We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City Central to your Saves list
Hotel City Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taborstrasse 8, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Satisfying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days and I am completely satisfied with this hotel, comparing to 5 star hotels and the price that you have to pay, this hotel gives satisfying services. Easy access to all public transportations, and being close to the center is a great plus point. Services like cleaning and responding to your request were well done. The breakfast could be better but it was just enough to enjoy. The only negative point I can mention is that you could hear a weak sound from the street in the night which can be disturbing for sensitive people, though it was ok for me because it gave me the feeling of a living town and I could sleep. And the other was that there were no hair conditioner, toothpaste and toothbrush, and no flip flop to wear! Which was surprising for me and troubled me a lot! I don't know if it is the matter of being 4 star or the style of hotels in vienna, but I didn't expect it.
Anyway, all in all, good enough to think about staying there again if I will be back to vienna oneday, and to suggest it to other friends!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Mahsanafisi,

With pleasure we read attentively your review and appreciate your nice comments.

As you wrote we do offer a soap dispenser with a shower- and hair-shampoo; but no conditioner. We are sorry that you missed this offer. Toothpaste and toothbrush are available at the reception! Please do not hesitate to ask our staff directly during your stay, so we can react immediately.

We thank you for recommending us to friends and look forward to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    154
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
66
161
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We visited the city central hotel after looking at the reviews and because of that I must say we were quite disappointed as we expected much more. The hotel is close to the center but it cannot be characterized as "central". The breakfast buffet has a variety of delicacies but is far from a 4 star hotel breakfast . The room was ok but you can hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms. People were opening their room doors and I thought someone was coming in mine! The only thing in which we agreed 100% with the positive reviews is about the friendliness of the staff at the reception who were very helpful. In a few words it is a great 2-3 star hotel with no sound proof, free wi fi in room and relatively close to the center.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Dannytz,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry that we could not completely fulfil your expectations. The Hotel City Central is situated in the 2nd district of Vienna, only a few steps away from the 1st district and Schwedenplatz, which is the beginning of the old city centre and offers a great subway and tram connection.

Our breakfast buffet offers: cheese, sausage and ham made in Austria, local seasonal fruits and vegetables, aromatic, continually freshly baked Viennese rolls, a variety of fresh breads, cakes and many sorts of sweets, marmalades made of fresh fruits, 100% Lower Austrian honey (produced by an employee of Schick Hotels), Austrian free-range eggs for your soft-boiled and fried eggs, fruit juices, champagne, mineral water, mueslis, yogurts, butter, spreads and a 'Healthy & Light' section with organic fruit juices, low-fat and lactose-free yogurts and milk, turkey ham and sausage, diabetic marmalades and diabetic honey.

We noticed your remark about the soundproof and hope you still could enjoy restful nights.

With pleasure we read that you were very happy with the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff and thank you for your compliments.

We thank you for describing your impressions and hope you had a pleasant journey home.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Fantastic hotel in center of Vienna.
Everything at walking distance. Very good price/quality.
Incredible breakfast, almost unlimited choice ... everything fresh.
Cosy and charming small hotel with very personal service.
Everybody is extremely polite and willing to help you.
I can recommend this hotel as well to families as to business people.
This hotel is also very close to the cat (train to airport) and bus to the airport.
I always book this hotel, it's my favorite !

Room Tip: i have been in this hotel a lot of times, the room was always very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Ivo S,

Thank you for choosing again our Hotel City Central. We are delighted to be your favourite hotel for your Vienna stays and we appreciate your compliments and recommendation.

We already forwarded your praise to the entire team and look forward to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is nice in a very good location in walking distance to the city centre . The staff was very kind and helpfull. The breakfast delicious with good variety .The room was small but clean and cosy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear SofiaAthens,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and thank you for your nice compliments.

Regarding the room size: our Hotel City Central offers different room categories which vary in size and you also have the possibility to book apartments. We will be pleased to advise you at the time of your next booking.

In the meantime, we wish you a nice spring beginning and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is very classy and comfortable. The rooms are just right for however many people in your party. Very nicely decorated. Staff that are knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast alone is worth the trip. Huge by European standards. Should even satisfy the most demanding American travelers. It is also just a short walk across the river to the Inner Stadt where most of Vienna's historic treasures are.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard have a decent view without any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Ed M,

thank you for recommending our Hotel City Central to further travellers.

We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation and appreciate your compliments.

We wish you a nice winter continuation and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hotel is clean, quiet, located 10 minutes walk from the center. 2 minute walk from the Metro
Courteous service from service providers.
Allowed us early check in and late check out.
I want to commend especially the receptionist Rainald M. Egerth
That his recommendation was helpful and gave excellent service.
The room was a bit small but clean and very comfortable heated.
I'm sure I'll be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Devy B,

With pleasure we read your review and already passed your compliments to the Resident Manager Mr. Rainald M. Egerth.

Please be informed that the Hotel City Central offers different room categories and also apartments. Do not hesitate to contact us at the moment of your next booking. We will be pleased to advise you.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas and although it is definitely not the most modern or "boutique" hotel out there, I would highly recommend it primarily because the reception staff are tremendously friendly and helpful and because it is very clean and great value for money. Breakfast is also really good. The only negative thing is that the walls between the rooms are paper thin so if this is likely to bother you or you don't have earplugs then you might want to think about whether you stay here. I would stay again (I have earplugs).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear LondonComfortseeker,

Thank you very much for writing an assessment regarding your stay at our Hotel City Central.

We are glad to learn that despite the problems caused by the soundproofing, you enjoyed your holidays and would like to visit us again in the future.

We already passed your information and hope to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Central

Address: Taborstrasse 8, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vienna
#35 Family Hotel in Vienna
#36 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#50 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#54 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location near the 1st District, coupled with the employees - typical Viennese charm, distinguish this 4-star hotel. Behind the stylish facade, guests find a perfect refuge for their stay in Vienna. 58 rooms and new, individual City Apartments in a nearby building are all convincing thanks to their classy furnishings and modern comforts such as air conditioning, cable and pay TV, and high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Appartements City Central
Appartements City Central Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.