We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel near the opera” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Suzanne to your Saves list
Pension Suzanne
Walfischgasse 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel near the opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Pension Suzanne on a visit to attend operas and the ballet at the Vienna Opera House. It was perfect for that. It was close and comfortable, good value with good breakfasts included. It was good to have a kitchen. Even the large rooms are fairly small but understandable for the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very positive and friendly review at tripadvisor.
We are very happy, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved our Location, our breakfast and the Price value.Your double room, appartment type had a size of 34m2 and this is for an european City Hotel a large size. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    218
    39
    10
    1
See reviews for
129
240
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

You cannot ask for a better location than this Pension. It is the second time we've stayed here, 1/2 a block from the Opera House, and very close to the pedestrian shopping streets. Don't expect a hotel type situation with a lobby. You have a decent room, functional bathroom, good breakfast, and Vienna is at your doorstop. The owners are very nice. The price is cheap.

Room Tip: If you buy # euro standing room opera tickets, when the doors open, make sure you go up to the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for telling us that you were so happy with our Hotel especially with our Location, your room, our breakfast and the friendliness of the whole staff.
Nice, that you stayed in the meantime twice with us and hope to welcome you again.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Pension Suzanne in May of 2014 while visiting Vienna. It is located half a block from the Opera and one and a half blocks from the Karlsplatz subway station. The location was perfect for us. We enjoyed the daily breakfasts and the pleasant conversations during that meal with other guests. The location allowed us to quickly catch public transportation, buses, trams, or subway, and to walk to many of the attractions in Vienna. I would stay there, again, when visiting Vienna.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking a back parking lot. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very positive Feedback about our Hotel. It is so nice to read that you were so happy with our Location, your room, our breakfast where you had a lot of fun and met many other friendly and polite People. Hope to welcome you again.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I doubt you'll find a pension that's better located for the price in central Vienna. 1/2 block from the Opera and Karlsplatz transportation. Hosts were very helpful and breakfast was typical fare where you'll have a chance to meet other guests. The pension itself seems to be a series of rooms in two adjoining apartment buildings. Our room was an old single room apartment, complete with "bed/living room", small kitchen, foyer and separate bath and shower rooms, which could have been closets at one time. Who knows. Very quiet once the Opera stops their outdoor broadcasts (yes you're that close). Bed was very comfortable. We'd put this at the top of our list heading back to Vienna. 4 stars only due to the nature of the building itself, which is a little off-putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your very good comment on tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to learn, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved your quiet room, our breakfast and our Location. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just back from 4 day visit to Vienna. Pension Suzanne is in excellent location within a 2 min walk of Opera House and 6/7 min walk of Stephensplaz. Very safe area, very comfortable strolling around at 10.30/11pm. Lovely breakfast, very helpful staff - facilitated printing of boarding passes, provided umbrellas. Large rooms with kitchenette, all very clean. Our only gripe is that there are carpets everywhere. I did see a timber floor in some visitors photos so perhaps they are gradually changing over from carpet to timber flooring which would be a very positive move.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of premises if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind Feedback at Tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you were so satisfied with our Location, our breakfast, the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna - please let us know in advance that you prefer a room with carpets (most of our guests prefer carpets).
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just returned from our stay in Vienna and Pension Suzanne. It worked out perfectly for us - the staff was very helpful, our room good sized with a large bathroom area, an elevator, and good breakfasts. It is easy walking distance to all the sights in the old town - just around the corner from the Opera House, a 10-minute walk to St. Stephen's Cathedral, and ATMS nearby. We picked up a rental car on our way out of Vienna and the rental agency was 5 minutes away. A perfect stay in a most beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to send such a phantastic Report to Tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you were so satisfied with our Location, your room, our breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Laurent de Ceris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Incredible value for a spot so close to the opera. Very nice friendly management. Plan on a third stay there next year. We nearly always follow Rick Steves' recommendations and haven't been disappointed yet. Just a reminder that they like to be paid in cash.

Room Tip: The apartment in the annex is our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your very possitive comment at Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you were so satisfied with our staff and our price value. Thank you for booking with us next year again.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#39 Family Hotel in Vienna
#49 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Suzanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.