We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Save Saved
You added Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 370 hotels in Vienna
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In the heart of Vienna, this hotel is as central as you can get.
It does come with the usual pitfalls of old hotels in city centres; no air conditioning and some city noise during tourist hours but that is the worst of it.
We were lucky to have a small balcony so with the doors open and a fan supplied by the hotel we got by. To be fair we are in the hottest weather, approx. 30C so much of the time AC is not a problem. Rooms are comfortable and staff extremely helpful. Highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    158
    61
    21
    13
See reviews for
54
129
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

As alot others here have pointed out there is no AC in the rooms (atleast not the one I had and I think that was a business room).

Apart from that the hotel is right in the middle of it, so it has an exellent location. My room was also very spacious and nice (but very old style). The bathroom was big with a tub (that leaked water all over the floor when showering).

Breakfast and staff was very nice.

Room Tip: I think avioding one of the rooms towards the busy main street (Karntner street) could be a good ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I did enjoyed the location of this hotel. The people are very kind at the reception but not so flexible to solve a problem. The room are clean and the free Wi-Fi in the room is useful. The room do not have air conditionner and it is very hot in the room in summer. If you have a room along the street, it will be difficult to sleep. You will listening the people crying on the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

lovely quaint little hotel right in the heart of town, building has been untouched for decades; very Austrian
staff just great, internet reasonable, bathrooms very good
only problem, NO AC
will I come back?, yes...in September

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the street unless you want to sing with each passing group
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location of the hotel was fantastic, just off the main pedestrian street, 100m from the opera and about 300m from Stefansplatz. The lobby is inviting and warm and the staff very friendly, the midday check out was great. But, we had asked for a double bed and received twin beds; they did offer alternate rooms but both were dark and dingy - one above the kitchen with the smells and noise that goes with that. We felt that service of the room was poor with at least one day where no sheets or towels were refreshed and we ran out of toilet paper - we had to request towels (which were well worn and almost see through). Also, given it was a twin - only one shower gel provided (but two shower caps!). We arrived when it was about 30degrees and the room was stifling hot with no a/c just a small, totally inadequate, portable fan, to cool the room down. We had to have the windows open which meant loud noises from the street woke us, especially the dustbin men who came before 7.30am! The walls are also thin so we could hear other's morning alarms go off. In short a nice hotel that needs tweaks - a/c; a little more attention to detail with the servicing of rooms and being more aware of customer requests. If the hotel had a/c I would have no difficulty in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Not facing the court yard - but equally if you have to sleep with window open street is noisy all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, and is generally clean and well-maintained. However, the hotel is not air-conditioned, so during the recent heat wave in Vienna the room was stiflingly hot. Moreover, our romm looked out into a central core that not only had no view, but was noisy and failed to permit any air flow.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a street view, rather than an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocos de Caldas, MG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just behind the Opera House and in the heart of the city, Astoria is a fantastic classic building with large and confortable rooms. The staff is very polite and helpfull. I give 10 for the breakfeast room and the excelent meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Address: Karntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#101 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.