We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to make changes!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien to your Saves list
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Meath
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Needs to make changes!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I did not enjoy my one night stay in this hotel. Firstly there was no air conditioning in the room which is not great when it is 24 degrees outside! A dirty big fan was provided. The noise from the street outside all night kept me awake (not the hotels fault). Staff were nice and friendly but overall experience probably due to lack of sleep was not great. Could also do with an iron in the room. Unfortunately I will not be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    194
    74
    24
    13
See reviews for
65
163
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days for work, the booking was made by conference organisers.

The location is extremely central, however I do not believe the hotel can be described as 4 star, and can justify the high prices.

My room was not clean, but was relatively spacious as was the ensuite bathroom. The bed was simply two single beds pushed together, complete with separate bedding. The TV was old and had extremely fuzzy reception. The room got pretty hot (as others have commented) but the old windows were difficult to leave open without them banging all night.

The central location makes it very noise through the night and early in the morning.

The breakfast selection was fine- but it was impossible to order a coffee from the staff as they were nowhere to be seen. On the second day the hotel was clearly overwhelmed by visitors and I couldn't even find any cutlery or glasses ( I had to search empty tables for the remaining few items of clean cutlery and had to take a glass from behind the bar).

Most of the hotel staff were friendly, but not all. I would have appreciated being told that I was paying a 300 euro deposit upon arrival rather than just being asked for my credit card.

Unfortunately the staff didn't seem to be able to manage and this greatly affected the customer service provided. Wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Check a few rooms and take your pick of the best- I wish I had done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel far exceeded our expectations - the rooms are large and clean. No air conditioning, but they provided a fan which was perfect to keep us cool in August. The bathroom was newly updated and was very big. Location couldnt be better - its right on Stefansplatz - which is where you want to be if you're touring around. I would absolutely stay here again. We didnt pay for breakfast because it seemed a little pricey, but there are tons of bakeries and cafes around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Astoria for 3 nights from 18th August. It is in a brilliant location for getting around Vienna and ideal for shopping and eating. The room we had was very spacious and had a huge bathroom with bath and overhead shower. It was clean and comfortable and very good value. The breakfast was substantial and I think catered for just about everyone - there was scrambled egg, bacon, frankfurters, yogurts, fresh fruit, fruit salad, ham, cheese, croisants, cakes, bread etc. Sadly there was no bar open in the evening but there were 3 or 4 places very very close by where you could get a drink and/or eat in evenings. Although the area was quite busy during the day and into the night, it certainly didn't spoil our sleep and although we had the windows open we weren't disturbed at all. There is no air conditioning but we did have a fan and this helped. The staff were most courteous and helpful and everything about the hotel was clean and tidy. I would be happy to recommend this hotel and would certainly go back there if we were in Vienna again.

Room Tip: We had room 005 which is an executive room. Very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased when the cab dropped us off to find that we were in such a fantastic location. The room is large in comparison to some we recently stayed in in Germany and it is very clean and comfortable. Three minor negatives, no air con (32 degrees today), no tea and coffee making facilities and the fridge is warm at its best.

I would recommend it to others and would be happy to return.value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed twice in this hotel and both times the weather in Vienna has been very hot. The hotel is beautiful and on excellent location. Atmosphere takes you back to "good old times". Facilities are good except the fact that only few Executive Rooms have airconditioning and without it during hot weather it is almost impossible to sleep during nights. Any other time of year I would recommend this hotel for its history. Breakfast is expensive as in all hotels in Vienna, from 20 euros per person per day. You get nice business breakfast from any of the nice cafes in Vienna for less than 10 euros per person.

Room Tip: During hot summer weather, make sure you have air condition in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

"This is my worst experience in a hotel. With no Ac and tempetures over 100 degrees Fahrenheit that room was like a sauna during the day and night. This company should do something about the ac or literally they just should close for summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Address: Karntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#109 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#109 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.