We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel outside the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Vienna - South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Vienna - South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hertha-Firnberg-Strasse 5, Vienna 1100, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #205 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Stuttgart
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel outside the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The rooms would need some renovation, but they are large, comfortable and clean.Staff is friendly and efficient, the breakfast buffet is good - at least compared to the normal Holiday Inn standard. My only problem was, that the air conditioning did not work (ok, it made noise, but it did not cool) and it was not possible to open the windows. So it was too hot at night. Seems to be a systematic issue, because two of my collegues had the same problem. Other than that - it is fine. I will chose the hotel again for my next stay - and ask for a key to open the locked window.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hivienna2013, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna - South, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest Mike043

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your detailed feedback about your experience.

We greatly appreciate your positive comments about our colleagues, the buffet breakfast and our comfortable guest rooms. However, I am very sorry to hear that the air-condition in your room was not up to your expectations. Our maintenance team has been informed and will do all necessary steps to check the AC system in the hotel to avoid such reoccurrence in the future.

I am glad to hear, that you will choose Holiday Inn Vienna South again for a future visit in Vienna. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Thomas Hain
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    104
    74
    18
    6
See reviews for
32
60
19
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and I can't complain at all about this hotel. Breakfast is good and the rooms are spaceful and silent. The only thing i didn't like was the internet connection price that was expensive but you can't have it all..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hivienna2013, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna - South, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest CloudsInTheSky,

Thank you very much for stating your opinion about your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Vienna South. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our large rooms and the silent location of the hotel.

With regards to the internet, kindly be informed that we also do offer packages that include full internet access during the stay. Further to that, we also offer free internet to all IHG Rewards Club Elite members (Gold & Platinum) and starting in 2014 for all IHG Rewards Club members.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Thomas Hain
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn South for 5 nights. It was close to where I had to be each morning for business. It was better than I anticipated. Some things however were missing to make it an excellent stay. The room was typical boring business style: brown and beige and some dark reds. The bathroom definitely needs an overhaul.
The bed was very comfortable with a selection of pillows to choose from. My room was facing the back and was very quiet at night. The aircon was struggling with the extremely high temperatures outside.
Breakfast was average.
What really kept my mood up was the staff: all very friendly, helpful and engaged (except the breakfast crew). Would have been nice to have a swimming pool.
The worst was the fees for WiFi: 8 Euro per hour and 18 Euro per day - outrageous if you consider that it doens't cost them a penny extra!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the little wood behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna - South, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Carmengerman

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our quit rooms with the comfortable beds and moreover our friendly and helpful staff. However, I do also understand your comments regarding our rooms, where we are on the way to refurb step by step and a big part of all rooms are already done. The situation with the Wifi is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where you can book these service inclusively.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Friendly staff, great accommodation, air-conditioning is good during the hot summer days. Location might not be central, but the neighborhood is lovely. You have everything that you need during your business trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna - South, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Radoslava V

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your really kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great rating. Glad to see you liked our staff, our service and also the AC.

We all would welcome the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location is correct if you travel for business. It is not in the touristic area but not far away from downtown. Personnel is very efficient (Mrs Lucia, at the front desk, is lovely and really efficient).
The issue is that this is not a four stars hotel under the usual standards. It is quite old and the decoration of the rooms and specially the toilets should be renovated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna - South, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest JuanFernMadrid

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our service and our lovely and efficient staff. I will personal speak with Lucia to give her your great feedback. However, I do also understand your comments regarding our rooms, where we are on the way to refurb step by step and a big part of all rooms are already done.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for just one night on a business trip. We arrived late, and so were relieved to be told that the restaurant would serve until 10:30 pm. They weren't kidding - we got half way through our meal but couldn't have a dessert because by then it was passed 10:30 pm and the kitchen was closed! Very good meal, apart from this.

The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Wifi is a silly price at €3.00 for just 15 mins and €18.00 for 24 hrs. Needless to say I didn't use this service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna - South, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Michael P

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad about your rating and that you liked our well equipped and comfortable rooms and our food offer. However, I do also understand your comments regarding the service received in the restaurant and the Wifi rates. I personal spoke with the responsible staff for F&B to avoid such a situation in the future. The situation with the Wifi is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where you can book these service inclusively.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna to show we care.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in a standard room. Room was clean and comfortable, as was the bed. Wish they had some more pillow options available in the room as I didn't like the provided one.
Sauna was ok but very small.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special, serves the purpose.
Location is some 15min from city center in low traffic and some 30min from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna - South, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Moncic

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms. I do also understand your comments regarding more pillow options, the sauna as well as the breakfast.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna to show we care.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna - South

Address: Hertha-Firnberg-Strasse 5, Vienna 1100, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Vienna
#130 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna - South 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Vienna South at the Business Park Vienna & the recreation area Wienerberg. If you are staying on business or leisure, the green surroundings of the hotel are the ideal place to start your day…Take advantage of the hotel’s location near the motorway A23 or keep your car at our car park and enjoy the direct access to the public transportation from our doorstep. The centre of the vibrant capital of Austria with all their tourist attractions is easily accessible. We are located just 25 minutes from Vienna International Airport. Please let us know if we can arrange a limousine transfer for you. Situated close to the Business Park Vienna and the Euro Plaza, a wide range of corporate offices, such as Coca-Cola, Philips, Hewlett Packard, Wienerberger or ABB can be reached within walking distance. The adjacent shopping mall of the Vienna Twin Towers boasts numerous shops as well as a variety of international restaurants and a modern multiplex cinema.After a successful meeting at our meeting space with daylight and garden views, gather with friends or colleagues at the Manhattan Lounge and sip evening cocktails. Or savour a memorable dining experience with a typical Wiener Schnitzel at our restaurant Brasserie California. For the sportive ones, the nearby Wienerberg Golf Club offers exclusive discounts for the Green Fee for our hotel guests. While there, why don’t you spend a relaxing afternoon with a picnic at in the picturesque Park Wienerberg? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna South Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Vienna - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.