We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, excellent service. Let down by guest rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol Vienna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bristol Vienna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1015, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, excellent service. Let down by guest rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Hard to fault the hotel with great communal areas and excellent service. Location is about as good as it gets too. The rooms are very small and stuffy however. Although we were there in winter, the air con was unreliable and the children's room was too hot throughout our stay. The bathrooms in our interconnecting executive rooms were particularly disappointing. Badly designed and cheap fittings meant that water pooled on the bathroom floor and there was no room for any more than one person at a time.

Breakfast was very good and the service was faultless. The atmosphere is not hugely child friendly though, particularly for boisterous two year olds.

That said, we would come back as the location was perfect and the staff were superb without exception.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear 'Dan B'

thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. I understand that you had a pleasant stay with us. I however understand that the room provided did not entirely meet your expectations. Kindly note that we offer many different kinds of rooms. Our Deluxe Rooms for example are very specious and offer great views - these rooms have also large full marble bath rooms. You may want to stay in these rooms next time. Many of our corporate travellers appreciate the Executive rooms you have stayed in recently. Again, thank you for your honest feedback and your patronage. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    175
    49
    28
    11
See reviews for
102
320
53
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Charming,de luxe rooms are quite lovely, staff pleasant and competent. Paying for wi fi by device is truly silly in todays world, once i pointed this out I only had to pay for wi fi per room. Pushing 2single beds together does not a King make! My experience of breakfast and bar was quite good, but breakfast is expensive. The location of the Hotel is perfect, (main reason we chose it over other starwood hotel) linens good quality,bathrooms expansive and guest services good. Just falls a little short of its aspirations overall.A little tired, perhaps a little out of touch with todays traveller, I have no complaints just nothing exceptional about it. See my review of the Trois Rois in Basel for a truly 5 * hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear 'teabag46'

Thank you for your review posted on trip advisor. I understand that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property. With regards to your comment about WIFI please note that we offer FREE Wi-Fi in our lobby area at a good quality. This service is new in our offering. With regards to the Twin Bed vs. King Beds kindly note that we have both Twin and King bedded rooms at our hotel. If you request a King at time of booknig we can for sure provide you with one. Also I am pleased to mention that we are keep investing frequently in our product so we just completed a total renovation of our mezzanine floor which resulted in the creation of new very nice rooms and exceptional suites that are of the highest quality. Again, thank you for your comments. We really appreciate your feedback. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was there 2 nights in the middle of the week on a business trip, part of a bigger group so i did not choose the type ofbroom. The hotel in general looks outdated eventhough some renovation work is on going. Breakfast is ok, but nothing spectacular. But the biggest concern was the room. Avoid room 158!!! Located on the first floor, it must be one of the smallest room of the hotel. The window opens on the ventilication system of the restaurant! It looks auwful and, in the summer, do not expect to keep it open at night because of the noise. In the bathroom, the plastic end of the hair dryer was half melted and the glass of one of the light was not well positionned and and it was allowing the water to get in! On top of this, the wireless network was not accessible in the evening, and the construction work in the part of the hotel being refurbished started at 7am, which was generating significant noise in the room. So, even if this room was the less expensive category of the hotel (i guess so) there are some basic requirements that should be there in such a place! And clearly there were not, so it was very disappointing!

Room Tip: Avoid room 158
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear 'Polo67FR'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We do value the feedback of our guests.
I regret that your stay did not meet with your expectations. The room that was reserved for you was a Classic Single room. It is indeed a small room; hence we offer a good price for these rooms. We do of course have all kind of different rooms at the hotel at different price points. Our Deluxe rooms for example range at around 40 square meters and have great views. I was concerned to read about the hairdryer and the glass of the light that you mentioned. This of course does not correspond to our high standards that we are known for. I have spoken to our engineering department and we will replace the hairdryer and look also at the other problem you had mentioned. With regards to wireless network I am not sure what has caused this interruption you experienced – as usually we do have good coverage throughout the building. It is correct that we were renovating some rooms during the past months. This however has now been completed. I am sorry that you have been disturbed by these works. We offer amazing new rooms and suites on the Mezzanine level which are up to the very highest standards. Again, please accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to prove to you that we are able to meet the expectations of our guests in a perfect way. Thanks again for your feedback! Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was quite a nice stay. The reception was very professional from the beginning until the end, and did their very best to service us. My husband and I really appreciated the preferred guest card we were offered by them and the gorgeous room upgrade. Additionally, we had booked quite close to the time of our arrival, and the staff did everything they could to make sure things went smoothly despite this fact; also they were quite generous regarding our request for a late check-out.

