We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lobby bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 368 hotels in Vienna
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great lobby bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

great lobby-bar, good price for value, met with clients, cosy atmosphere, typical viennese style, excellent price for value, it is actually more comeptitive than most of the other normal average coffee shops in town. Don't get scared away by the luxury and extravagant environment, just go with it, sit back, relax and enjoy your vienna coffee / cake-time. Dress-Code: casual elegant, just wear a long-pants (no hot pants, no short-pants, short arm shirts, but it is airconned anyways).

Try out some hot chocolate and a vienna guggelhupf cake, the hot chocolate actually doesn't come as hot chocolate, this is what you get:

A) a cup of warm milk
B) hot choclate in a small can
C) whipped creme on a separate plate
D) one crostini-cookie (dip it into the hot chocolate afterwards

Advantage: you can measure the amount of chocolate and whipped creme by yourself.

It is just foot-steps from the subway station Karlsplatz (U1,U2, U4), tram D, 1, 2, 61, 71, etc etc etc) and the Grand Hotel Coffee is actually directly connected to the shopping center (Ringstrassen Gallerien).

I didn't stay in their hotel, just came by and visit. If you need free wifi access, just ask the receptionist and each device will get one username and password.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    108
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
84
264
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A truly luxurious and beautiful hotel. Vienna is a wonderful city steeped in tradition and breathtaking architecture and this hotel provides a perfect base. The rooms are very comfortable, the service warm, friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is heavenly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear LondonFlyerLondon,

thank you very much for your comment here on the tripadvisor.com website regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.

It is a pleasure to here that you had a nice stay with us. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and stayed here 07/01/2013 to 11/01/2013 for my birthday and we had an absolutely marvelous stay. It is everything you would expect from a five star hotel.
Every single member of staff is helpful and friendly.
From the moment we stepped out of the taxi upon arrival to the moment we left we felt as if we were valued quests.
We had a standard double room which was elegantly appointed, spotlessly clean and very quiet. The room had plenty of storage space and a safety deposit box (which was free).
The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance of every thing you go to Vienna to see and do. Two minutes to the Stadt Opera, five minutes to the Hofburg and five minutes to the main shopping areas of Karntner Strasse.
If you intend visiting the Belvedere for the Gustav Klimt paintings, rather than walking all the way up Prinz Eugene Strasse, which is a bit grotty, you can enter via Rennweg which is much closer to the hotel.
We will return to Vienna as it is a beautiful city and we will certainly stay at the Grand Wien again.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Urwinrom,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went at grand hotel wien at december , 2010, only for one evening. It is a very nice hotel, at very central point.Our room was big, with a marvelus bathroom . The decoration and the colours at the room are very nice. When we arrived, they gave us another room , but we did not liked and they changed with the new one which was super ! the breakfast was delicious, it has everything! one of the best we have ever eat. The only problem we had was the cold water at the evening. They told us that was a problem for the hole hotel and next day will be o.k.but, next morning we left. Anyway, we want to be back at wien and stay again to grand hotel wien ! when we were leaving, the manager Stepfanie, came oyt ,to our taxi and gave us her card , because she listen that maybe loose our plain because we had to wait 30 minutes for chec out.But she apologized,so everything is o.k.

Room Tip: ask for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Avgerini G ,
thank you very much for your comment you posted on the Tripadvisor website regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities as well our services. I do apologize that we had indeed some issues with our water system that night. We were confident that could solve it within a couple of hours but had to experience that the issue was larger than expected. I am very sorry for that.
We thank you very much for your comments and we are looking forward serving you in the future.
With kindest regards from Vienna ,

Yours respectfully
Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed to Grand Hotel for Christmas for 2 nights.
We have book to LHW and first they gave us a room without to upgrade like usual after propose an other one the same category and not nice at all.After a lot of insistence from my part they gave us a nice room
the location of the hotel it s very good ner Opera in the city center
The breakfast it is very good a lot of choice and also a la carte including steak etc
the house keeping forgot to clean our room
We had a nice stay but not what we awas expecting from a 5 stars hotel in Wien
mm1118

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. mm1118,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. We highly appreciate your comments you have posted on the Tripadvisor website.
We do apologize that we could not fullfill your needs and expectations from the beginning. We are confident that we have found the right measures in order to address to the issues which you have described.

We thank you again for your comments and we would be delighted to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Wien one day in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was a difficult decision to choose hotels in this city. There are at least 5 hotels with character. Finally decided to stay in the Grand hotel and dine at Imperial and have the torte at Sacher. The lobby has the old world charm and service was impeccable. Their special guglhupf cake was one of the items in the buffet breakfast and huge portions were gulped down without any remorse or guilt as this cake is only available there. The location is central and it is the ideal place to stay. The opera house and other attractions are all in walking distance from the hotel. A very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Ajmba,

on behalf of the entire staff we would like to sincere thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.
We appreciate the time you took to write your comments on the Tripadvisor page regarding your stay with us.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful time in Vienna and in our hotel. I will certainly share your comments with our staff which will be be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for your stay with us and we are looking forward to serve you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

From start to finish, this was a truly memorable experience. Although there were minor flaws - the dry-cleaning service was undergoing some technical difficulties, the internet was very slow, and the exchange rates were stressful - the quality, atmosphere, and sevice was perfect for us. We will be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Bellissa,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.Therefore we are taking your comment on the laundry service as well the internet service very seriously.We are sorry that we could not full fill your needs in these areas.I am confident that we have found the right measures to address these issues.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 140 years, the legendary Grand Hotel Wien has been one of Vienna’s premiere destinations. Situated directly on the Ringstrasse boulevard in the heart of the city, the deluxe five-star hotel offers its guests historic luxury combined with state-of-the-art technology and outstanding service. 205 rooms and suites, four restaurants, two bars, 12 function rooms and the exclusive Grand Spa No605 create the perfect ambience for an unforgettable stay in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, Fastbooking and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.