We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Das Triest to your Saves list
Hotel Das Triest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria (Wieden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very convenient Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

It was a good choice for our 6 days stay. Room is clean. Breakfast is perfect. Staff are helpful and polite. Location is short walk to underground. 15-20 minutes walk to Opera and main shopping place.

When we checked-in they gave us a room in fifth floor where windows are at high level & we couldn't see the street unless you stand on a chair !!! After short talk with reception, they moved us to another room in 1st floor. In general, it was a great choice and would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Victors_10!
We feel very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our service and the way our team treated you.
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Reservations & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    151
    43
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
167
36
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have visited Das Triest in Vienna for a total of 6 nights mid June! We have enjoyed it thoroughly! We got a great and spacious room assigned to us and we loved it! We appreciated the comfort and as an extra perk, the Apple TV!! Michael at the front desk was so so helpful and accommodating! The location was great too! Just 3 mins from Karlz Platz, 4 minutes walk to the ring and 10 mins walk from Vienna's State Opera!
Das Triest is a Hotel part of the Design Hotels in Europe. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear stavroskissong!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Reservations & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed 3 days+nights in this stylish hotel on a main road. Spacious, comfortable, clean & quiet room (on the inner ward) with free wifi. Nice inner garden. Good breakfast buffet, as well as good in-house restaurant. Excellent location, on walking distance from the main pedestrian mall Kärntner and many of the city center sights. All modes of public transport; metro, tram & bus, close and reachable on foot. Public network across Wien is splendid (recommend to use the 72hrs Vienna card: cheap&user-friendly). Market area (Naschmarkt) almost round the corner. Most helpful and service-minded personnel. Recommend the hotel warmly.

Room Tip: *Windows towards the inner ward > no traffic noice even windows open. *Some rooms located 'b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Marita R!
Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city.
We feel very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our service and the way our team treated you.
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Reservations & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A great stylish and enjoyable hotel right in the center of Vienna. I was here for only 36 hours, but it was fantastic. The Silver Bar has the towns best bartender and is definitely worth a stop. A quick and easy service. Always fresh water available. Free wifi throughout the hotel and no login hassle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabi_Rosner, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Maximevm,

thanks for taking time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.

I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.

Please feel free contacting me personally at any time, so I can take care on your reservations.

Best regards,

Nina Wolfram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murren, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

this hotel is one of the designer offers around europe. it is a very short walk from Karl Platz so whilst not in the city centre it is ideal for all transport and walking to many of the sights. the rooms are spacious and comfortable. free wifi and very good breakfast. the service at breakfast was variable with tea and coffee order often confused. not helped by the huge choice of coffee and teas. but this was a small point in what was a very good experience.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabi_Rosner, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear weemacs,

thanks for taking time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will forward your comment concerning the breakfast confusions to our F& B Manager to take appropriate action.

We hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again. Please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservation.

Best regards,
Nina Wolfram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This sleek hotel lies in Vienna's 4th district, where real people live, but still close enough to walk it ride the tram to the Opernring, or the Naschmarkt. Our room was semi-stifling, and opening the windows brought a lot of street noise (a/c not on quite yet). Wonderful breakfast buffet. Collio, the in-house restaurant, relatively reasonable and quite good. All kinds of transportation, shops, and small restos within a short walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabi_Rosner, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Olliedawg!

Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city.
Further we are very grateful that you have taken time to share your experiences with us.
We are very sorry that the noise was irritating you, the next time we are going to have the air-condition working, this has already been forwarded to our maintenance team!

On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel Das Triest I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel we ordered on the recommendation of our travel agent after careful examination of the other hotels in TripAdvisor web site. The result was excellent. The hotel is not big approximately 75 rooms, within 15 minutes walking distance to/from the Opera building, we stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. Excellent breakfasts, rooms clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabi_Rosner, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Nili B.,

we are more than happy that your have enjoyed your time with us and we could fulfill all your expectations.
Further we are very grateful that you have taken time to share your experiences with us.
I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again.
Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#55 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Das Triest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.