We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy design hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Save Saved
You added Hotel Das Triest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Das Triest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 370 hotels in Vienna
Brussels
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very cosy design hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Das Triest is a beautiful, well maintained design hotel in the center of Vienna. Furniture, atmosphere, location, everything was perfect. There is a nice interior garden, a gorgeous fireplace and a comfortable bar.
Walking distance for everything in town.
We loved our stay there.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    122
    41
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
116
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

From the check-in onwards this hotel did not cease to please with great service and attention to detail. Located centrally, though the facade does not boast of the facilities inside, the hotel has services kitted out to family and business travelers as well. The breakfast was better than average for a hotel in Europe, especically for the location and price fo hotels in the immediate area. The room itself was large with a separate sitting area and large clean bathroom. The bed and internet facilities were great and room service was good too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Loved staying at this stylish and beautifully designed hotel. Great design touches from public to private spaces right down to the in-room flatscreen Mac for tv, music & Internet.
I enjoyed my breakfasts in a lovely restaurant opening into a green central courtyard. Staff were very kind and helpful bringing me hot water when I unfortunately got laryngitis in my time in Vienna. Would stay at Das Triest again if ever lucky enough to be in Vienna:)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My three night stay at Das Triest may have included a coincidental series of foul-ups or it's allways like that. The design and decor are modern mixed with existing retro style. AS there was no trolley of porter when I arrived I needed 2 trips to my room. I travel with 3 bags. The first night no sleep due to the noisy trams outside my 2nd floor room. At breakfast a particularly loud, affluent looking elderly woman was holding court with her business partners which attacked the morning serenity of all patrons which could have been the reason the staff were so grumpy. Thoughts of a soothing nightcap at the famous bar wasn't to be as my order and other patrons orders were an interruption to the famous barmans phone conversation with i don't know who. Pity them too as they were continually put on hold to make martinis'. The wonderful idea of all rooms having iMacs for TV, Inernet and tunes is great, however, mine repeatedly woke from sleep filling the room with californian sunshine. The negatives continue until check-out when I was waiting with a frightened elderly gentleman being harangued by rude, non-caring desk staff. His credit card was one day out of date, they offered no help nor suggestions just insane arrogance. It's a so so serious hotel with so so serious and grumpy staff. But it looks good and its in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Great stay. Nice locations next to fischmarkt and walkable to central sights. Also close to public transport.

Good service at the hotel. Rooms were spacious and nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Das Trieste hotel for 2 nights for a weekend break, trigged by the fact that it is called a "design" hotel (also backed up by the nice web site).

The rooms are big and the beds are good, however, it is nothing more than a plain, clean, modern hotel. Not a funky design hotel! That the bathroom is big does not compensate for a air condition that turns itself off constantly!

Having high expectations to the breakfast, we were disappointed again. The champagne was there, but the selection of food was plain and dull. The big outside sitting area was nice, though.

The hotel is very central, and great for getting around quickly, with both tram and subway close by. And you easily walk to the city center. However, if your plan is to indulge yourself at a nice 5* hotel, you can do far better....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed at the Das Trieste hotel for 4 nights on a whistle stop tour of Hungary, Austria and Slovakia. We we on a budget and would certainly have not chosen this hotel ourselves as we normally stay 3* or cheaper, but our travel agent got us such a good deal to stay here that it was too good to miss.

The website looked amazing but in reality the hotel did not give the same impression. Indeed, it was much more plush than our usual choice of hotel, but it did not live up to some expectations of a 5* hotel. The staff were helpful but were not particularly friendly, and most wore trainers which gave a very casual impression.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable but we asked to be moved as the windows were at least half a foot above my head. Now I know I am quite short at 5"2' but even when I stood on tiptoes I couldn't see out of the windows, only when stood on a chair. We asked to be moved room and after some discussion with the manager we were moved to the same room on the floor below which was much nicer with full length windows.

The plus points to this hotel were the very comfortable beds, free internet, very spacious bathroom complete with dressing gowns and slippers, and champagne at breakfast. The negatives were the very expensive restaurant and bar, staff who looked peeved to be there and air conditioning that cuts off every hour and you have to switch it back on again.

For our needs this hotel met and exceeded our requirements, is based in a good location with the city centre only a 10 min walk away and the underground station even closer. I don't think we would stay here again, but then I don't think we would be able to afford another 5* hotel again unless a travel agent worked another miracle with the cost!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#54 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Das Triest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.