We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff with equal food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Museum

Cafe Museum
Operngasse 7, Vienna 1010, Austria
+43 1 24100620
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Café Museum has been a location frequented by many geniuses of the 20th century.Since its inauguration in 1899 it has been a meeting point for painters such as Gustav Klimt, Egon Schiele and Oskar Kokoschka, writers such as Joseph Roth, Karl Kraus, Georg Trakl, Elias Canetti, Hermann Broch, Robert Musil and Leo Perutz. Even famous composers such as Alban Berg and Franz Lehar were also regulars at the café as well as architects such as Otto Wagner and Adolf Loos.The legendary architect Adolf Loos who was responsible for the original interior design of the Café Museum. In 1931 the interior design was replaced by a design of Josef Zotti. Zotti was for his time a very famous architect who had already designed the original garden of the Café Museum in 1911.In the year 2003 the interiors were replaced again by the original Loos replicas. This angeredsome of the café’s regular guests as Zotti’s box seating arrangement was far more cosy andwelcoming than that of Loos’s puristic wooden seating design.Mid 2010 the Café Museum was taken over by Berndt and Irmgard Querfeld. The importance of a high level comfort is something the Querfeld family have always been very aware of and therefore they have decided to restore the original Zotti design back to its original glory.You can easily reach us by public transport via tram 1 und 62 as well as by subway U1, U2 und U4 station Karlsplatz and via bus 4A und 59A.Space for parking is available although there is a limited parking zone. A public garage is available near the opera house and at Robert Stolz Platz (drive in via Elisabethstraße).
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff with equal food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

So I was initially hesitant of eating here since I thought it was just a cafeteria attached to a museum or something. Boy was I wrong. We sat outside with a lovely view of Vienna (including St. Charles Church). The staff could not have possibly done more to help us by ensuring we had every need met with a good sense of humor too. The food was excellent with massive proportions. My only regret was not having room for dessert because seeing what other tables were having was absolutely mouth watering. We even considered stopping back again after our sightseeing for dessert but were just too tired. There is plentiful inside seating and an air conditioned section as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    135
    45
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good meal; delicious dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Had dinner here one night and it was great! The schnitzel was good and the cake was delicious! Also try the homemade juices. So good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quick meal, delicious desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were heading to a concert so needed a quick meal. The Cafe Museum was just the ticket.

The service was quick and attentive. The Austrian fare was great. However the desserts were something else - my wife and children thought they were superb.

Overall a really great place and somewhere I would go back to just for cake and coffee in the afternoon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service and delicious cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The decoration of the cafe is posh compared to other cafes in Vienna. The waiter is very friendly and serves me promptly. They speak English so don't worry if you cannot speak any German.

I ordered a Turkish coffee and a slice of Esterházy torte. It was my first time to try Turkish coffee (I had enough coffee melange so I wanted something different). It is a small copper pot of coffee with a small cute cup (for you to pour coffee in). It also comes with a small glass of water and one Turkish delight. The coffee is nice to drink and it is fun to pour the coffee out from the pot into the cute cup(but remember to shake the pot well because the coffee will sediment at the bottom). I have never try Esterházy torte before. I think the cake is delicious (nutty flavour cream sandwiched between layers of cakes). The Turkish coffee costs €6 while the cake costs €4.90 (if I remember correctly).

There is a cake display fridge inside the cafe. If you are not sure which cake to pick or if you want to check the size of cake, you can walk inside the cafe to have a look before ordering. All the cakes look delicious and I wish I could order all of them.

One thing to mention is that the cakes are supplied by Landtmann's Patisserie so you might see the same cake menu as the Cafe Landtmann.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stopped by for dessert one evening and ate outdoors, came back a couple of nights later for dinner indoors. The indoor seating is definitely the place to eat. The restoration brought back an old school atmosphere that make the visit worthwhile. The food is classic Austrian, the service is efficient and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Museum also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.