We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 367 hotels in Vienna
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good location, great rooms not modern but nice, good service. Was a nice stay in Vienna, close to the main attractions ( Albertina, Hofburg..)and the shopping area. We enjoyed it and will come again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Xavier B.,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    99
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
238
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

What you get when you buy a quality hotel is quality service and The Grand delivers. The concierge is outstandingly professional, and this is what you pay extra for. We had an overnight stay booked with Leading Hotels and got a reasonable price.

And everything else, location, cleanliness, sleep quality, noiselessness are all as you want them.

The hotel is disabled friendly.

Our one complaint is WIFI is charged, alomst everywhere in Wien has a free service.

Room Tip: Breakfast at Cafe Schwarzenberg is a short 50m walk away and EUR9 well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr Amersham,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
I ensure you that we are taking your comment regarding the free WiFi very seriously. We do offer indeed a free base Wifi in the hotel.We are very sorry if this option had been to slow for your personal needs.We are already trying to develop a faster free based internet for our customers.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahoghill northern ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for six nights at the end of October. Because we booked on line, we has free champagne delivered to our room shortly after arrival. All staff without exception were friendly and helpful. Fine dining restaurant Le Ciel was among the best restaurants we have ever eaten in. The bar in the hotel lobby was cosy and comfortable. Our room was everything we could have wished for. Location was very central to all sights. Everything spotlessly clean. Just loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Nan F. ,

on behalf of the entire staff we I would like to take the liberty to sincere thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.We highly appreciate your positive comments on our product and services.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I kicked off our two week (Vienna, Prague, back to Vienna) 40th birthday/15th anniversary trip at the gorgeous Grand Wien. From the moment we arrived, service was flawless. The lobby's giant chandelier will stop you in your tracks and sets the tone for what will be a luxurious stay. The rooms are large, with increadibly high ceilings, and are beautifully decorated. The bathroom is large, clean and has all the amentities. There are several highly rated restaurants inside the hotel, as well as a shopping galeria that offers clothing, accessories, drugstore, and small grocery. You are also within walking distance of popular shopping squares and the opera house, where a large screen plays the performance going on inside and offers outdoor seating to enjoy the show for free. Of course the experience of staying at the Grand Wien wouldn't be complete without grabbing a window table in the lovely Rosengarten and enjoying a slice of their famous Ring Cake while watching the world go by. This hotel definately contributed to my falling in love with Vienna, I hope it will do the same for you.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. 2bluepoints

I would like to take the liberty to sincere thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your time at our hotel as well the beauty and charme of the city of Vienna.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As you walk through the front door, you already know that the hotel is perfectly located, the staff is friendly, and the hotel is beautifully appointed. As your stay unfolds, you are delighted to learn that the staff is very knowledgeable and service oriented and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Many of the sites you'll want to see are within a 20 minute walk. The bus tour recommended by the Concierge is very good for an overview of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Jim W.,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand hotel Wien.We appreciate your comments as it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great hotel. Excellent location. The room is big enough. The personnel is very polite and professional. There is the swimming pool. You can rent a swimming suit. What I didn't like, that the restaurant was working only until 22.00 p.m. It's not convenient. However, I can definitely recommend to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is elegant and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. Its a block to the Opera and the main walking street down to St. Steven's cathedral. Its another block or so to the Hofburg palace. There is a subway station at the Opera and it takes about 10 min. straight shot on the green line to the Schonbrunn Palace.

Room Tip: Park the car. Everything is accessible by walking Iraq using the subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Doncur

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#21 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 140 years, the legendary Grand Hotel Wien has been one of Vienna’s premiere destinations. Situated directly on the Ringstrasse boulevard in the heart of the city, the deluxe five-star hotel offers its guests historic luxury combined with state-of-the-art technology and outstanding service. 205 rooms and suites, four restaurants, two bars, 12 function rooms and the exclusive Grand Spa No605 create the perfect ambience for an unforgettable stay in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Escapio, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.