We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Exe Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Exe Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Exe Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-36 Ottakringer Strasse, Vienna 1170, Austria (Formerly Mate Hotel) (Ottakring)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A disappointment ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Unfortunately, our stay in this hotel was a disappointment . It was advertised as a 4 star hotel, but this is stretching things. The room had a crack in the floor and ceiling and was wearing badly showing signs of the floor having been lifted for work to be carried out recently. Lots of detail imperfections that show that this hotel is in need of some modernisation and investment .
The swimming pool did not appear to be heated and paint was peeling off the ceiling and pool side .
The staff, however, were very good and attentive. A Premier Inn, in the UK is more luxurious.
I wouldn't stay here again in its current condition.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    151
    99
    42
    36
See reviews for
51
164
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for many times, but this time was the last time. When I checked in, I was given a room where an army smoked 2 days, even if this is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. I changed the room and I was given a junior suite which was OK.
The breakfast is terrible, they didn't change the options in years! And the coffee is terrible! No water and the juice is horrible!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Mt wife and I had booked a BA city Break to Vienna as we wanted to visit some vineyards in Austria so I booked the Exe Hotel Vienna. When we arrived everything was fine, 4 star hotel so expected a good standard. the room was ok a little on the small side but ok. The swimming pool had no towels but i found some in the cupboard and the pool was only 20C very cold. the room when we went back up was about 30c so i opened the small window. we went out for the evening and when we returned and closed the window in the room because of the noise the room with out any heating on went straight up to around 30c, the air con did not work and i just could not sleep it was far to hot for me, could not open the window as the noise from the street was crazy, so only choice as there was no other rooms was the car, so i took my pillow and quilt and went to bed in the car. in the morning the duty manager was brillient found a new room for us with a nice balcony took the cost of the car park for both nights of the bill and was very sorry for the problem. when a hotel and the staff really care about there clients its makes such a big difference, so even because of the crazy night would i go back yes

Room Tip: ask for back of building best room 702
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Hotel Exe Vienna is a nice place in a nice area of the city. There are a few bars cafes and clubs. It is a bit little far from the city centre but public transport is ok. The hotel safe are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. Only disappointing thing was that I paid extra to get breakfast included but when I arrived they had not noted this. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, while being in Vienna on business. The hotel is good, the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is quite small, but has everything one needs. The heating was a little bit too warm and it was not possible to regulate the temperature. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. The hotel is however not too close to the city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel after seeing it was close to the city centre on the website however it is a good 30 minute walk to the tourist sights.
We took a taxi from the cat station which cost €25! But the driver was kind enough to show us where to get the tram for €2.

Clean and comfortable rooms, I did expect a kettle but they do not provide these.
Staff were friendly and helpful and check in was swift.

A pleasant stay but too far out for my liking.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights & there is nothing to complain about. It is located little away from the City center but all the basis need can be found around. Room service & facilities were good & I appreciate the high speed free WIFI facility. Swimming pool & Gym adds more value to the hotel.
Indeed a value for money !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Exe Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Vienna

Address: 34-36 Ottakringer Strasse, Vienna 1170, Austria (Formerly Mate Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#141 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Vienna is a Vienna hotel that has been able to assimilate the Viennese soul to perfection: deeply rooted in all it is classical but it is still open to new expressions. The Exe Vienna Hotel, set in a hundred-year-old building, has recently been refurbished and remodeled from top to bottom so that its seven floors, its reception rooms and its 115 guest rooms shine with a modern, tranquil air to offer its guests the utmost well-being. Located in the heart of the Hernals, the establishment is endowed with luxurious attractions, allowing you to enjoy the Austrian capital like a true emperor, providing 112 rooms, a heated swimming pool and fitness center (our guest can use them free of charge ), two reception rooms and exquisite view over the city, watered by the Danube. The Hotel Exe Vienna, moreover, offers some extra advantages as free WI-FI, complimentary Guest Computer in the lobby, rent a car service and having a highly qualified personnel.. The location allows our guests to enjoy a dynamic, yet peaceful area like Hernals, with numerous attractions (The Wienner Volksoper, the Neuwaldegg castle, the History Museum, the vast, 80 hectare wooded park area of Schwarzenbergpark) and the nearby Alserstrasse shopping area. In addition, there is a tram stop in front of the hotel and the Alserstrasse metro station is just 150 metres away. From both these points, you will have easy access to any of the city's important tourist sites: Schonbrunn Palace, the State Opera, the Spanish Riding School, the Prater, Belvedere Palace, Liechtenstein Museum, the Hofburg Imperial Palace or the Mariahilferstrasse, the longest shopping street in Europe. If you arrive with a car, or rent a car in the hotel directly you have the possibility to park in the Hotel EXE Vienna (15€per night) Exe Vienna Hotel has 115 very comfortable, peaceful rooms, with modern, elegant decoration. All the rooms have complementary Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TV, minibar, Telephone, Air-Conditioning In- Room Safety box and Bathroom with hair dryer , Telephone, complementary amenities. Please note that the city tax 3,2% is not included in the rate and to be paid in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Exe Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Vienna Hotel Vienna
Eurostars Hotel Vienna
Vienna Eurostars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Exe Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.