We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria (Alservorstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A luxurious, grand old hotel. The decor in the rooms was a little dated with the high ceilings making it rather gloomy at night. Excellent service and the widest selection of perfectly cooked breakfast I have ever experienced. Very convenient location, ideal for walking into the centre of Vienna in just 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear that we could exceed all your expectations. Thank you for your feedback!
Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    362
    123
    45
    15
See reviews for
100
386
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very comfortable,neat and clean spot in the very best part of the Austrian capital. A bit of out fashioned, but still noble...Food and beverages are at extent quality.The bathroom in the room is very convenient and effective.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. As we always say - ideal for business and for leisure travellers.
Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

located in a very convenient place - at the heart of the 1st district. Very close to tram, underground and bus ! also close to major attractions and tourist areas !

Staff speaks good English and also friendly and helpful ! also quite familiar about the surrounding and was able to guide us to many attractions.

Restaurant was very spacious and clean. Offers good range of food. Staff was very friendly and happy to help you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, which is highly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for five nights during the recent heatwave ; aircon was perfect and room cool. We were upgraded to a superior deluxe room - no views but extremely large, clean and comfortable room with nice furnishings. Breakfast was extensive, and although crowded near 9am and after there is sufficient room for everyone. Ideal location to explore Vienna - walking distance to St Stephensplatz and very close to underground and trams. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived in Vienna early in the morning and took a taxi to the hotel. We checked in and were able to leave our bags whilst we went off to explore. The reception staff were very helpful and provided us with maps and guidance on how to enjoy our first day.
There is a Red Bus Tour stop very close to the hotel and we were able to get a good overview of Vienna on the tour, then returned to the hotel mid afternoon with ease.
We were given a junior suite which was spacious, with kettle, good window screens which kept out the light, good sound proofing, very comfortable bed and pillows, high quality linens and a small roof top balcony overlooking the main street.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel, preferring to venture out to enjoy Viennese cakes mid morning.
We found all the staff helpful and courteous and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaQuinta, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel de France for a week when we had to changed our plans for 5 days in Croatia to simplify our 35 day trip. It was our second trip to Vienna (the first was in 1991). The hotel is lovely and decorated in a traditional motif. Our first room was large but we had a mechanical noise at 4:30 AKM that did not go away so the Night Manager came to the room and moved us to large suite over looking the Schottenring. The room was huge and quite.

The breakfast was EXCELLENT and the wifi was a little cumbersome as you had to get a new code every day but it worked okay.

The service throughout the hotel was excellent!

The hotel location is excellent and we walked many miles every day and when we got too tired to walk, we rode the tram. We just had to cross the street o the old part of Vienne. Be sure to walk the Kartnerstrasse and the Graben pedestrian streets.

Don't miss the parks, the Natural History and Art Museums, Bellevedere andchoenbruhen.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room as some are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here whilst attending a conference at the University. The hotel is very well situated on the Ring near the University. The first room I was offered was rather small and on the interior. It seems that all inner-facing rooms have opaque glass windows - for me this is claustrophobic and unnecessary. I asked for a room overlooking the street and was moved to a much better, bigger room. Double glazing meant that this was a very quiet room even with its large area of window. Rooms are traditionally decorated, bathrooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is excellent with a huge selection of well-prepared food.
The advertised free wifi was not good. The signal was patchy and at some times only worked in the lobby. The daily data limit was very mean and to get more you need to pay heavily so if this is important to you, be warned!

Room Tip: Unless you want absolute silence, go for a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Vienna
#81 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#84 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de France 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.