We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 367 hotels in Vienna
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great hotel and wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed there last year in july. it`s really a nice and royal place to stay in. but the breakfast was not as great as we expected. service was good and reception people were polite and professional. except for one lady at the reception who was very
rude and not helpful at all.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mona4_11,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien in 2012. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Therefore we are taking your comment on our staff very seriously. Please be ensured that it was never our intention to be rude or unpolite. We never wanted to hurt your feelings.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future in to proof that we have learned by our mnistakes.

With the most kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    99
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
238
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for several days in December, and were very happy with everything in the hotel. Rooms are quite big, bed is comfortable, bathroom is very large and spotlessly clean. Wifi works good everywhere in the hotel.
The bottle of Champagne was a very pleasant surprise on the day of our arrival.
The breakfast is a bit expensive, but worth it: huge choice in the buffet and a la carte, benedictine eggs, salmon, all kinds of fresh juices and even champagne! And it was quite popular on the saturday morning!
The lobby is very beautiful, as it was December, they had a big new year tree with toys from old times, that was very stylish. There was a live music (grand piano) every evening.
The staff was very helpful to us and answered all our questions, the concierge gave good recommendations for the restaurants.

I didn't like their intention to block a 100 euro per each night of stay on the credit card, because I always have problems with those blocked and unblocked sums, so we gave a 400 euro deposit, which was returned on the departure.

Overall impression is very good and I would love to stay again at this hotel, when i visit Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Mrs. Chernichka,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A nice, old style hotel, very well located. The lobby bar is excellent with very nice service and a piano. Rooms are nice and good sized and so are the bathrooms.
The breakfast buffet was excellent!!
Good price and value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear emrodri,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamora
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is not easy to summarize our stay at the Grand, because there were many great things, but also several drawbacks that made it far from perfect.

First the great things:

1) The room itself (640, one of the basic "superior" rooms) was really beautiful, cozy and big enough to feel comfortable at any time of the day (except for the temperature, as I will explain), with a comfy bed and very elegant bathroom (marble everywhere, golden tubs, double basin, good toiletries and plenty of space), And everything spotlessly clean.

2) Impressive common areas, with that old-fashioned XIXth century elegance I truly appreciate in these kind of luxury hotels.

3) Free wi-fi internet throughout the premises.

4) High level of service, including an efficient concierge, room service and housekeeping.

Now the drawbacks:

1) Too hot: perhaps it sounds pretty incredible (hot? in Vienna? in December?), but the entire hotel, and specially the room, was extremely and uncomfortably hot. There was no chance to lower the room's temperaure at will (in fact, it seemed the heating system was centrally controled); we tried just switching off the heating and opening the window for the whole day (and night) but, even so, it was too hot..

2) Noise: not from the street or other rooms, but from the hotel systems. You could hear an almost continous buzzing that could be ignored for a while, but that, added up to the hot, made impossible for us to have a decent sleep.

3) Bizarre credit card handling: we had to pay our room in advance and give a credit card number and authorization not only for that full charge, but also to let the hotel block an amount of 100 € per night of stay. Up to this point, a quite usual practice, considering it was New Year's Eve in Vienna. But, in addition, the day after our prepayment they blocked an equal amount (that is to say, several thousand euros) for whatever reason I still cannot understand (when I answered about it, the hotel told me there were no further blockings, but my bank was not of the same opinion). As a result, I had to negociate a higher credit limit with my bank before the beginning of the journey. At checking out, everything seemed OK again (the unexplained blocking had disappeared), but unpleasant surprises were not over at all. A couple of days after our return, we received a letter from the hotel, claiming that we had consumed a couple of things from the minibar (what we had not) and charging an extra amount again to our poor and exhausted credit card. We wrote back, rejecting that charge, and they answered saying the whole thing was a mistake, credited our card and apologized. At the end, everything was in order, and they proved to be good and swift dealing with their mistakes, but it is obvious (at least, in my humble opinion) a hotel of this level should not make (and cannot afford) these kind of mishandles with clients' credit cards.

All in all, a good experience, but not excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Turistanoaccidental,

I would like to take the liberty to sincere thanbk you for your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Wien and as well for the time you took to post your experience with us on the Tripadvisor website.

I do apologize to hear that you had to experience such problems with us. Please be ensured that it was at no time our intention to hurt your feelings.

It is obvious that an human erreor occured concerning your credit card. We are very sorry for all the troubles you had to through with us.That we provide you with a wrong mini bar charge in the end, is actually very embarrassing for us.

We have discussed all the issues you have written and we believe that we have found the right measures to adress these problems.

We would be pleased if could still consider the Grand Hotel Wien as your hotel for a possible stay in Vienna in the future in ordere to proof you that we have learned by our mistakes.

In case you do have any questions plesae feel free to contact me at anytime via e-mail
( mfuernkranz@jjwhotels.com ).

Yours respectfully,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you want to be close to the opera this is probably your best choice. The Sacher, Bristol, Imperial just too expensive for what they offer and the Ring (sister hotel) less attractive. The rooms are spacy and well equipped and there end all the plusses. The breakfast is not up to par served in a room that feels much cheaper when compared with the rest of the public venues of the hotel, now that I mention it there is no decent place to relax or eat a proper meal (equivalent to the hotel's price and status) the service is sloppy or plain bad (it took 40 minutes and several complaints to get a toast at the cafe on the main floor )and there is a general atmosphere of neglect and indifferent attitude towards the customer. Pity because the location and the old Europe style building deserve better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

great lobby-bar, good price for value, met with clients, cosy atmosphere, typical viennese style, excellent price for value, it is actually more comeptitive than most of the other normal average coffee shops in town. Don't get scared away by the luxury and extravagant environment, just go with it, sit back, relax and enjoy your vienna coffee / cake-time. Dress-Code: casual elegant, just wear a long-pants (no hot pants, no short-pants, short arm shirts, but it is airconned anyways).

Try out some hot chocolate and a vienna guggelhupf cake, the hot chocolate actually doesn't come as hot chocolate, this is what you get:

A) a cup of warm milk
B) hot choclate in a small can
C) whipped creme on a separate plate
D) one crostini-cookie (dip it into the hot chocolate afterwards

Advantage: you can measure the amount of chocolate and whipped creme by yourself.

It is just foot-steps from the subway station Karlsplatz (U1,U2, U4), tram D, 1, 2, 61, 71, etc etc etc) and the Grand Hotel Coffee is actually directly connected to the shopping center (Ringstrassen Gallerien).

I didn't stay in their hotel, just came by and visit. If you need free wifi access, just ask the receptionist and each device will get one username and password.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A truly luxurious and beautiful hotel. Vienna is a wonderful city steeped in tradition and breathtaking architecture and this hotel provides a perfect base. The rooms are very comfortable, the service warm, friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is heavenly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear LondonFlyerLondon,

thank you very much for your comment here on the tripadvisor.com website regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.

It is a pleasure to here that you had a nice stay with us. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 140 years, the legendary Grand Hotel Wien has been one of Vienna’s premiere destinations. Situated directly on the Ringstrasse boulevard in the heart of the city, the deluxe five-star hotel offers its guests historic luxury combined with state-of-the-art technology and outstanding service. 205 rooms and suites, four restaurants, two bars, 12 function rooms and the exclusive Grand Spa No605 create the perfect ambience for an unforgettable stay in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Escapio, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.