We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien to your Saves list
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location and charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love the Astoria hotel in Vienna. I always stay here because it is very central, they always give me incredibly good rates and it has the charm that quality old hotels have. The rooms are ok. Ask for a room on the outer side with windows towards the streets, and not towards the internal patio. These are very airy, with plenty of light. The bed is good. They serve a buffet breakfast of reasonable quality, although I've seen better for the price. But honestly, once you see the location you'll forgive anything. The staff are really friendly and the internet works well. recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel has two wings. One facing an internal patio and one with rooms with windows towards the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    177
    70
    22
    13
See reviews for
61
148
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights (5th-7th November) at the very best located hotel for almost all touristic attractions. Even though the hotel is held in the classy but very suitable Sissy-style.

Room was huge, modern and well equipped. Clean and big bathroom. (only bath and no extra shower)

Attended breakfast the first day during a busy time, but staff is well trained and very friendly. Second day we were even welcomed by the general manager herself!

Perfect hotel to stay at while discovering beautiful vienna.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying at Austria Trend Hotel Astoria in Vienna (room 233), between 13.11.-16.11 2014.

The hotel is in a perfect location, in the heart of beautiful Vienna.

We were welcomed very nicely by the hotel staff.

They gave us a beautiful room and allowed us an early check-in, after a long flight.

All our demands were completed in a most polite and generous way.

The hotel and the room were very clean.

There is no doubt we will be back in Austria Trend Hotel Astoria, when we will visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Many of the main places are within walking distance. Next to the main shopping road & Karlsplatz Metro with 3 tube lines so access to most other places easy. One line to the Airport express station and in the opposite direction, the Schonbrunn Palace. Hotel staff helpful, rooms comfortable but some a bit noisy. Good breakfasts, no evening meals.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

With only 1 afternoon and night to spend in Vienna before heading to airport for morning flight home, we considered staying near the airport, which would have been a BIG mistake. After reading about the convenience of this hotel (other reviews saying everything we would want/have time to see would be within walking distance) Instead we booked a night at the Hotel Astoria so we'd be able to walk around the heart of the city after arriving by train from Salzburg. Hotel is situated in a fantastic location - both for using public transit (situated right between two major subway stops), and for walking out the door to shops, restaurants, museums, etc. Sure, the hotel has a bit of a dated feel to it, but in a quaint sort of way. Really appreciated early check in, upgrade to executive room (which was quite large, with bigger bathroom than usual/expected). Front desk staff were very helpful - both in general and for providing directions, recommendations for restaurants, etc. Had seen some comments about noise and temperature issues, but we had no issues with either - 2nd floor room (which is actually 4 levels up) facing courtyard was nice and quiet. Would recommend even if you have early flight out. We left at 6:30a to grab Starbucks a block away, walked a few additional blocks to catch the subway train (that runs every 4-8 mins - 2.20 Euros) to a connecting S-Bahn train (7.70 Euros) that got us very inexpensively and easily to the airport by around 7:45am!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This hotel has a great location for being within walking distance of everything in central Vienna. However, there are loud people outside nearly 24 hours a day. It's actually worse at night (10pm - 3am) because most of the people outside are drunk and having a really good time. There were several times that just a handful of really drunk people outside were more disruptive to my sleep than the sound of 200 people that are out there during the middle of the day. It doesn't help that this hotel does not have air conditioning or any kind of ceiling fans. Your choice is to open the windows and make the room louder or close the windows and sweat like a pig. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean, though the mattress wasn't particularly comfortable. I didn't care for the huge step into and out of the shower. You practically need a hand rail to get out of the shower safely. The first time I got out of it I misjudged the drop and almost fell since I was dripping wet and the floors are slick marble.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Kärntner Straße.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our European holiday. Nice hotel in a central location for walking to many areas of interest. Room was comfortable & breakfast included had a good selection typical of European hotels. Free wifi included also. Most front of house staff were friendly & helpful with requests which saved us a lot of time searching as we were only in the city for a short time. It's a pity the older gentleman with moustache on the desk was so rude & arrogant in his manner to guests upon check in, including us & our travel companions. I actually assisted a non English speaking guest fill out his check in details as he could not understand the abrupt attitude of this man. Apart from that we enjoyed our short stay, Vienna is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Address: Karntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#101 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.