We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Vienna At Its Finest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imperial Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Imperial Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna A-1015, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old Vienna At Its Finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

this was our first time in Vienna and we picked the Hotel Imperial because it was old and spectacular on line and it didn't disappoint us one bit! If you want a glass shiny modern hotel, this is not the one for you however if you want a place with character and charm and a glimpse into how aristocracy lived this is definitely the place for you, it was for us! There is construction going on which reduces the lobby and dining areas and more but its all necessary to continue keeping up this amazing hotel and to celebrate its birthday in April - Our room was incredibly beautiful and the bathroom was spectacular and it was wondreful to be there - the staff was helpful, warm and gracious - you must try/buy the Imperial Torte - delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Hotel Imperial!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear „ParisUnv“ and partner,

First of all I want to thank you for choosing the Hotel Imperial and for taking the time to share your thoughts and impressions. I was a pleasure reading your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hotel Imperial is indeed a former palace with a very rich history spanning the past 140 years and the ongoing revitalization is going to reinforce the palatial elements and add to the strong, unique character. It was particularly rewarding to note that you left with such wonderful memories of us, even as we are working hard and conscientiously to bring our first and most significant phase of our revitalization program to a successful end before Christmas this year.

It would be an honor for us to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Best regards from a colorful autumn day in Vienna,

Klaus Christandl,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    88
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
106
309
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I always enjoy checking into the Imperial - beware that the hotel is undergoing major works (essential) to update and modernise the hotel. The cafe is closed and there is quite a lot of construction to all areas of the building. Keep this in mind when booking and ensure you might want to visit AFTER it is all completed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear „LelaM“,

It was a great pleasure to read that after your recent return visit to the Hotel Imperial, you gave us almost full marks in the individual category rating of your online review. The Hotel Imperial is indeed currently undergoing a major revitalization of all public spaces and gastronomy on the ground floor, which is going to reinforce the palatial characteristics and features. I am very happy to share with you that the first phase will be finalized soon and that the renewed Café Imperial, our elegant new Restaurant, as well as a completely new Lounge Bar will open their doors as of 20th December 2013.

Your rating also indicated an area for further improvement in the category of “Quality of Sleep” and it would be most beneficial for us to know more about your experience in this regard to allow us to make further improvements. Kindly do contact us directly under hotel.imperial@luxurycollection.com to assist us in this important area.

Wishing you a fruitful and colorful autumn ahead and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Imperial in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Klaus Christandl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although we reserved the deluxe room, a front desk clerk made us stay cllasic room under a rank.
After we went home, we saw the homepage and we realized that.It is written in the reservation confirmation document that we reserved the deluxe room.
Although we got out of the taxi and the driver of the taxi had taken down the suitcase from the car trunk, the doorman ignored us and didn't come to take our baggage.
It was disappointed.
I will never stay Hotel Imperial, when I go to next time, Vienna.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear „Emonatre“,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Imperial with us via TripAdvisor. It was very disappointing for me to read that your experience was marred by two aspects that in no way represent the usual focus on service excellence at Hotel Imperial. Unfortunately I was unable to track your reservation and hence could not look deeper into your room allocation issue. Kindly give us the opportunity to review the issue in greater detail by connecting with us under hotel.imperial@luxurycollection.com .
Your description of the lack of assistance and interaction by a member of my team upon your arrival at the hotel is most disappointing to note. Rest assured that upon receiving this information, I have already spoken with my Front of House team members concerned and reiterated to them how important the first impression is for each and every one of our arriving guests.
Please do accept my most sincere personal apologies for this shortfall in service.
Nevertheless, I do still keep the hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Imperial on your next visit to Vienna to be given the chance to proof to you that we are very much able to not only meet, yet even exceed your expectations of outstanding service and attention to detail. Please contact me directly prior to your next trip and allow me to personally look after the arrangements for you.

