We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, excellent location, slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Wien Zentrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Wien Zentrum to your Saves list
Mercure Wien Zentrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #108 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent room, excellent location, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Mercure Wien Zentrum, it was a great location and close to all the things we wanted to see. The room was lovely, a bit on the smaller side for the price, but very modern, clean, and had all the amenities we needed (and more!). We really appreciated being so central as we had a very short stay in Vienna.

The only thing that was a bit puzzling was the front desk staff, checkout took us over 20 minutes as they made a mistake with the charge and seemed to be very busy. One of the front desk girls seemed totally confused and the other seemed to be doing twice as much work (to compensate). Because our time was so limited and we were headed to the airport, the long checkout process did effect us and our stay in Vienna, however everyone gets busy and I don't think it's normal for checkout to take so long as the fellow who checked us in was super fast and efficient and easy.

We were very pleased with our room and our stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others looking for a central place in Vienna! We would certainly stay here again in the future if we're back in Vienna! Thank you Mercure Wien Zentrum!

Room Tip: We heard that the annex isn't as nice as the central building so we asked for a room in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very
much for writing a review after your stay with us!
It is always nice to receive feedbacks from our guests and to know that they had a wonderful time with us.
Please accept my apologies for the long check-out procedure! I can assure you that our standard check-out times are much faster than what you experienced and that yours was an isolated case! Once again: I am really sorry and I hope you had anyway a smooth travel back home.
I hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again in Vienna and in Mercure Wien Zentrum!

All the best,
Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    454
    153
    43
    9
See reviews for
131
448
67
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Centrally located. Extremely comfortable and the service is wonderful. I will definitely come back here when I return to Vienna. Everyone at the front desk was amazing, I endorse the comment of fellow critique - Wanda was amazing. Lots of patience and extremely helpful. so were all the others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your terrific comment after your recent stay in our hotel!
I am really glad to read that you enjoyed the time with us.
I passed your words to Wanda. It is really nice when our guests remember our names!
We all wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I needed a centrally located hotel for an overnight stay that was not going to break the bank, and this hotel fitted the bill perfectly. It's within walking distance of the very centre of the city, close to several very good restaurants and bars, and the room was more than adequate for the few hours I was going to spend in it. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's perfectly clean and comfortable, and what do you expect for 120 Euros right in the centre of Vienna?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your excellent feedback after your stay with us!
I am really happy that the hotel met your expectation and that, despite your few time, you took advantage of our perfect location to enjoy the central Vienna.
We look forward welcoming you again soon!
All the best,
Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a great location as we literally walked to almost all the sightseeing. The hotel is only few blocks walk to the main square of all Vienna. The staff were amazingly helpful especially ( Wanda ) in the front desk. She saved us tons of money telling us how to tour all the sightseeing places and helped us with all our dining arrangements. Bless her heart.
The hotel room was really nice, clean and comfortable. You are also 2 blocks from all major transportations, we didn't even need to take and taxi services ( money savings). We paid for the breakfast and it was good for the price.
Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your terrific review after your stay in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
To read that you enjoyed your time here, the location, the comfort of the hotel and the kindness of our Staff is of a great motivation for us! I passed your words to Wanda :)
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again here!
Best wishes from sunny Vienna!

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I made this reservation more than a month ago. As my visit approached I will admit to some concern over some recent reviews that were less than favorable. I do not know the reason for those reviews because I have been here for 2 nights and I am very impressed. Great room and very spacious for Western Europe. Refrigerator, safe, modern bathroom. Couldn't ask for a better room. Andrea at the front desk was very informative, accommodating and answered all my questions. The internet has worked well and the tv offers many options. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all major attractions and the U3 is very close for access to the train station.
I recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your terrific review on Tripadvisor!
I am really happy to read that you had an excellent time with us and that you enjoyed the rooms, the amenities, the friendly staff and our unbeatable location!
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
Best wishes from Vienna!

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Wien Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien Zentrum

Address: Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
#77 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#91 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien Zentrum 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Vienna in the historic city centre. Not only business life of the city takes place in close neighbourhood, also cultural life pulsates all around : St.Stephans cathedral, the State Opera, the recently re-opened Albertina, Hofburg, Museums Quarter and the exclusive shopping areas are within walking distance. The hotel offers all facilities for a perfect stay and more: individual service with Viennese charm and the world famous Viennese Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Wien Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien Zentrum
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Wien Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.