We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” to your Saves list
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna A-1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Yerevan, Armenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very good location, helpful staff, clean rooms, nice bar, good breakfast for reasonable price, strong internet connection.
And the best part, you can meet a lot of interesting people from whole over the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    229
    36
    6
    8
See reviews for
27
113
183
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The best hostel in Vienna and I think one of the best in Europe. Near the market, opera, imperial palace, the cathedral and the metro station.
There is a very good bar, the acomodations are very good and breakfast is wonderful.
Excelent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here Mon to Wed when I had a job interview. The hostel is well situated, a mere 10 minutes from Karlsplatz or 200 yards from the UBahn stop putting the Danube, Schonbrunn Castle and Gardens as well as the Stephens Cathedral all within easy reach.
The hostel itself is great with security to floors and your own room and lockers used by a swipe card. The hostel has a lift but it can get busy so I took the steps and it was always quicker. There was the option to have breakfast, which at 3.90 Euros was well worth it. Breakfast was coffee, juice, toast, ham and cheeses, numerous breads, cereal, fruit salad, fresh fruit and all you can eat.
In addition to all of this awesomeness, the staff were brilliant and with free wifi and storage for your bags when checking out really made me want to tell everyone. Don't bother with a hotel, stay here. Save your money and spend it on some great Viennese coffee instead.
Note, I stayed in an ensuite room and the toilet, basin and shower were very modern with fast running water. We even had a hair dryer too!
Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I only stayed here for 2 nights. The hostel is fine. The guy at the front desk was really helpful. The location is pretty good, pretty much across the street from the S bahn. Breakfast is but for 3 euro I cant really complain. Go to the bar, sit, talk to people that's the real benefit at wombats.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in a private double for 5 nights in mid-March. It was a nice room, very high ceilings and the bed was pretty comfy; the ensuite was nice too. Could've done with a Do Not Disturb sign because the cleaners come round at about 11am and we like to sleep in. Breakfast wasn't included in the price but there is a self-service kitchen available. The kitchen was ok but a bit of a mess (probably the fault of other travellers, not the hostel). I'd recommend staying here, even in a dorm room. It's not far from the centre and the market is right opposite, as are many cheap supermarkets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Everything was great, very clean and comfortable, great bar (even though the bar woman wasn't in a good mood). Well located and very good staff! Everything was in very good conditions, the room was really very nice! I would recommend this hostel for a group of friends!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The best hostel I ever stayed at. It's beautiful, fun, clean, new, organized, breakfast is good. close to the subway station. It was a good choice and when I got there I felt surprised. It was much more than I expected.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna A-1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.