We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient. Good Quality/Price balance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nestroy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nestroy to your Saves list
Hotel Nestroy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rotensterngasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient. Good Quality/Price balance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel located near some Vienna's landmarks. Although it takes 15-20 min walking to get to Stephan Platz, you have a subway station very close which helps you to easily move from the hotel to any place in the city. They have the main building and some others around. We were assigned to a building in front of the main one. Rooms are clean, space is good, clean bathroom and in general well equipped for a hotel this category. They offered for rental tablets with a city guide that help you to easily identify the places you want to visit, and guide you on the route. Suggested walks guide you to easily visit the city with no time waste trying to get oriented by yourself. I recommend this place to stay in Vienna for family vacation

Room Tip: I did not stay in the main building, but rooms in the building across the street are good, convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    147
    67
    18
    16
See reviews for
50
146
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel Nestroy is within easy walking distance of the major attractions in the centre of Vienna - we walked everywhere while we were staying here. Nothing particularly special is located nearby, but since you can walk to the Innerstadt or Prater, this is not an issue.

The room was of adequate size and reasonably appointed. Bed was fine, not super comfy but by no means uncomfortable.

Bathroom and shower were good - even had two hand basins?!?

Breakfast was nice, and reasonably priced.

Front desk staff were helpful, organizing tours for us and giving advice on catching a train to Prague.

Overall, good value and a very pleasant stay - I might not necessarily seek out this hotel if I returned to Vienna, but would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, Ass. General Manager at Hotel Nestroy, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment here on Tripadvisor.
It’s a pleasure to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with our service.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Daniel Zwieb
Ass. General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestoy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Location was good within easy walking distance to subway. Breakfast was included and was a buffet of cereal, and meat & cheeses with bread. It was ok, but nothing to look forward to. Room was spacious and well furnished.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I wrote thie review having in mind that we're dealing with a 4-star rated hotel. My first impression of the hotel was not exactly the best, but it got improved afterwards. That "negative" first impression occured because the hotel is having a secondary building which is not mentioned on the website of the hotel (by the way, this is not quite ok) where they wanted to accomodate me. Based on one review which I have read here, I have refused this offer and asked for a room in the building with the reception and the restaurant. There was no problem in getting a new room.

The room: large enough, with a nice flat TV, a really efficient air conditioner, a large wardrobe, a nice and efficient mini-fridge, a large enough working desk (I was in Vienna for business purposes), free-of-charge coffee and tea and a king size bad :D. The negative aspects of the room were that part of the furniture was painted blue (personally, I would rather have it in a warmer colour), the power sockets were not so well distributed inside the room (I haven't been able to find them, I had to ask for help at the receptionist and the receptionist, a young asian lady, was very nice and she helped me instantly with this issue) and the working desk was quite noisy, it was creaking.

The bathroom: that was really a large one (circa 3,5 x 2,5 meters), with two sinks (i didn't understand why is there a need to have two sinks...), a WC and, surprise, just a shower cabin. I would have preffered a bath tube or so, but there was only the shower cabin. At least, there was hot water available at any moment and the housekeeping staff was every day taking very good care that the room and the bathroom were clean and that there are enough soap, shampoo and toilet paper.

The Internet connection: there is no extracharge for it and it is quite a decent connection. Not the best, but definitely a good one. You only need to get from the receptionist a password which you can use for connecting and that's it. I have got a 7-days password, but I suppose that other types of passwords are also available.

The breakfast: the breakfast room could have been a little larger, but it also does the job in the actual configuration. It is nicely decorated and the furniture inside it shows good-taste. The food selection is not the "richest" which I have seen, but for sure it is a fair one and the quality of the products is a very good one. The only negative aspect which I have found was the milk, which is not natural milk, but it is made from milk powder. I consider it a negative aspect because I am quite a milk consumer and I always choose for the natural product. The breakfast restaurant also has a kitchen, so you can also ask for some other cooked products (fried eggs, for instance). The breakfast staff is very nice and always ready to help and to serve you.

As other people have said before me, the hotel is in the close proximity of some of the public transport stations: subway line U1 (Nestroyplatz station), subway line U2 (Taborstrasse station), bus line 5A.

Overall, it was a nice experience. I consider the offer of this hotel as a fair one, I would come again to stay at this hotel and I would also recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent hotel in a central location...concierge staff is great. Three blocks from two metro stations,walking distance to the ferris wheel and park.

Rooms are spacious and spotless...restaurant and bar overpriced, and empty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is located in an excellent position: 100 mt to the closest metro station (taborstrasse) and very close to the prater and the ring. We booked 2 months in advance and got a discounted rate (60 € for a double room without breakfast). The room is quite large and very clean but the bathroom is not properly what is expected from a 4 stars hotel: there's a annoying step to get into the shower, which is also very small and without mixer tap. Also the washbasin is without mixer tap.
Staff is not "customer oriented" and it's hard to get an answer from them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Nestroy, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your review here on tripadvisor.
I hope you had a good journey back home.
Thank you for your directness. We have had some staff trainings in the past weeks in order to improve our service and our quality for our guests. Further we are planning a soft renovation for our guest rooms in order to update the furniture in the rooms to give our guest an unforgettable impression.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards from Vienna.

Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very nice and clean hotel with big beds, LCD, air cond and a common terrace.

Rooms are more spacious than european average! Take care about mini bar prices to save your money! We hadn't had any meal therefore I cannot say anything about its restaurant.

The hotels' location is excellent, being quite close to all major city atractions and very well supported by local transport!

Excellent choise!

Anca, Bucharest, Romania

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nestroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nestroy

Address: Rotensterngasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Vienna
#119 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nestroy 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nestroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Imlauer Wien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nestroy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.