher Markt Clock (Ankeruhr) to your Saves list