We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and practical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis budget Wien Messe

Save Saved
You added ibis budget Wien Messe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ibis budget Wien Messe
Lasallestr. 7a, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #108 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“comfortable and practical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found this hotel to be perfect for a short break in Vienna. The room was basic and comfortable, no frills but as we were only there to sleep, shower, get changed etc then why spend more for a room you aren't going to use. Initially we accidentally went to the Ibis hotel only to be told (by a quite snooty lady) we were in the wrong hotel, we needed the one a bit further down the road. We then arrived at Ibis budget and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ibis Budget Wien messe Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your stay at Ibis Budget Wien Messe.
We are sorry that the performance did not meet your expectations, and we would like to offer our sincerest apology.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays and your opinion is very important to us.

The necessary measures are being taken to bring hotel performance to the level of quality defined in our Quality Charter.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards,
Hatem HAMDI
General Manager
Ibis Budget Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    388
    135
    21
    8
See reviews for
113
319
124
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Extremely pleased with your stay in this hotel - especially with the special room for reduced mobility people. Too bad our daughter will soon turn 12, so we won't be able to accommodate in only one room any more...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ibis Budget Wien Messe Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Ibis Budget Wien Messe.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hatem HAMDI

General Manager

Ibis Budget Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rooms have all your basic needs and location is a walking distance to the metro stops and station. Staff was helpful in guiding with any questions I had. This is defiantly one of the best options to choose from if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ibis Budget Wien Messe Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Ibis Budget Wien Messe.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hatem HAMDI

General Manager

Ibis Budget Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Bees, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is located in a tall square office/residential block with a central garden courtyard. The Ibis Budget occupies floors from the middle of the front around one side, the Ibis from the middle around the other side with residential flats at the back of the block. The ground and lower floors include retail and offices spaces, including the offices of the software company SAP along the side of the building. As the Ibis signs can be difficult for pedestrians to see from some angles, the SAP sign can be useful to identify the building if walking from the nearest U-Bahn. The hotel was an Etap hotel and still marked as such on Google maps, although the hotel has the new branding everywhere. I reported the name change via the Google maps website and a week later this was successfully updated to the new Ibis Budget brand.

The reception had English speaking receptionists and is manned 24 hours a day.

My room cost about 45 Euro per night over the 10 days I stayed (an online booked and paid in advance rate). The room was simple and minimalist in design but was quite large considering it budget price. It had a bed, shower, wash basin, flat screen TV and two desks with chairs (one white plastic attached to the wash basin unit and one wooden against the wall desk) in the open space and an en-suite toilet in the corner within a small room. The floor was covered in a wall to wall plastic material (in the UK we call this "lino"), it had a printed pattern of wooden boards near the bed making it look like a modern wooden floor and a generic green pattern near the washing facilities. The lino must have been laid on a soft under layer as it had a slight but noticeable spring that made it comfortable to walk on, even, in bear feet, and being a plastic coating it is very easy to keep well cleaned. The walls were painted green up to waist height and above a short wooden panel white. The wooden panel included small down lighting allowing you to walk to the toilet without switching on the main lights during the night (and potentially waking a sleeping companion). The room had an efficient air conditioner / heater that was very quiet. There was a small rail in the wall, opposite a full length mirror, that had several hangers for clothes. The bed mattress was soft and only about 6" thick but on a hard wooden chipboard base, this was very comfortable (I have a bad back and often find hotel beds either lack support or are too hard, but this combination was perfect for me). The pillows, sheets and duvet were similarly thin, but in the warm room this was perfect for me. The window was one of the tilting variety that can only be opened about 8" at the top but incorporated an integrated blind that could be open, a third open or closed. The main light and wall down-lighters can be controlled from glass touch panels at the head of the bed that incorporate reading lights. The chairs were squarish plastic boxes that were remarkable stable with flat tops, although they had no back support, when I put them side to side they were perfect for putting my suitcase on top of. Sorry to go on and on about the design of the room, but the person or team who designed this must have spent a lot of time and effort putting together this room's simple, innovative and elegant but feature packed design perfect for travelers and yet easy for staff to keep clean.

The internet at the hotel is free and quite fast. I did not try streaming video, but email, web browsing and accessing my organization's citrix based applications all worked quickly.

To summarize, my first impressions of the room were clean, well maintained, minimalist and functional. On closer inspection there were some slight signs of wear on the walls, floor and furniture but all very minor. The shower and wash basin in the room did lead to a very slight damp/musty smell in the room on some days (this may have been because of the hot and humid weather) but opening the window improved this considerably.

The room was cleaned daily; the used towels removed and clean ones provided, the bin emptied and the disposable plastic glasses and small soaps restocked. The cleaning of the room was excellent and, towels and bedding well laundered. My room looked out onto the quiet central garden courtyard of the block, but apart from rush hour the surrounding roads are reasonably quiet and almost silent at night considering you are in a city.

