We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” to your Saves list
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna A-1040, Austria (Wieden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, safe, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The place was clean, safe, fun, and so friendly! I made friends with the people who worked there, found lots of individual travellers like me at the bar downstairs, and slept like a baby in the comfortable bunk beds! The people were kind, considerate, and generous. There's really nothing more to say other than I had the best time ever spent in a hostel there, and the next time I go to Vienna, I am staying there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    265
    40
    6
    10
See reviews for
32
131
205
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spent one night here with my husband and 4 older kids (18-22) This worked out great. We had our own room, 3 bunk beds, with our own bathroom. The hostel is right on the bus line as well as 2 blocks from the train station. The hostel has a wonderful bar in the basement, able to get a couple of loads of laundry done as well. Able to print off boarding passes for train and plains for free. The staff was extremely helpful in giving advice on where to go for the day. I was really impressed. We had stayed at the Wombats in Munich as well. Family thought that this one was much nicer. Though I felt that both worked out well for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hostel was friendly, clean, quiet, great all you can eat breakfast selection, free walking tour of the city, very good location- and all for just 20 Euros a night. Would definitely recommend it. I went with 2 friends, we had a room with two bunk beds in it - it was very spacious. The bathroom was also adequate with a very powerful shower. If you are looking for a cheap, friendly hostel, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great hostel, great staff, great lounge, great bar, great bedrooms and bathrooms. The only thing missing was a place to eat or maybe a kitchen. They have elevators, umbrellas to rent (it's was raining when I was there) and the towels and sheets are free. The internet was great but it only works in the lounge. The staff was really helpfull!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had the best student break here last february !
I can't even find anything bad to say...
Every single person working there was kind and available, the entire hostel was really clean and breakfast délictueux !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 4 nights in February with 5 friends, the rooms are basic, but clean and spacious. Our room overlooked the street with nice views of the Naschtmarkt, and the bathrooms also basic but small so could be an issue if not sharing with friends. The breakfast is good, and the bar on the ground floor is fun and relatively cheap with a good atmosphere, friendly bar staff and other visitors. The location is fantastic, by a great market, near the Secession building and close to two central tube stations so ideal. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in July 2012; shared the room 5 other people. The room was average. Toilets were clean. The hostel was clean enough. Wifi was only provided in the lobby. It's sometimes difficult to find a place there. The breakfast was quite good but you need to pay around 4 Euro. The location is really good - 2 min walking distance from U4 stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna A-1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.