We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna to your Saves list
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hietzinger Hauptstrasse 10-14, Vienna 1130, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Hotel is adjacent to the Palace Schoenbrunn so for tourists offers a superb location and is about 30 taxi minutes from the airport.

Some rooms offer views over the Palace Gardens (the rear of the Palace) and some look away from the Palace, and face the gardens to the rear of the hotel - but I suspect that these are also a lot less noisy as they are away from the main road.

The hotel is frankly huge, and appears to be about 3-4 buildings knocked together to create one vast building - so cozy it is not. But it is newly renovated, offers a breakfast on a par with "usual" expectations (warm cold, continental etc) and rooms are larger than average, offering a separated toilet and full bath. Nice.

The only gripe for me was the restaurant - the waiter claimed he was new, and this was his excuse for not being able to provide a wine list, not knowing the prices of the wine he discovered in the cellar and average rather sloppy service (not offering us the chance to taste the wine, mixing up orders on the table, clearing the table before all had finished eating etc.....)...I think the hotel drops a point on sloppy training on this one!

If you eat elsewhere though, you will not even notice....!

Room Tip: Rooms with Palace Views also are closer to the main transport square and busy main road so may be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    141
    36
    17
    8
See reviews for
54
148
9
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

With only 1.5 days in Vienna, we decided to stay here as we were only visiting Schoenbrunn Palace and the zoo, and the being this was the Emperor's Guesthouse it seemed like the obvious choice for my 8 year old to feel like a Princess. The hotel is stunning and opulent, and the room was huge in comparison to the rooms we had in the rest of Europe. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the location perfect for our needs. As noted by another review - the room smelled pretty bad. The window was open when we checked in but the smell was still pretty evident, and worse after the window had been closed over night. We were also near a set of stairs and it sounded like a heard of elephants were using them from around 6am in the morning and again in the evening - maybe some carpeting on them would dull the noise!

Room Tip: Stay away from the stairwell they are very noisy with foot traffic from 6am, and again in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked this travel package including flights and accomodation through a provider on the internet and suspect this is the reason why this stay has panned out the way it has.
We arrived at 11:00 at the hotel and they sent us away to come back at 3:00 since they only guarantee rooms in the afternoon. OK, fair enough, still not convenient.
Firstly the room that was given to us looks nothing like the photos that are circulating. This room is far from being modern, with 80s style furniture and a grubby old carpet with lots of stains. The room also smells and despite airing it out all day it still stank. The radiator is one of the old style radiators and makes noise all night - like sleeping next to a stream. The temperature can't be regulated individually and it needed a phonecall to reception to ask to turn on the heater since it was freezing on arrival. The windows had not been cleaned in months - the beautiful sunrise was a bit blurry. Absolutely no love on arrival - no slippers, no tea, no cups, no shampoo, no lotion, no soap, no extra blanket, no paper towels in the bathroom - really the basics completely missing. After the first day out we get back to the room - it is not made up! So we call reception: "ah sorry, we forgot". Ah right.
In general I would not call this place clean. Taking a bath with other people's pubic hair is not my idea of clean.
Despite it having been a good deal we are still paying a truckload compared to the standards this place is offering.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was struck down with the winter norovirus just before heading here for the weekend .. so it kind of curtailed our activities just a little ... however, the hotel was wonderful, grand and opulent, you get a true sense of how things must have been back in the good old days ..

Our room was a decent enough size and thankfully warm, on what was a cold weekend - I loved the breakfast - probably the best I've experienced .. I was kicking myself that I was unable to load up fully - doubly so when I spied the bottles of Prosecco just waiting to help kickstart your day ;-)

The hotel is not bang in the centre, but the station is on the doorstep and it is very quick and easy to get there .. don't let the distance put you off.

Word of warning .. getting a taxi from the airport is very pricey!! (about 50 euros) Get the train if you can .. it's very quick.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has huge, so quiet and nice rooms to relax after your daily run around Viena (nice and perfectly clean bath as well), but the most important for us was the location /vicinity of metro station/ ! We were here with our kid and everything was just as it should be! Cannot say anything than one big "DANKE"!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathmandu, null, Nepal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

You will be stunned to see the historic and legendary property in the heart of Vienna just walking distance from the major attractions such as Museum, Royal Palace, Park and Zoo. You can access the hotel by train and tram just - walking distance. You can expect very professional and friendly Front Office team including the Concierge personnel. Room has everything one need that meets all the modern travelers' expectation. Amazing breakfast varieties and beautiful ambience.

Only you would wish that the hotel takes a serious urgent step to upgrade/train the restaurant team. I would recommend that they even hire some fresh energy, better hospitality trainees from the local schools. When restaurant was nearly empty - staff looked very stressed, demotivated and irritated. Very obvious and simple order was messed up, and when the feedback was politely whispered, the person just ignored and left even without acknowledgement! However, bar again had a fantastic team seemingly loving their job. Please hire the people that loves the job, not who need the job. This property is certainly the pride of Austria, with little effort, it can always stay so...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place is closest hotel to Schoenbrunn. However, the hotel is not close to the city center. The city center can be reached by a 5 minute tram ride and then by a 10 minute metro. The staff at the hotel was quite friendly. The restaurant as the hotel is not that great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna

Address: Hietzinger Hauptstrasse 10-14, Vienna 1130, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#76 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#87 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel, once the Emperor's Guesthouse, located opposite the Schoenbrunn Castle & Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.