We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing on every point!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacher Wien to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing on every point!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to a lot of luxury hotels around Europe but in that case, I can say that this is my best hotel experience!
From the check-in with a very nice and kind staff, to the room which was just perfect (size, view, ...) This is of course classic luxury but completely revamped and it remains sober, with grey shades, nice materials.
For the breakfast, the buffet is not as huge as we can have it in some hotels but the quality of the products is really top.
The spa is also a real pleasure to relax and take care of yourself.
Of course, all this has a cost but it is really worth it: for the same price that an average 4 star hotel in Paris, you have the epitome of luxury in Vienna.

Room Tip: Room with balcony on the 3rd floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    112
    40
    9
    7
See reviews for
162
487
63
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely lunch in the hotel one day. The decor is period and a fun way to get a feel for what Austrian glamor was in the day. Originally, we wanted to just try the famous and legally trademarked, "Sacher Torte" from the original locations, but changed our minds and left the cafe and decided to have a proper lunch instead.

It was a nice break after touring around the city on our walking tour day and sit down in a comfortable, historic hotel for a proper lunch. I wouldn't bring young children here, but our group thought it was a nice experience. The hotel had many smaller rooms rather than a large entrance. It has a cozy elegance and a nice break from the mad crowds in the streets. We visited during what is the school field trip season for many countries, and so this was a welcome respite.

Room Tip: Just had lunch in the Red Silk Dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

By now I believe all the rooms have been renovated and it is a dream.
Friendly welcome starts the moment you get out of the car in font of the door. Reception desk charming and helpful, and Concierge not only friendly bit most important so efficient and have a solution for everything , including getting tickets at the opera and reservations in the most population restaurants.
Spa on the 4th floor small but well done.
Great Turkish coffee at the Cafe Sacher , right facing the Opera.

Only bemol restaurants a bit expensive for what you get.

Just go , you will always come back !

Room Tip: Best in last floor on in the back of the building : no traffic, you can sleep even with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the minute we stepped out of the taxi, the service exceeded expectation. We were welcomed by name, and escorted to our upgraded view room on the 6th floor. I usually ask for historic rooms, but, this view was too good to leave. The decor is not inspiring, but the level of comfort and excellent service are impressive. The artwork is also worth mentioning, and a welcome amenity was on the table. The concierge was available and able to accommodate every request. The location was convenient for walking the city, and the hot dog stand across the street is the "best." This is a leading hotel.

Room Tip: can't miss with a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful days in Vienna and were both very pleased that friends had convinced us to stay at Hotel Sacher. The hotel is conveniently located near the Opera House and central shopping area and is simply charming. From reception to bars to dining areas and rooms, everything has an old world elegance with the conveniences that a 21st century traveller expects.
Sacher Torte on the breakfast buffet is simply a bonus! The staff are just what you would hope for but don't always find, at such great hotels, simply wonderful with nothing too much of a problem. If in Vienna, this is the pace to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If traveling to Vienna, then only the Hotel Sacher. Completely in the middle of the shopping street, opposite the Opera House, the location is excellent. Maybe the hotel reception could be a little bigger, but that's about the only mistake, if you really want to find one. I like rooms, restaurant, bar, simply everything. This is actually one of the best hotels in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the moment you step into the hotel you feel as if you have stepped back in time the gilded age of European travel and comfort. Although rich in history the hotel is still a contemporary gem. I stayed here 3 days while lecturing at the University in one of the Executive Suite, could not have been more pleased. The rooms are fitted to the highest standard, with all the amenities and comforts anyone could want. The view was amazing looking out onto the Vienna Opera House.

The staff incredible and no question or need was to much for them a real be our guest mentality.

Bottom line one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in in all aspects exceptional.

Room Tip: When here you must have coffee and a piece of torte in the café it should be a law in Vienna to do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#4 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#3 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#1 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.