We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an extensive menu but great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Das Heinz

Das Heinz
Rudolfsplatz 12, Vienna 1010, Austria
+43 (1) 5320378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 2,863 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not an extensive menu but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wasn't sure whether to eat here as just a couple of doors away from our hotel (K&K Palais) but was not at all disappointed. The menu is fairly restricted but the food was great and would definitely recommend. Good service and good value for money too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    53
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We went for an evening meal at daz Heinz in February. We didn't have to book a table, and was warmly welcomed into the chic and romantic restaurant, by a very polite and informative waitress who spoke in English and was very happy to help us in our choices. There was a limited menu, however i don't feel it made the experience any less enjoyable, as dishes ranged from vegetarian, Viennise and traditional American cuisine and we're cooked to.perfection! There was wine, cheese and coffee for afters not.to.mention.pancakes and.chocolate mousse for the sweet tooth! A very reasonably priced.menu and we thoroughly enjoyed.out.meal. Would.recommend.to.anyone.looking to enjoy.a.chic meal out with perhaps a smaller.budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Viennese restaurants and coffee houses have worked for centuries to earn a reputation of grumpy waiters and negligent service. Das Heinz is pleasantly different. Service is very friendly and attentive, food is good and reasonably priced, and we especially liked the laid-back atmosphere.

The lunch menu is very much recommended, not only for the quality and the price, but also for the speed with which it arrives.
Looking forward to come back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Nice experience BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I had a late lunch here. The restaurant is very pleasant and service was nice. The prices are very reasonable. The beef tartar (starter) was very tasty. The mains - chicken stripes on salad and chicken breast on mushroom risotto was nice but both meats were over done and dried out. Dessert was nice, espresso was not good. Overall not a bad experience with high potential. Will come again for another try. Maybe just a bad day :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just had great authentic meal , lovely surroundings, charming staff, and next door to hotel k&k palais. After a long day travelling , what more could we want?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Heinz also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Das Heinz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Heinz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.