We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hostel I have been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” to your Saves list
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna A-1040, Austria (Wieden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Hostel I have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in.
The location is perfect, just a few steps from the tube/metro. The rooms are clean and modern. I felt like i was staying in a Hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful. i was quite impressed really and happy for my choice
If you dont want to waste time looking for a place to have breakfast just pay the 4 euros the hostel ask for it is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    265
    40
    6
    10
See reviews for
32
131
205
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in an all female dorm of four for two nights. The location is great. Can walk to the main attractions or catch the metro which is located opposite the hostel. The facilities were clean. The wireless Internet didn't work in the rooms but there was plenty of space in the lounge to use it. Plenty of information available re sightseeing etc in the lobby (I went to the opera for 4 euro). Friendly hostellers but the staff were a bit indifferent. Breakfast was ok value for money (3.90 buffet) but I'd probably have been happier spending a bit more and getting better quality food at a cafe or bakery. I could store my luggage for the day as well before my night train which was excellent. I'd probably stay here again if I couldn't find anything better in the approximate price range.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Perfect site , in the city center , the Naschmarket ,, lovely stuff ,, ,,, clean rooms ,, great stay in da lobby ,, very good food and breakfast ,, & very nice tour guide Mr Charles .
I strongly reccomend it .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Clean, convenient location, decent rooms. Very hot in the rooms when I was there but Vienna was experiencing quite an unusual heat wave so it wasn't really their fault. For a hostel, I must say I was very satisfied with what I got. Keep up the cleanliness! Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Incredible Hostel, what a place to end my European trip! All of the staff are super nice, helpful, and welcoming. This is an extremely clean, new, secure, and innovative hostel. The bar, cleanliness, and secure halls and rooms make the place all worth the stay! Stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booking - to book hostels is an easy thing and the process is much smoother usually comparing with hotel bookings. This time hostelword did his job well (as always).
In the reception also everything worked fine. Only suggestion is that it would be nice to have registration form on official home page also, so people don't have to stand on reception and fill these forms. May-be this saves time.
Location - from reviews and also as name states it's close to nightmarket and that was fine.I actually walked from Vien Mitte (arriving with S7 from airport) to hostel. It took some time but weather was nice and I could check the surrounding.
Room - I booked Mixed Dorm for 8 but got it with 6 beds what was totally ok. Only downside (and I think it applies to most of hostels) was that morning sun made room quite a hot so I couldn't use even linen.
We also had shower in our room but no towels.
Facilities - you don't expect usually much from hostel but this time we got a voucher from reception what we could redeem for beer in hostel's bar. Nice gesture.
Breakfast/food - there was an option to purchase morning buffee but I couldn't get up right time. If you want to eat for normal price just take a walk away 2 blocks and there is Chinese buffee restaurant Bamboo. During happy hour you'll get all you can eat package for 9 EUR only.
Also just outside the hostel are several Chinese grocery stores.
What more? - I'd suggest to change the carpet in the lobby. It seemed quite a dirty. Or just make a rule not to wear shoes there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Wombats was great! The rooms were so clean and it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The front desk staff was so nice and helpful! We were able to leave our bags in a luggage room as soon as we arrived since it was before check-in. We stayed at the market location and it was perfect! Right next to the Ubahn. The market was fun too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna A-1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.