We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and very central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kummer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kummer Hotel to your Saves list
Kummer Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 71A, Vienna 1061, Austria (Neubau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Stay and very central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would definately recommend staying at this hotel..very clean. breakfast great and very good location. We stayed for 2 nights and would stay again if we go back to Vienna. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and bathrooms were really clean. We are picky where we stay as I like things to be very clean. This was great. Breakfast was awesome. Great location in shopping district.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Kummer Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for giving us your valuable feedback regarding your last stay in summer with us here at the Hotel Kummer!

We are delighted to hear, that you not only enjoyed our guest rooms but also found our breakfast up to your expectations. We know that this is an integral part of any holiday or business stay!

More so, we are happy to hear, that you would stay with us again, when you are in Europe. In this case, please do contact myself personally!

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    217
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
83
209
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We’ve just come back from our vacation in Vienna. An excellent hotel, great location in the middle of the main shopping street. Subway station is a few steps away, just over the street. Very friendly and helpful stuff. Spacious, well appointed and very clean rooms with charming bathroom. A plenty breakfast. All you ever want for breakfast-fresh and good. The only inconvenience is that free wifi in the reception area solely. Unusual in the hotels of this level we have stayed in recently.We highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
We were very enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, in behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Kummer Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you very much for taking the time and letting us know your impression of your last recent with us at the Hotel Kummer!

We are of course very happy to hear, that you not only enjoyed our good location but also were satisfied with our services and helpful staff. This is very important for us!

Regarding wifi availability at the Hotel Kummer, I can assure you that we are looking in ways to improve this complimentary service currently available throughout the public areas of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future! In this case, please do contact myself personally!

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager, Hotel Kummer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girne, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Location of the Hotel was perfect for me because I was there for a fair. And public transport located just opposite of the hotel. It takes 15 min. from the Kummer Hotel to Messe Wien Exhibition & Congress Center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, in behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Kummer Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Kummer!

We are very happy to hear, that you had a pleasant stay. Our location is perfect for reaching locations like the Messe Wien Exhibition & Congress Center as the underground is beside the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future! In this case, please do contact myself personally!

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I visited Vienna for one day for an event and meetings at the Haus des Meeres located two minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is located at the heart of Vienna and the busy central street and shopping area. The location is perfect and the metro station is literally located beneath the hotel. The room was comfortable and spacious, and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Vienna for a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, in behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Kummer Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at the Hotel Kummer!

We are very happy to hear, that you had pleasant stay with us and besides our prime location, found everything else up to your expectations.

We are glad to hear, that you would visit us again and therefore are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future! In this case, please do contact myself personally!

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Perfect location. Metro station is under hotel. We stay there on top floor , very quite and big room despite fact that is in shopping area.Breakfast is also fine- you get everything you need to full your stomach:).Like in other places Wifi free is only available in the lobby. Most of visitors it's mature couple so it can give you good sign about safety , transportation and quite in this hotel.
Just small thing : in winter Air condition is only in heat mode :) too bad.
Overall it's was best hotel that we been visit.

Room Tip: Before you arrive to hotel write a letter to hotel , that you would like quit room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Kummer Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay at the Hotel Kummer!

We are delighted, that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us.

Breakfast is a vital part of a holiday, so we are of course very happy to hear that also this aspect of your time with us was up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We travelled to Vienna in the first week of December, we stayed for three nights for a christmas market break.
The hotel is located on a busy shopping street and was easy to reach from the Airport. We got the CAT train into Vienna city and then the underground to the stop called Neubaugasse where the hotel is directly opposite.
Inside the hotel it has a lot of charm, the decor is very elegant and is surprisingly quiet considering the amount of activity out the front.
The rooms are spacious, a safe is located in the wardrobe, flat screen tv, two single beds and two chairs and a table.The decor was a little tired in places and the bathroom had just a shower, which was fine for us and it was very clean. The room was always lovely and warm even when the temperature outside was below freezing. Sleep quality was fantastic it was very quiet in the room.
The breakfast was good, I would say a standard continental selection with choice of hot and cold food. The hotel bar is a nice retreat in the evening, although its fairly small and doesnt always have staff behind the bar.
As the other reviews have mentioned the current lack of wi-fi in the rooms and the restricted half hour access in the foyer/bar area is a shame but it wasn't a deal breaker for us.
The christmas markets were all easy to reach from the hotel as the underground is very easy to navigate, you could even walk to Schonbrunn Palace if your feeling fit, we did it and I think it took about an hour (would suggest taking a tram/bus instead, there is not much to see along the journey as you are out of the tourist area)
We didnt have dinner at the hotel but there were plenty of restaurants and fast food places outside the hotel to choose from, theres a handy Starbucks opposite the hotel too. If you want to check out but dont need to go to the airport for a while there is a secure luggage store behind reception.
Overall for a four day break I thought the hotel was a great choice and would choose again if we returned to Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behlaft of L. E. Batthyàny, General Manager at Kummer Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, for your so detailed comments about your recent stay with us at the Hotel Kummer!

We are very happy to hear, that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Regarding our free internet access in the public areas of the hotel, we are continually looking at ways how to improve this service also in our guest rooms.

We are happy that you experienced the Hotel Kummer as a retreat among the busy action outside too.

We are pleased to hear that you want to spend your next stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future! In this case, please do contact myself personally!

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked a superior double room and confirmed our request via email and was informed this was ok, when we arrived were given a twin asked to change and was given another twin and told they where all the same. Not impressed. But the hotel was very comfortable and the breakfast was good but it was difficult to get even a good morning from the staff . Had a really good 4 day stay but it could have been so much better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, in behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Kummer Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel Kummer.

We are happy to hear that our good location and the Hotel Kummer in general meet your expectations.

Our task in our industry is to stay friendly and helpful, also in times where the preassure is on a high level. I am sorry for this impoliteness in the morning. We are pleased to hear that you liked our breakfast and the comfort of our traditional hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and so to show you our service improvements. In this case, please do contact myself personally!

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kummer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kummer Hotel

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 71A, Vienna 1061, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#63 Family Hotel in Vienna
#69 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kummer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in traditional building situated in the heart of shopping area, between Westbahnhof & the State Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kummer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kummer Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kummer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.