We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sacher Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Opposite the Opera House and so close to the historic palaces and museums, this hotel has a super location for a short stay in beautiful Vienna. Our room was very good, plenty of space, comfortable bed and a regal bathroom. The public spaces in the hotel are a little cramped and very period in style. Not to everyone's taste. Service was good and friendly except on two days the breakfast waitress forgot to bring the requested second pot of tea. The concierges were most helpful in booking restaurants and concerts. Daily supplies of miniature Sacher Torte's in the bedroom were well received and consumed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    87
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
92
322
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great place to stay! A bit overpriced but great location and Hotel!
Amazingly clean! Great taste and furnished in a great way.
Like I said: a bit overpriced for what it is, but the location, the staff, the food are all of great quality.
Perhaps better places but this is worth staying at least for a few nights.
We did love it!

Room Tip: Great place to stay as long as you have a great view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sp
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A true Wien hotel experience. This is a very traditional hotel nicely decorated. It seems that you go back in time: you feel like a lord or a prince. The room was very spacious and clean with an enourmous king-size bed. The only not-so-good experience was at the reception: besides being too small, my room was not ready when it was supposed to. But at least I had an excuse to spend more time in this beatiful city. The hotel is very well located and walking distance from many interesting attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote d'Azur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Is this the best city hotel in the world? We think so.....
Starting with the check-in process, the upgrade to a suite and the tour of the hotel and explanation of the history and room particulars was top notch.
The general feeling of calm efficiency ruled throughout and having the bartender knowing your name after the first evening only succeeded in reaffirming this.

All in all, a wonderful stay; good food, great historic atmosphere and excellent staff. 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Sacher Hotel for 3 nights and had a wonderful relaxing and pampered stay. The hotel staff go above and beyond in their efforts to make you feel welcome. In particular we would like to thank the concierge staff who arranged our opera and concert tickets for us and who were generally extremely helpful. The Sacher brings the old style elegance and charm of Vienna into every aspect of your experience from the lobby, bar and restaurants to the beautiful rooms and spa. Try to book a room with a view of the opera house which is next door. We highly recommend this hotel as a thoroughly enjoyable Viennese experience.... And who can resist the famous Sacher Torte!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to a lot of luxury hotels around Europe but in that case, I can say that this is my best hotel experience!
From the check-in with a very nice and kind staff, to the room which was just perfect (size, view, ...) This is of course classic luxury but completely revamped and it remains sober, with grey shades, nice materials.
For the breakfast, the buffet is not as huge as we can have it in some hotels but the quality of the products is really top.
The spa is also a real pleasure to relax and take care of yourself.
Of course, all this has a cost but it is really worth it: for the same price that an average 4 star hotel in Paris, you have the epitome of luxury in Vienna.

Room Tip: Room with balcony on the 3rd floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely lunch in the hotel one day. The decor is period and a fun way to get a feel for what Austrian glamor was in the day. Originally, we wanted to just try the famous and legally trademarked, "Sacher Torte" from the original locations, but changed our minds and left the cafe and decided to have a proper lunch instead.

It was a nice break after touring around the city on our walking tour day and sit down in a comfortable, historic hotel for a proper lunch. I wouldn't bring young children here, but our group thought it was a nice experience. The hotel had many smaller rooms rather than a large entrance. It has a cozy elegance and a nice break from the mad crowds in the streets. We visited during what is the school field trip season for many countries, and so this was a welcome respite.

Room Tip: Just had lunch in the Red Silk Dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gürtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city.Since the end of 2011, all 149 rooms and suites shine in new splendor. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV’s which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.