We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance and style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Das Triest to your Saves list
Hotel Das Triest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

On business trip for 3 days in Vienna. Hotel service was very good, breakfast buffet was tasty standard European type (cold cuts etc). Small but friendly bar.

Upgraded to corner junior suite on 5th floor which was great size. Bathroom also a good size though only the hand shower worked (fixed was broken for some time). Like the Moulton Brown shampoo etc.

All in all good stay and recommend for your trip to Vienna.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    133
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
40
145
33
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for three nights in this hotel, and found the rooms clean, comfortable and above all quiet. The staff in the hotel were all very helpful and pleasant. The location of the hotel is quite central too - easy to walk into the old town.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Majority of the reviews in my opinion are spot on. Location is great with a wonderful tapas bar around the corner.
My two issues are that the bar is disappointingly small with no atmosphere and do not book if you need a twin instead of a standard double. They don't do them. We booked through British Airways so it may be an issue with their site but it was a bit of a shock.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great option for a reasonably-priced, 'full service' hotel in a very good location - slightly away from the 'main' tourist area. For room quality and overall service it's above average and very good value. Rooms aren't very large, but sufficient and nicely appointed with spacious, nice bathrooms. It has an excellent restaurant onsite and very cool little 'cocktail' bar. It's also in the middle of a sort of 'hip' area with cool shops, cafes and also close walk to some other cool areas. 1 metro stop from St. Stephensplatz and short walk to Klimt/Secession museum. A frequent visitor to Vienna, the reason I tried this is the rate was reasonable on last minute (many of the larger, more 'known' hotels can get quite pricey). Bottom line: I'd recommend this hotel - especially for 'value' and if you want to get to know Vienna more than just the 'major' sites.

Room Tip: higher is better and not facing street if possible - tram can be a bit noisey if you're low and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chailey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you first pull up outside you could be deceived into thinking you have made a mistake booking this hotel. From the moment you walk into the lobby you are starting to change your mind. Front desk staff polite and efficient. Stone staircase makes an alternative to the lift, although a little noisy if you have heels on. Room clean, air conditioning affective, although we were lucky to be overlooking the courtyard so had the option of opening our windows, which we did. Bathroom clean. Breakfast was very nice, plenty of choices in all that they serve. Bar small but with good atmosphere. Apple Mac in each room which also doubles as a TV. All attractions just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room, although this may be different in the summer as it is obviously used for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a weekend here with our baby son. We had a quiet room facing the courtyard with a little terrace. The hotel provided a crib and everything worked well from a baby perspective.

The hotel has an art deco feel with a stylish welcoming lobby behind an unassuming facade. The breakfast buffet is generous and the staff are helpful and friendly.
Each room has an Apple iMac which is useful and the wifi service is reliable and fast.
The only slight downside to the hotel is the location just on the edge of the central district. It's an easy enough 15 min walk to museums but they are not right on the doorstep either.
Overall, a good experience and very good value for money.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Very friendly hotel within walking distance to attractions such as the Naschmarkt, Opera, Museum Quarter etc - Vienna is a lovely city to stroll around. Stayed for 4 nights on a BA holiday - proved to be a good decision. Loved the design of the place - would be nice to use the courtyard area in the summer. The room was clean and comfortable - huge bed! Staff friendly and welcoming. Breakfast delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Patriciasalisbury!
Many thanks for your feedback, which gives us an insight of your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location, which is placed close by the center and other impressive places. Furthermore we highly appreciate your kind words referring our sense of design. We are always trying to fulfill the high standards a design hotel must offer and at the same time offering a unique and remarkable special of our own. We would be grateful to welcome you again soon. Maybe in summer in our wonderful courtyard area, where you even can enjoy breakfast when the weather is nice and sunny.

Kindest regards
Jasmin Abdalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Vienna
#61 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#66 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#70 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Escapio, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Das Triest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.