We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Meal with wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Borgo

Al Borgo
An Der Hulben 1, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
+43 1 5128559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,875 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $12 - $61
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Description: We are located in the first district of Vienna between St. Stephen's Cathedral and the city park. Our chef and his team prepare with passion and craftsmanship delicious Italian specialties. The fresh preparation of food is for us a matter of course, as well as a changing menu. Whether the evening by candlelight or sunlight during the day, we pay attention to your culinary convenience six days a week. In this special atmosphere, we complete comfort and modernity. All friends of Italian cuisine are well received at The Ristorante "Al Borgo".
langhorne, pa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Italian Meal with wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

You know you'll have a good meal when the restaurant is not filled with tourists. Al Bargo was about 50/50 the evening we were there. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Most importantly, the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend this restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    77
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Grazie Al Borgo - see you again soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

On my recent trip to Vienna I was recommended to go to this restaurant. So I did! I took a friend of mine from Switzerland (originally Italian) and we were excited. Service was very attentive. My friend ordered a dry red wine and I probably got the best Aperol Spritz I ever had. Temperatures for both drinks were perfect and as we visited Vienna during a boiling hot time, I was happy to get drinks and some additional water perfectly on time. As a starter we had a tuna carpaccio and Spaghetti Mare. It was delicious. As for the main course we both had a fillet of beef with truffle sauce - medium as we wanted it. The salad was very fresh, the potatoes cooked right on spot.
I can only recommend this restaurant. I envy all locals to have this restaurant close by. If you feel like going to Italy - go there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thank you very much for this wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and decided to go follow the good reviews and reserve a dinner for our family. Our waiter was acting too popular but we decided to go with it and laugh about it. After a while it became annoying and when trying to have a nice conversation we were distracted with the waiter trying to make jokes and get the attention of our table.
As suggestion the waiter proposed to do a mixed plate with antipasti to start and after that we could have our main course from the menu. The charge for the antipasti was outrageous. We paid 50 euro's for 5p. for a bit of salami, mozarrella and tomatoes. The pasta's we ordered as a main course were alright but lacked taste. The selection of wines is good but expensive so what we expected to be a reasonably priced dinner became overly expensive. We did get a digestive from the house but this felt more like a present we paid ourselves. I would not recommend this place as previous reviewers have done. We felt ripped off at the end of the night and played for a fool because we were tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We regret this incident and will discuss the case with our staff so that does not happen again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Felt like family at this wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our last night in Vienna (family of 5, we were with our adult children) we debated about which restaurant to have dinner before heading home the next day. This was the perfect choice. An easy walk from the Marriott, we arrived early...about 6pm on a Saturday. No one was there. We were the first seated and were offered a table outside which we were told was booked for 8pm, or we could have a table inside for as long as we wanted. We chose inside and noticed that all the tables had reserved signs on them. The restaurant quickly filled within the hour. We were lucky to get a table.
Our waiter was friendly and quickly learned we were there for a good time and that we were easy going people. He was personable and fun and made the evening even more enjoyable. Not sure what we wanted for an appetizer, he offered to make and antipasti and we said sure, why not. Wow, good choice. He assisted with meal choices and all his suggestions were excellent. My husband ordered gazpacho. The "boss" came over, very apologetically, and let him know that after tasting the soup, it was not to his liking and he was not serving it. That's a first. My husband made a second choice and was very happy. We all enjoyed our choices for meals. There were several interesting choices for dessert, so we picked five different ones. All were great. Our waiter come over and asked if we wanted an after dinner drink. Since we were having so much fun,
(we only had one bottle of wine for 5 people) and didn't say no fast or loud enough, he came back with a shot glass for each of us, and one for himself!! A toast to the travelers and a wonderful meal. No idea if it was on the bill and I really don't care because it was just plain fun. My husband wanted to speak with the "boss" and let him know what a wonderful evening we had, so the "boss" Carlo came to the table. He is as much fun as the waiter!! Before leaving he pulled out his private bottle and we all toasted to a wonderful evening. Hugs and kisses all around as we left. It was a perfect ending to a wonderful family trip. Thank you Carlo and all your team for a memorable evening. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Amy,

thank you very much for your 5star review at TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to host you and your family. We are always happy when we can see smiling faces, who spent a good time in our restaurant. Of course our team is not complete without the kitchen staff, who try always to make delicious Italian food in Vienna. We showed them your email and everybody was happy and thankful - Kind regards, Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Al Borgo - Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I dined at Al Borgo in June after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The food was excellent, fresh, excellently prepared and beautifully presented. As I told the owner, the meal rivaled any meal that we had in Italy. We were treated by the owner and staff as if we were returning patrons and I cannot say enough about how relaxing the atmosphere was. We highly recommend Al Borgo - you will not be disappointed.

Roberta from Marlboro, NJ

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Roberta, it was a pleasure to host you! kind regards Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Borgo also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Al Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.