We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 368 hotels in Vienna
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is elegant and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. Its a block to the Opera and the main walking street down to St. Steven's cathedral. Its another block or so to the Hofburg palace. There is a subway station at the Opera and it takes about 10 min. straight shot on the green line to the Schonbrunn Palace.

Room Tip: Park the car. Everything is accessible by walking Iraq using the subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Doncur

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    111
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
85
267
32
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is all old world charm and crystal chandeliers..just how we like it. Spacious room..we had a deluxe double which apart from a queen sized bed had a large cabinet housing tea and coffee making facilities, a large desk, an armchair and a sofa. The bathroom had a very large bath with a shower hose beside the bath as well as one overhead for use as a standing shower. The toilet was in a room of its own off the bathroom which we really liked - complete with gold tapped bidet.
As it was our anniversary, my husband had arranged online for roses to be put in the room just before we entered - what a lovely surprise. We did not have a breakfast option but that was no bother as there is a mall complete with supermarket and cafes right through the glass doors next to the lifts. We did have drinks in the lobby cafe which is very elegant..pricey, but it is 5 star so to be expected. We had an evening meal at Le Ciel restaurant on the top floor. We chose one of the degustation menus which had a wine accompanying each course. The food and wines were excellent and the staff were knowledgeable and incredibly pleasant.
WE would definitely recommend this hotel in Vienna for anyone who likes a bit of old world class and does not appreciate minimalist interiors when indulging in a bit of luxury. Staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and helpful. A true 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne_Schwedhelm, Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear fiftieschick57,
we are delighted that you have found your stay our Grand Hotel Wien such a memorable one. We try our utmost to make sure that our guest receive not 5*-but also personal service to make you as comfortable as possible. We very much hope that we will be able to welcome you again as guests in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Susanne Schwedhelm
Revenue Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this is my first review on Grand Hotel Vienna after some stays there, over the last years.
Grand Vienna confrirms its excellent standing , outstanding service and quality of rooms. Prices are not cheap but in line with the offer.
Little remark: the lobby was a bit too noisy, during daytime. Nothing else to add; a true 5 star

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto Area
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Grand Hotel Wien embodies the timeless elegance of Vienna and provides a superior level of client service that is second to none. The hotel is centrally located with easy access to dining and shopping. The front desk staff and concierge are professional, helpful and extremely efficient. The guest rooms are beautifully appointed with lovely bedding, fluffy pillows and spacious bathrooms. There is even a small market on the lower level of an adjacent mall where you can buy fresh breads, meats, cheeses, fruit etc. if you're inclined to pack snacks for the day ahead. The only suggestion I have for management is that if you're providing an e-mail address on the hotel website for enquiries, then the commitment should be made to respond to the enquiries you receive. We emailed twice before our trip to enquire about airport transfers to the hotel and never received a response. Other than this opportunity for improvement, our stay was perfect, we'd highly recommend the hotel to others and will definitely stay again when we return to Vienna. Thank you to the management and staff for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne_Schwedhelm, Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review, we at the Grand Hotel do our utmost to make sure stay was a memorable one and hope to welcome you as our guest again!
Kindest regards,
Susanne Schwedhelm
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is simply one of the top hotels in Vienna. The service is phenomenal, the property striking, and the service fabulous. There aren't too many better locations to be in midtown, close to shopping, dining, and across the street from Stadtpark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear 'PatricSA', thank you so much for your wonderful review, much appreciated! I am delighted to read that you see the Grand Hotel Wien as one of the TOP hotels in Vienna. I deeply appreciate your comments on the service and the hotel in overall and I am looking forward welcoming you again in the very near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dreams can't be sweeter when staying at The Grand Hotel Wien. We arrived in the evening after turn down service and the pile of fluffed pillows with chocolates just hollered my name. The bathroom is luxurious and the closets are the best ever!

The spacious room has a lovely outdoor balcony with seating, but there's an adjacent mall next to the hotel if bad weather keeps you inside. The staff and service found at this hotel couldn't be better. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There's a handy International Pharmacy a couple doors down from the hotel that can handle any me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear 'TOCazzie', thank you so much for your kind review! I must admit until today we never received a review mentioning 'sweet dreams at the Grand Hotel Wien', but I must say, I fully agree with this statement. I am delighted to read that you liked your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien and I am looking forward welcoming you again in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and have to say that this hotel gives you feeling of luxury in the very heart of the Wien city. The room is big, pleasant and clean. Everything's really fine, you feel it in details you see around you. The hotel based about 2 minutes walking distance from Opera (city center) and Kartner street (shopping).
Another plus is price/quality ratio which is very good for such hotel.
I definitely recommend this hotel to stay at.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'Vereshchagin', great review, thank you so much! Happy to read that you see the Grand Hotel Wien as a real premium hotel, we see it the same way and are constantly improving our overall standards. Looking forward welcoming you back in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Family Hotel in Vienna
#17 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 140 years, the legendary Grand Hotel Wien has been one of Vienna’s premiere destinations. Situated directly on the Ringstrasse boulevard in the heart of the city, the deluxe five-star hotel offers its guests historic luxury combined with state-of-the-art technology and outstanding service. 205 rooms and suites, four restaurants, two bars, 12 function rooms and the exclusive Grand Spa No605 create the perfect ambience for an unforgettable stay in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.