We were not very pleased with the valets, however; they took a very long time to bring the luggage to the room, and were rough with it upon our departure to the airport.

The fine-dining restaurant was beautiful. The menu was quite creative, although I did feel that it lacked some flavour. The staff served very well with all of the proper etiquette; they were a bit intrusive about the fact that my husband had an emergecy which required him to leave the table for a brief time, however; but overall, they were quite kingd and understanding.

I was not so pleased with the bar service, however. The food was quality, but the service was lax and American style - but not American-style in a positive way. Therefore, despite acknowledging that this is in fact an American bar, the service must always reflect European quality and etiquette; and I did not feel that the American server properly understood what this means. It is mandatory that if American interns are to work in such an expensive setting, they be educated that throughout Europe there exist two main styles of serving a couple - equal serving of both the woman and the man, or, preferrably - to avoid confusion - always ladies first. Consequently, a woman must never be served in a manner that could be interpreted as implying that of an after-thought to her partner; and it was something that neither me nor my husband enjoyed enforcing throughout our luncheon.

Despite my comments regarding the bar and valet service sectors of this hotel, therefore, this was a delightful stay and one which I will always remember positively. Bristol is a wonderful hotel; and it is clear why it has been so successful.

Room Tip: Book in advance and use Expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear 'Belissa'

Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. While you seemed to have enjoyed your stay overall at our hotel I understand that there were some points that did not meet with your full satisfaction. I can assure you that the point with your luggage / valet is something that we will look into in details. Also in the service I can assure you that serving 'Ladies first' is a rule for our hotel at all times! Again thank you for taking the time to share these valuable comments with us. It allows us to adjust our service where needed and to improve. I hope that you will visit us soon again. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Despite it's location, room, service of personnel which all were above expectations unfortunately breakfast was poor. When you pay 250 a night you expect an impressive breakfast, plus curiosity is on mars and still hotels for some reason or another cannot provide good wifi service for their guests. I do not understand. In general I recommend the hotel because for shopping/business it's location is perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
BREAKFAST HAS LOT OF A LA CARTE OPTIONS / WIFI IMPROVING
Dear 'Alexis N'
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. I regret that you did not enjoy the breakfast at our hotel. For our breakfast we aim to provide our guests with only high quality food. It is correct that we do not feature too many hot dishes on the buffet – which is why it may seem not so sumptuous. That might be what gave you this impression perhaps - but the only reason for that is that we prepare all dishes freshly in the kitchen - guests can choose from a wide range of dishes, from eggs of any style, to porridge and pancakes etc. The quality aspect of the food is of utmost importance to us. With regards to WIFI service I am pleased to inform you that we are further upgrading our facilities - so we will keep a focus on improving this service for our guests. Thank you again for your patronage and your comments! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed Hotel Bristol, Vienna. Normally out of my league but for a one off definitely worth it. Staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Concierge with his vast amount of knowledge on all tourist items helped us get tickets, Vienna pass. the lot! Main rooms were a delight. Spacious and comfortable and beautifully decoraed for Christmas. Bedrooms were beautifully clean, and comfortable, with every convenience. Whether you are a single traveller, honeymoon couple, or family make this another place not to be missed. My husband loved the fitness centre. Free internet in the Business Centre on 5th floor too. Hotel centrally located, near Opera House, Hofburg, Museum Quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our stay was booked using starwood points and despite what other reviewers, have experieinced, we were treated very well. The hotel is beautiful in a great location and the staff professional, well trained and very helpful. The reception staff was very accomodating and helpful and the maitre'd in the restaurant was superb as was t he service. The artwork in the hallways and stairwells is impressive. If the service in the bar area were better, the Bristol would get an excellent rating.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the opera are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1015, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#19 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.