We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor breakfast and wifi reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol Vienna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bristol Vienna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1015, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Poor breakfast and wifi reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Despite it's location, room, service of personnel which all were above expectations unfortunately breakfast was poor. When you pay 250 a night you expect an impressive breakfast, plus curiosity is on mars and still hotels for some reason or another cannot provide good wifi service for their guests. I do not understand. In general I recommend the hotel because for shopping/business it's location is perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
BREAKFAST HAS LOT OF A LA CARTE OPTIONS / WIFI IMPROVING
Dear 'Alexis N'
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. I regret that you did not enjoy the breakfast at our hotel. For our breakfast we aim to provide our guests with only high quality food. It is correct that we do not feature too many hot dishes on the buffet – which is why it may seem not so sumptuous. That might be what gave you this impression perhaps - but the only reason for that is that we prepare all dishes freshly in the kitchen - guests can choose from a wide range of dishes, from eggs of any style, to porridge and pancakes etc. The quality aspect of the food is of utmost importance to us. With regards to WIFI service I am pleased to inform you that we are further upgrading our facilities - so we will keep a focus on improving this service for our guests. Thank you again for your patronage and your comments! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    172
    47
    28
    11
See reviews for
95
307
53
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed Hotel Bristol, Vienna. Normally out of my league but for a one off definitely worth it. Staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Concierge with his vast amount of knowledge on all tourist items helped us get tickets, Vienna pass. the lot! Main rooms were a delight. Spacious and comfortable and beautifully decoraed for Christmas. Bedrooms were beautifully clean, and comfortable, with every convenience. Whether you are a single traveller, honeymoon couple, or family make this another place not to be missed. My husband loved the fitness centre. Free internet in the Business Centre on 5th floor too. Hotel centrally located, near Opera House, Hofburg, Museum Quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our stay was booked using starwood points and despite what other reviewers, have experieinced, we were treated very well. The hotel is beautiful in a great location and the staff professional, well trained and very helpful. The reception staff was very accomodating and helpful and the maitre'd in the restaurant was superb as was t he service. The artwork in the hallways and stairwells is impressive. If the service in the bar area were better, the Bristol would get an excellent rating.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the opera are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was on the gold list last year and i really cant understand how it made it there. The hotel is a beautiful old building which is very very clean but that is where most of the luxury stops. Every morning the cleaning lady walked right into the room without knocking. They gave us a terrible restaurant recommendation (it was so bad that we left when we tasted our appetiser). The day concierge was not friendly and i was uncomfortable to ask him questions.I did enjoy the bar in the lobby and a particularly funny older gentlemen who worked there, he was a highlight at the hotel for us. Overall I wouldn't stay here again, it was an ok hotel but definitely not 5 star.

Room Tip: I didnt mean to click Swimming pool and spa didnt notice if they even had these things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear 'Karen_Singh82'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. I regret that we were apparently not able to meet your expectations. It is of course not acceptable that the cleaning lady walked into your room without knocking. That is not according to our standard. I will follow up with our housekeeping department about this. I also regret that you did not appreciate the restaurant recommendation which you had received from the concierge - I am unfortunately not able to follow up on this in detail as I do not know which restaurant you went to. We are however taking great care in educating our concierges - most of our front office associates are part of the 'Vienna Experts Club' which trains hotel associates on the best Vienna has to offer - gastronomically as well as in general. Also I would like to mention that we do train our staff frequently and that we monitor the performance regularly. We know that this is key for a good luxury hotel. I regret that you did not have this impression. I can assure you that we will put further focus on this also in the future. Again, thank you for your patronage and your comments! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visually step back in time, however, amenities are modern & top notch. Customer service was excellent. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Nice touch with the turn down service and nightly chocolates. No ice machine, but a bucket was promptly provided by housekeeping. Loved soaking in the spring water in the deep tub. The bath gels had such a lovely scent. The hotel is located directly adjacent from the Vienna Opera House. Great location for shopping. In general, a wonderful location for wandering around and exploring this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've stayed at the Bristol about a dozen times over the years. It always feels like a step back into the 1920s. Of course, the hotel is not so full of cigarette smoke as it used to be and there is now wifi throughout the hotel. Other than that, the flat-screen televisions, and people speaking English, I don't think a time traveler from the 1920s would notice anything amiss. I especially appreciate having a door between the bedroom and the entryway with the closet and bathroom. The second door separating the bedroom from the public spaces ensures quiet.

The lobby is cramped by modern standards, which sometimes results in guests having to wait longer than they should at a hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Try to communicate to the staff at check-in what is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and some friends stayed here. Our room was very impressive - more like an appartment. Very quiet rooms (double window insulation) and the walls seemed padded as well.
We had a CD player with some CDs provided in the room which was a nice touch.
Service was good - although we've had more helpful concierges in other hotels.
The decor is very good. The breakfasts are very impressive - I ordered an omelette every morning which I thoroughly enjoyed, but the buffet selection was also very good.
We ate in the restaurant on our first evening. The food was really nice, but we felt there was an abundance of salt in most of the meals - including the bread! That probably explains why we got through 2 bottles of wine!
It was very pricey though - but probably not surprising given it's a 5 star hotel.
We hadn't realised that you can still smoke in some Austrian buildings. Even though we sat outside of the bar area, we could still smell the smoke.
Not impressed about having to pay 9 euros an hour to have internet access. Out of principle I refused to do this. But note that there's a business centre on the 5th floor where you can log on for free if you want to check-in for your return flight.
But a very nice hotel and if I go back to Vienna I'd probably stay here again. Just need to save up though!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear 'JJMc Queen'

thank you for your review posted on this web site. We appreciate your feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good tip with the salt - I will have a word wiht our chef about this. With regards to internet I am pleased to inform you that as of January we will also offer free WIFI in our public spaces! Thanks again for sharing your comments with us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1015, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.