We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hitting in the room& used soap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Exe Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Exe Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Exe Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-36 Ottakringer Strasse, Vienna 1170, Austria (Formerly Mate Hotel) (Ottakring)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
novi sad
1 review
“No hitting in the room& used soap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Thay give me room 116 with out hitting. All first floor dont work and they new that. 2nd . In the bathroom was opened and used soap!!!. In bouth rooms. First and now in 2nd with hitt.. room smells on cigarete smoke

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    150
    99
    42
    36
See reviews for
51
164
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A really well run hotel in a decent area of Vienna, its a bit out of the way but the 44 tram stops just outside and its every 5 minutes down to Schottentor station where there are lots of connections across the city. The hotel is clean and modern and the staff are really good and speak English. The breakfasts are very good for the price you pay and the rooms are good. People comment on the rooms being noisy, beds being hard and pillows being thin. The room I had on the front had brilliant quadruple glazing, the beds are hard but comfortable and you can always ask for an additional pillow, I did and got 4 great nights sleep.
A very recommended hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India , Trivandrum
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 days during one of the recent business visits. The hotel was indeed good and the hospitality was also great. The reception/front office was of great help in organising everything for me. More over the hotel did consists of a swimming pool , multi gym etc.Overall a pleasant journey and i would definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is clean and accommodation comfortable. Some rooms are small but this is to be expected. Breakfast is simple but has several options and plentiful. Even though there is meant to be room service there is not. They will order from a local restaurant and deliver to the room. The restaurant forgot my order but they staff at the hotel were good and did arrange a meal to be delivered. The staff are definitely the best part. Helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The street is not very busy so front of back rooms are all acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is slightly off the beaten path, but close enough to mass-transit. There are restaurants close by in the neighborhood. The sights are walkable. When we checked in we were given a key card to a room that was already occupied. The tenants were surprised when we opened the door to their room. The issue was resolved by management and our new room turned out to be nicely sized, clean, and with a bath (a rarity). The breakfast is well done here with sophistication that doesn't always exist with hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights here in Vienna and wouldn't expect too much from a city hotel like this although the shower was frustrating as it was a hand held one which could not be raised and when I asked about getting an iron to iron a shirt they told me they didn't have any available. Now I have stayed in many hotels and have never heard of not being able to utilise an iron! Other than that pokey room but on the positive we were able to open a large window which gave us some nice fresh air. Staff were a little unwelcoming and could have be much more friendlier. If your going to stay here make sure you stay on the non roadside of the hotel where there is no traffic noise.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My first impression of this hotel was2 broken elevators, and machines all over the street; but it all changed when the staff help us with our luggage, we had a good lunch nearby and spotted the tram just a short distance from the hotel; plus, next day the street was fine !!, I got a very very spacious room; and it even had a very very big balcony, which I appreciated to make some laundry; breakfast is fair and most important of all it was clean, so I will say it is a good option.
Swimming pool is also fair enough

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Exe Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Vienna

Address: 34-36 Ottakringer Strasse, Vienna 1170, Austria (Formerly Mate Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#141 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Vienna is a Vienna hotel that has been able to assimilate the Viennese soul to perfection: deeply rooted in all it is classical but it is still open to new expressions. The Exe Vienna Hotel, set in a hundred-year-old building, has recently been refurbished and remodeled from top to bottom so that its seven floors, its reception rooms and its 115 guest rooms shine with a modern, tranquil air to offer its guests the utmost well-being. Located in the heart of the Hernals, the establishment is endowed with luxurious attractions, allowing you to enjoy the Austrian capital like a true emperor, providing 112 rooms, a heated swimming pool and fitness center (our guest can use them free of charge ), two reception rooms and exquisite view over the city, watered by the Danube. The Hotel Exe Vienna, moreover, offers some extra advantages as free WI-FI, complimentary Guest Computer in the lobby, rent a car service and having a highly qualified personnel.. The location allows our guests to enjoy a dynamic, yet peaceful area like Hernals, with numerous attractions (The Wienner Volksoper, the Neuwaldegg castle, the History Museum, the vast, 80 hectare wooded park area of Schwarzenbergpark) and the nearby Alserstrasse shopping area. In addition, there is a tram stop in front of the hotel and the Alserstrasse metro station is just 150 metres away. From both these points, you will have easy access to any of the city's important tourist sites: Schonbrunn Palace, the State Opera, the Spanish Riding School, the Prater, Belvedere Palace, Liechtenstein Museum, the Hofburg Imperial Palace or the Mariahilferstrasse, the longest shopping street in Europe. If you arrive with a car, or rent a car in the hotel directly you have the possibility to park in the Hotel EXE Vienna (15€per night) Exe Vienna Hotel has 115 very comfortable, peaceful rooms, with modern, elegant decoration. All the rooms have complementary Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TV, minibar, Telephone, Air-Conditioning In- Room Safety box and Bathroom with hair dryer , Telephone, complementary amenities. Please note that the city tax 3,2% is not included in the rate and to be paid in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Exe Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Vienna Hotel Vienna
Eurostars Hotel Vienna
Vienna Eurostars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Exe Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.