We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and a very good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria (Alservorstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Zurich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent location and a very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October. We also stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and liked it very much then. The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast bar was excellent. The service dsk was very formal but efficient. We booked 2 similar rooms but they were not the same size - one was a big room with 2 (two!) bathrooms overlooking the internal yard, the other was smaller and overlooked the side street. Unfortunately this smaller room was located at the wing which had an undegroundtrain line underneath, and although we were on the second floor of the building with high ceilings, we could hear and feel the vibration caused by underground trains passing under the hotel,
We arrived at the hotel at 8 o'clock in the morning after the night on the train. As the check-in time is only 2pm, we knew we would be not able to get a room earlier. but asked if it would be possible to have an extra breakfast and include it in the bill. We had a very sleepy child and did not want to leave the hotel until he wakes up. To our disappointment we were told we could not do that and were sent to the hotel bar where we could get only hot drinks (coffee, tea etc.) It was a disapointing moment for us, We have never been in similar circumstances refused a breakfast we were ready to pay for (at 26 Euro per head!).
I also must say that I found the mattresses quite hard. I have a feeling that the rooms' amenities are not similar fromn room to room as I do not remember any problems during my previous stay at this hotel. During my previous stay we had a similar category room overlooking the Ringstrasse, it was very quiet and the mattresses were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front wing, not above the metro line, it is much quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thank you very much for your detailed feedback.

I am pleased to read that you had decided to stay at the Hotel de France again after 6 years and that your repeat visit was worth 4 points.
Albeit I have to apologize for the disappointment upon your arrival. Of course it is possible to have an extra breakfast and I very much regret that you were given this wrong information.

We are looking forward to welcome you to the Hotel de France again - hopefully it will be as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    363
    123
    45
    15
See reviews for
100
386
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in September. Wonderful staff and our room was adequate and clean. Wifi was free but not posted all that well. Just happened to note on something that it was and checked with the front desk who quickly gave me a password. Had to repeat this each night. Breakfast was more than adequate and with lots to choose from. As we didn't do much walking on our own can't say if the location is good for those doing sightseeing on their own. We did enjoy our stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your positive feedback, especially about our staff, which we will certainly pass on. Thank you very much!

We hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I viisted this well located in the centre of Vienna hotel on a congress opportunity. The staff was formal, but helpful in any detail asked.At first the lobby was decorated in a typical Viennese "Belle Epoque" style nad comfortable to sit . The bar was more than agreeable for a night cap. Th erooms were very quite and especially my room was very spacious. The bath and the wardrobe were located separately and that left the whole bedroom all to myself. The hotel venue was situated practically adjacent to the metro station and it has always been extreemly easy to move around.. Tram was also extremely near. The breakfast wa situated on the mezzanine and was excellent in any way, qualitywise and varietywise as well. The meeting rooms had all the necessary equipment. In all , to be recommended in any occasion.

Room Tip: all the rooms were very good, try to choose a room at the upper floors starting form 20 onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for your positive review which we highly appreciate.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a small shabby bedroom in a very dated hotel. The bed was two single beds pushed together with very saggy mattresses and the duvets had to be arranged to give adequate cover. The curtains did not cover the window and you had to juggle with four strips of fabric every night. The bathroom was so tiny that if you used the lavatory it was impossible to miss the lavatory roll holder on one side or the bath on the other, there were two lino tiles in front which just prevented collision with the basin. The bath and hand towels were thin, worn and greyish white. Every surface was in need of new wallpaper or paint and the carpet was very dirty.

Breakfast was unbelievably bad with salt rolls or dark brown bread with cold hard boiled eggs and cold hot chocolate. We asked for croissants which they had to buy in.

The restaurant was unattractive in appearance with very poor food, after finding the first meal inedible, we found other restaurants.

There was no wifi, but the reception staff were all helpful and would phone for cabs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was in a great location next to several restaurants, shopping areas & transportation. The room was spacious & clean and the staff were so professional & kind. These factors made my stay in Vienna quite enjoyable. After a long day in conferences, it was a nice place to relax & rest. Also, the breakfast was great! Lots of variety.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Hotel is steps from Ubahn. Good location right on the Ring. Easy access to most attractions. Numerous places to eat nearby. The room we had was clean and large (even by North American standards). Our room faced an office building next door, so not much street noise, just the occasional siren. Breakfast room was clean and bright, also facing the Ring. Breakfast selection and quality of food were excellent. Service was prompt. Would recommend and/or stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your feedback and your wonderful headline which is highly appreciated. :-)
We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very close to downtown and subway and bus stop, is an attractive 'old style' hotel, the room I had was big enough and clean enough with a small TV with a few channels, mini bar very poor, they claim to have a fitness area actually is a room with two treadmills, two stationary bikes and some weight. The restaurant closes at 10:30 and the bar / room service at 1:00 am and the staff is quite slow. Breakfast good but nothing special, notice is a complete non smoking hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

You are correct that our fitness room is not quite large, therefore and for extensive workout we recommend the nearby Homes Place. Our F&B Manager will also focus on the ‘staff is quite slow’ issue within the next training session.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Vienna
#81 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#84 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de France 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.