We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacher Wien to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
St. John's, NL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Sacher in Dec 2013. The rooms were very elegant. We had a propane fireplace in our room and heated towel bar and heated floors in bathroom. Luxury all the way. Upon arrival they brought fruit and chocolates to our room, during the evening they brought the Hotel specialty sparkling wine. The hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. Excellent service. Great location, 10 min walk to the Christmas markets. Couldn't eat at hotel restaurants as they were completely booked both nights we stayed there. That was a little disappointing. Would have liked it if they had a more update TV system, in room movies. With the time difference we would wake up very early and they didn't have a lot of english speaking channels or in room movies.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during Christmas time.

At Hotel Sacher Wien, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. During the month of December we do have an increased demand for reservations in our two gourmet restaurants and although we try to give priority to our hotel guests it sometimes is not possible to accommodate all requests. We are very sorry for the disappointment you experienced.
Because of our international guests we currently offer 70 TV channels including 5 English TV channels. All our rooms are supplied with DVD players and we have an extensive choice of DVDs at our concierge desk at your disposal to enjoy a movie night at the Sacher.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    104
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
136
425
57
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had an exceptional hotel experience at the Hotel Sacher in Vienna. Our room overlooked the opera house and it was gorgeous. It was spacious and beautifully decorated with gorgeous moldings, hardwood floors, a lovely marble bathroom and very comfortable bed with wonderful sheets and pillows. The hotel is wonderfully located on the edge of the pedestrian district and we were able to walk everywhere. The concierges recommended fabulous restaurants for both lunch and dinner, including a couple of delicious casual outdoor cafes for lunch and fabulous high-end restaurants with great food for dinner. The thing that really topped it off for us was the extraordinary service. The night before we left, I told the hotel know that we had to leave by 4am the following morning to catch our international flight. When we got downstairs to the lobby at 3:45am that morning to catch our taxi, the staff had a beautifully-set tea tray ready for us with fabulous hot coffee and warm croissants. It was the perfect start to our long day! I have stayed in many wonderful hotels but this is one of my favorite hotels ever.

Room Tip: It is worth spending a little more to have a larger room. It is lovely to overlook the opera house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This establishment has a 150 years of tradition. It shows photos of famous guests in the ground floor. The service is first class and my room was fantastic. A blend of old style, high ceiling and modern luxory. The hotel has a perfect location for tourists and business people. There is a wide choice of restaurants and the famous caffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

When in Vienna, we can't wait to go back to the Sacher Hotel ! Probably one of the places we like best to stay, if we had to chose a Hotel in the world ! And God knows we have travelled !
Everything is PERFECT ! Think of anything you might want, or need : it is there !
The rooms and suites have been entirely redone, very soft tones, absolute comfort ! The staff are the best I know ! The concierges can get you any ticket for any show, concert, opera - within hours...! They are fantastic ! The breakfast...ah! the breakfast ! A total dream ! Think of something you like : there it is, and not to talk about the Hall in which it served...! Perfect room service, excellent food, best location (right opposite the Opera !), don't even think of going to another hotel...why would you ?

Room Tip: Suite 224 is large, quiet, has a nice view overlooking the Albertina, and has HUGE wardrobes to fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After several trips to Vienna this year I decided to take a flat and spend a month and a half over the Christmas season.
This city is a true wonder of old world environment, beauty and extraordinary museums and sights. The quality of opera, ballet and music is of the best in the world as there is no mediocrity. My flat is situated in the belvedere are, some ten minutes from the Sacher where I go daily, either for a cub sandwich at the blue bar hall with my dog, or at the café for tea and several times a week at the Rotbar after concerts or opera.
The overall service is perfect all speak at least English as a second language. The service at the Stubli and café is extremely patient as unfortunately, as many things in our world today, so much has become a status symbol and the Sacher tort has taken that route. Waitresses need to take photos of guests bringing their forks to their mouths in the most grotesque poses one can imagine, they do it with such patience and good humour that you do not know how they can take it all day long. Most of these “cake guests” are not too demanding but many are as this seems to be a pivotal part of their visit, taking a picture home with a fork of tort to their mouths” It is incredible how patient the staff is.
Any one that disparages this hotel needs serious examination. I find it to be one of the best quality palaces I know with a high emphasis on luxury and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk through the entrance which leads into an open and grand front concierge desk / area this Hotel captures you.
Everything about this Hotel was as I hoped for in Wien.

From the main Lobby which is not only great for a drink and something light to eat, it also showcases the history aswell. Walls around the main floor of the Hotel full of picture frames of famous guests which gives it such a unique feel and experience for the guests.

The Room was very generous on size and well appointed (try to get a room overlooking the Main Street if you can) . The Bathroom area was huge and with heated floors!

The service provided whether it be Concierge, Restaurant & Bar or Front Desk was simply outstanding at all times. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they were always happy to help as much as possible.

This Hotel needs to be a must stay for anyone going to Wien. The high level of standards along with its visible history and layout makes this a stunning Hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This jewel box of a hotel is elegant, but unpretentious, warm and seemingly caring about its guests. The service was superb and the food excellent. But at thousands of Euros per night, it is in rare company, and should reflect the highest standards in its dealings with its guests. When I expressed dismay over what I believe were overcharges, the manager was haughty and arrogant, characteristics making him temperamentally unsuited to dealing with guests. In today's world, one has choices at virtually every price point, but at each one, highest or lowest, the guest is entitled to a level of respect befitting his/her status as the lifeblood of every hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. However, I am very sorry about your disappointment upon check-out and the way you felt treated, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Hotel Sacher Wien, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem areas you identified and to prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. We do know that you have the choice and therefore we appreciate your visit at our hotel. Please contact my office directly for any future stay and I will personally take care.

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#1 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.