Yours sincerely,
Klaus Christandl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here on points, since the price was very high. The room was very nice, although decorated in a palatial style that made us feel as if we shouldn't touch things. We got good service from the front desk, and they showed us some of the most ornate rooms when we asked for a peek.

The concierge was overly snobby. We asked about tickets for the opera, and all he would offer was that the box seats were already sold out for the night. No mention of the still-available standing room tickets. We asked for restaurant recommendations as well, and even though we made clear that we were looking for casual dining, in a certain price range, he would only recommend the most expensive places in town. We found a place down the street that suited us just find without his help.

The room key weighs a pound or two, but you can leave it at the front desk. By the end of the stay we didn't even have to give our name, and they were ready with our key when we returned.

Personally, if going with Starwood, I'd recommend the Le Meridien down the street. Much more modern and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear „ RyanC“ and partner,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your valuable feedback and for sharing your experiences with us and the TripAdvisor community. The Hotel Imperial is indeed a former palace and the ongoing revitalization is going to reinforce those palatial characteristics and features even more. This is not aimed at intimidating our guests, yet provide everyone with – often – a once in a lifetime opportunity to feel like a prince or princess themselves.

I was disappointed to read that you did not feel treated with the utmost attention and care by members of our Concierge team. Being one of the most important departments to provide our guests with personalized arrangements, every single interaction is paramount to achieve a memorable stay experience. Unfortunately tickets to the standing room section at the State Opera cannot be bought in advance and the cash point opens only 80 minutes prior the performance. You are most definitely in the right to point out that this important information should have been mentioned by my colleague at the Concierge desk. Please do accept my sincere apologies for this shortfall in attention.

With reference to the Restaurant recommendations, our Concierges does have a wide range of dining options that are regularly recommended, including some very typical Viennese casual dining locations. I have once again reiterated to our Concierge team to offer an appropriate range of options to all our guests.

Dear “RyanC”, once again thank you very much for your patronage for the Hotel Imperial and we hope to have the chance to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future for an opportunity to make up for these unpleasant elements of your last stay.

Best regards from a colorful autumn day in Vienna to Colorado,
Klaus Christandl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here with a tour group. This was the best hotel of our trip!
Our room was beautiful and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly.
The restaurant was wonderful for breakfast as well as dinner.
The location in the heart of the city was excellent.
If you go: walk the grand staircase at least one time - it is beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great pleace with a great and professional service We spend tre days here and all was perfect
Thanks to all the team who made this possible for sure i will comeback here next visit to vienna
Ps:We love very much the breakfast thanks !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear „Lylliya“ and friends,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with us and the online community. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit in Vienna and that your experience does credit to the renowned Imperial Service.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Imperial again in the not too distant future and wish you a wonderful autumn in Hong Kong without too many typhoons.

Yours sincerely,
Klaus Christandl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hotel Imperial epitomizes the 5-star luxury hotel experience with amazing rooms and great service. The rooms were impressive and decorated with a unique elegance that surpasses many other hotels I've seen. The hotel is within walking distance to almost everywhere in the city. It is 2 minutes away from the state opera house and the vienna symphony theatre. About 3-5 minutes from the main shopping and dining street district with st peter's cathedral. There is also a shuttle that is a 2minute walk from the hotel that brings you directly to the Designer outlet in Vienna for ~10 euros. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly throughout the entire stay. If you are looking for luxury, comfort, great service and convenience to the tourist attractions, this hotel is the right choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear „jane668“ and friends,

First of all I want to thank you for choosing the Hotel Imperial for your recent visit to Vienna and for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to read your enjoyment about our rooms and the decoration of the hotel in general. Furthermore I am convinced that your warm words will encourage our whole team to go the extra mile in the future again in creating lasting and memorable experiences for all our future guests.

Wishing you a fruitful and colorful autumn ahead and looking forward to welcoming you back to your “home in Vienna” in the not too distant future.

Klaus Christandl,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna A-1015, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.