The hotel has limited food options, there is a breakfast buffet in the morning for 6 Euros or vending machines within the hotel. I did not try these so can't comment. However there are several nearby cafes and restaurants, including a restaurant at the next door Ibis, a local supermarket (SPAR) 200m away (towards the river and 1 block from the main road/Vorgartenstrasse U-Bahn station) or you can be in the centre of the city at a restaurant in 25 minutes by U-Bahn.

As to location, the hotel is on the northern edge of the city, but public transport can quickly get you into the city. It is built on a relatively new development near the river, and the remaining building works evidenced by several cranes are well away from the hotel. I heard no noise from the building works during my stay. For visitors to the UN/IAEA building it is only 5 minutes by U-Bahn or a 30 minutes walk mostly across the bridge that goes over the river and the large island park at its centre. This park can be accessed from the walkway or the U-Bahn station under the bridge.

The Viennese U-Bahn (underground electric railway) is fast and frequent. The nearest U-Bahn is Vorgartenstrasse about 200m to the NE of the hotel that is part of the U1 line that can take you directly through the centre of the city (south) or out to the IAEA/Danube (north). The next nearest U-Bahn is Praterstern Bahnhof about 500m SW of the hotel and is on the U1 and U2 lines. Note that the Praterstern U-Bahn nearest the hotel is the U1 platform with the U2 platform being several hundred meters further on. The U2 takes you around the west side of the city. There are a wide range of U-Bahn tickets available either for single trips or covering travel on the system for one or more days, choosing the best option is complex, although the tickets are quite cheap compared to other European cities, but remember to validate (stamp them in one of the ticket stamping machines at every station barrier) before use. The U1 connects at Schwedenplatz with the U4 line that takes you to the eastern side of the city or to the Wien Mitte/Landstrasse station where you can get a S-Bahn stopping train (cheap and slower marked S7) or express City Air Train[CAT] train (more expensive but faster) to the airport.

So to conclude the hotel is cheap and, although basic, in a good location and a nice place to stay. It would suit many business travelers and tourists visiting the city.
-------------------------------
Extended digression on getting to and from the airport. When buying a ticket to the airport at Wien Mitte note that the cheaper S-Bahn, S7, ticket is only available from the red machines in the central passageway into the mall or usually crowded ticket office (and not the ones selling U-Bahn tickets near the U-Bahn entrances) and that the cheaper ticket is found on a second screen after pressing a single journey button at the top left of the screen and not the airport buttons at the bottom right of the first screen which give bus or CAT tickets. The machines have buttons at the bottom of the screen to switch between languages to make things easier.

I am told that some validated U-Bahn tickets (24, 48, 72 hour cards, vienna cards etc.) can get you a reduction on the cost to the airport ticket, as the airport requires a 2 zone S-Bahn ticket (4.20E) and these cards cover one of these zones thus only a one zone 2.10E ticket is required-however I did not see this on the ticket machine screens as an option, although I am sure Austrian efficiency must mean that it is there somewhere).

The S-Bahn ticket to the airport cannot be brought in advance at the Wien Mitte ticket machines (the option is there but grayed out and if pressed a box appears telling you that advance tickets to the airport cannot be purchased), whereas at the airport you can buy a ticket to the city either validated for immediate use or unvalidated for later stamping/use.

The Viennese transport system is cheap, efficient, quick and well run (a model for others) and easy for the casual traveler to use but when trying to minimize costs its fare/ticket structure and rules can be complex and less transparent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ibis Budget Wien Messe Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Ibis Budget Wien Messe.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hatem HAMDI

General Manager

Ibis Budget Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de janeiro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great deal if you buy in advance. Good location. Near metro ...
Don't expect too much, get use to no privacy on shower.
Quiet room. Clean, good Internet connection. If you are looking for a reliable hotel for a good price, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ibis Budget Wien Messe Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Ibis Budget Wien Messe.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hatem HAMDI

General Manager

Ibis Budget Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A very basic room with everything you need, bed, shower, toilet, tv, hangers. The mattress is on a wooden board so a little hard and in need of better pillows (thank goodness I had my travel pillow). 5 minute walk to the Prater and train station for easy access to the city. For the price I would definitely stay here again but only for a short stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ibis Budget Wien Messe Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Ibis Budget Wien Messe.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hatem HAMDI

General Manager

Ibis Budget Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

great hotel, very clean and nice staff. they bring a rose in a room every girl or women for valentines day. very cheap for that nice hotel, every place i go i search an ibis hotels.
very nice and good breakfast, the food is delicious, they have good pizza and cakes. staff very pleasant

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ibis Budget Wien Messe Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Ibis Budget Wien Messe.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hatem HAMDI

General Manager

Ibis Budget Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis budget Wien Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Wien Messe

Address: Lasallestr. 7a, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etap Hotel Wien Messe - the smart choice for both business and leisure travellers! Our modern, comfortable room can accommodate up to 2 people ond 1 child, with a shower, toilet, and flat-screen TV, all at an affordable price. And in the morning, help yourself to our all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your ibis budget Wien Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis budget Wien Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.