We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Secession Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Secession Wien to your Saves list
Mercure Secession Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Sale
Ranked #160 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed there several times. The location is great. All the sights within 10-15 min walk. U-Bahn, cafes, restaurants, the Nashmarkt market, grocery, a wine store - 5 min down the street. The reception staff was always very helpful, although had to wait a couple of times. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxapmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear client,
thank you for writing your experience regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Budapest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've stayed several times at the Mercure Secession, because I love visiting the Japanese stores and restaurants in the Naschmarkt area. However, I think my most recent visit was the last one.

The reason I will explore other hotels in the neighborhood is that the service and room quality at the Secession is extremely uneven. To start with, their "Standard double" room is anything but standard. Using this same label I've been put into tiny little rooms with barely any sunlight penetrating the windows all the way to luxurious rooms with a beautiful view. Of course there is going to be some variation in an old building such as this, but at the very least they should place the pictures for the smallest possible room that you may get. In actuality all pictures on the website and next to the hotel entrance are showing the biggest "standard double" room that I've been put in. A better solution would be to make these rooms into different price tiers, so customers can know what they are getting in advance.

The staff is similarly variable, some of them are kind, helpful, knowledgeable and speak great English, while others are the exact opposite.

Free wifi is included with the rooms, but this also comes with a huge caveat. There is no wifi reception in many of the rooms, and even if there is reception, many devices cannot connect to the Hotel wifi (I'm not sure why, I've never seen this problem with other wifi hotspots). Also, you need to go through a log-in page to use the wifi, using a code provided at the reception. The log-in expires after 5 minutes of inactivity, so each time you pull out your phone, you will have to log-in again. Also, due to this time-out, push-based services such as iMessage, Skype, etc. do not work on the Hotel wifi unless you are actively browsing the net when a message arrives.

If you are particularly lucky, your room is covered by one of the neighboring free wifi spots that work a lot better than the Hotel's antiquated service.

The hotel shows many other small signs of management failure as well, for example during our last visit, out of the 3 elevators (2 service + 1 guest) only one (a service elevator) was running. One other time they first forgot to provide the requested baby cot, then provided one that was broken, but eventually they came up with a working one after some investigation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerecsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences described.
Your comments are highly valuable to us to constantly improve the quality of our service.
Please be assured, that an excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was in Vienna on work, and asked for a quiet room, and was given a single with a bed almost as narrow as a cot -- but the next morning when I asked whether they might have something larger, I was pleasantly surprised when I was given a corner room (almost a suite) overlooking beautiful sights of this culture-rich city.
Breakfast was very nice, and cozy. I liked the touches in this hotel, including the fact that there was downstairs outdoor seating in a courtyard. Agree the wifi could have been better.
Staff were terrific, from giving directions, to storing luggage. I highly recommend this hotel as it's within walking distance of ALL the main monuments, museums, and very easy to reach from the Airport. Just take the CAT and then the U4 from he central station. I would return again.

Room Tip: I had a corner room (330) on the 3rd floor and it was heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The front desk staff was #1, extremely helpful. The location was great...market just down the street...walk the other way and in 5mins. You're at the museum quarter and up the street is shopping and food.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
many thanks for posting your feed back after staying in our hotel.
Your comments are very helpful to improof our services and to learn more about our guest wishes.
It has been a pleasure to me to forward your comment to my staff. I am sure it will motivate them to go on hosting our guests with heart and professionalism.
We hope you had a nice trip home and we would be pleased to welcoming you again.
Best regards from Vienna
Elisabeth Dissauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Traveled as a family and we all found the hotel very good with excellent location. I am very thankful to all the staff as they make your holiday complete. We had a clean room with a comfortable bathroom (love the towels) and most important a very good A/C as it was very hot during our stay. They also have good brekfast. I recommend this hotel and look forward for my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
many thanks for spending time on posting your comment. I am very happy to forward your feed back to my staff, it will encourage them to you on hosting our guest even more motivated.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
best regards,
Elisabeth Dissauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Plus: Location (just next to Naschmarkt and Karlsplatz). Room size.

Lows: Bad Wifi. Breakfast room way too small.

There are better accor hotels for business travelling in Vienna like the Hotel Am Konzerthaus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences described.
Please be assured, that an excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien
Mercure Josefshof Wien
#138 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#128 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#200 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#73 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#108 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing