We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snooty attitude abounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacher Wien to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Snooty attitude abounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

It must be the Germanic culture that makes the staff behave so much by rules that do not take into consideration client satisfaction.
We stayed for a week and several times the doorman treated us with such discourtesy that we ended up talking to the manager.
And the concierges were not of the quality we r used to find at luxury properties.
It is a tired property living on its past laurels.
But the sacher torte is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Sintragirl,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, especially the personal service and attention is of utmost importance for us; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem areas you identified and to prevent any future occurrences.

I would be very grateful if you would consider giving us another opportunity to welcome you at the Hotel Sacher.

Best regards,
Reiner Heilmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    94
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
114
385
52
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Rarely do things work out in the way one expect things to work out. Here, however, everything works out. From the very first minute one feels at ease. The rooms have anything one needs (and a few things one doesn't really need). Old world charm brought up-to-date. The location could not be better for visiting the KHM, NHM or any of the other 'must do' things around town. The opera is across the road, and the shopping district starts on the next corner. Ah, breakfast in the hotel is a must, so is a drink in the 'Blaue Bar', and a dinner in the 'Anna Sacher'. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The most exquisite cakes, not just the Sacher torte but the Esterhazy was also delicious. Good tea, coffee and hot chocolate all beautifully served by very helpful staff. The rooms are outrageous in design but take you back to the grand days in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This gem is located in the middle of historic Vienna; rooms have all recently been renovated and are lovely. Check out the photographs of all the famous people who have been to the hotel to try the famous Sacher Torte. (Decadent)! Great staff.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms with the panoramic views and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My family used to stay at this hotel whenever in Vienna for its location. Although growing up, we have stayed in other hotels. Our last trip to Vienna just reminded me why this was my parent's favorite hotel. Recently renovated with attention to detail, the old grandeur refurbished and remarkably it felt like a new hotel with the original ambiance. From the doorman, the concierge and the manager, i was impressed that they greeted us with familiarity as they made us feel very much at home. I was also impressed by the bathroom in our suite; for European standards, the amenities and the space is very generous; not to mention the TV that is behind the vanity mirror which enables you to watch the news while brushing your teeth most especially after having a bite of the complementary sacher torte in your room. For the overall rating, in my opinion you get more than what you pay for in this charming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great old hotel. Absolutely gorgeous common rooms. Our hotel room was lovely - best part heated marble floors in the bathroom. We also ate dinner in both of their restaurants. The fancier one was fantastic - wonderful menu and great service. Not outrageous in price. Our room came with breakfast which was sumptuous. Anything you could ever want including chocolate for breakfast. Only disappointment was Sacher Torte. Very dry-overrated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

First time visitors, we drove in double parked in a very busy street and the commissionaire had us unloaded and returned the car to Hertz -brilliant start. Booking in was pleasant and easy, they war fully booked so not possible to early checkin. The reception room is a mini masterpiece, about a third the size one would expect but beautiful especially if you like red.
I had been in email contact with Wolfgang 'concierge extraordinaire' and he had organised all we requested with a great deal of skill. Wolfgang was very pleasant, witty and helpful throughout our stay.
Our room was big and comfortable, we were on the 5th floor which we shared with the exceptional Spa.
The Sacher is famous, luxurious, with areas of excellence, full of the beautiful (dressed anyway) and famous people but it is surrounded by its own shops selling the legend and this for me anyway, detracted from the experience.
My intention here is make it clear they sell maybe 1000 tortes a day and that is one amazing income but it leaves a claustrophobic felling eating up to much of the available space.
The Imperial has no conflict of identity, or maybe the Grand.
We enjoyed our stay but it was more Las Vegas than Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#1 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gürtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city.Since the end of 2011, all 149 rooms and suites shine in new splendor. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV’s which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.