We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Hotel Imperial so many years is like home from home !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imperial Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Imperial Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna A-1015, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Staying at Hotel Imperial so many years is like home from home !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Concierge Herr Moser greets you like family
He organises Theatre tickets
When shopping in Vienna and presenting your Hotel Imperial personal visitors card, your goods are delivered to the Hotel !
They offer Chauffer service
Organise gifts to be delivered to friend also staying in Hotel
Is very central and withing walking distance to main shopping areas

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear “valmuller“,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us in December 2011 and posted to the TripAdvisor site in August this year.

It was delightful to note that you had given us full marks for your stay experience and your compliments of our personalized concierge service was well received by all our concierge team members.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna to Cape Town,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    88
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
106
310
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is accommodating, friendly, well manicured, and an opulent property. There is no negative. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and clean. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom luxurious with a wonderful rain shower. The hotel's location is ideal and within walking distance of most anywhere you might want to venture in Vienna. I look forward to going back and being spoiled. This is a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Opt out for the superior room. It is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear “VoyagerFour“ and family,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us in August this year. It was great to hear that we were able to delight you on all fronts and exceed your expectations in many areas.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna to New York,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Imperial Hotel and stayed two nights from August 15 - 16. We have stayed at other luxury hotels around the globe but this one was unique in that it truly felt like a palace. It has so much history and many A-list celebrities, politicians and others have stayed at this hotel and continue to stay here. The rooms were nicely appointed and the bathroom was stocked with Bvlgari bath products. Each day, we had fresh fruits delivered to our room. The hotel also complimented us with champage for our anniversary which was a nice touch. To give a comparison, we have stayed at the Burj Al Arab which is a 6-star hotel but both are completely different with unparallel distinctions. The difference with this hotel is that it is historical and yes it looks a bit worn out but the beauty of this hotel and with all the history makes it worth the visit. The service was also excellent and Anita at the front desk was always so warm and welcoming with a smile. There is a museum at the back on the main floor and towards the left where the elevators are located, there is a hallway with pictures and the history of the hotel with the names of hundreds of visitors. On the day we checked out, Lady Gaga arrived at the hotel. In summary, this is a beautiful hotel and the service was wonderful. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear “anita2000“ and partner,

Thank you very much for your exciting review of your stay with us in August this year. How rewarding to know that we were able to contribute a little special something and fond memories to your special anniversary trip. Thank you for all the compliments and positive feedback.

It fills my team with pride that we are able to call guests with a wide range of backgrounds our loyal and regular guests, spanning over all continents and many generations.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna to Vancouver,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Fantastic view from the room! Beautiful hotel and great location. Concierge was very helpful in getting tickets to the opera which was fantastic, definitely reccomend. Also, very helpful in recommending restaurants. Rooms were very spacious, classy elegant facility. Very happy overall.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear “Vasiliki A“ and partner,

Thank you very much for your extremely positive TripAdvisor posting of your stay with us in November 2011. It was very rewarding to read about your great experience at our Hotel Imperial.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is pretty impressive. We stayed here for 2 nights in early July. The staff is good, but the grand stairway and rooms were the most impressive. You truly feel like you are staying in a palace (I mean, I guess this is what it is like). The marble stairway with large portraits and chandeliers was beautiful, we walked up and down it a LOT. We are SPG Platinum so were upgraded to a 2 room suite which was very nice. The location of the hotel is great, but to be honest I was not overly impressed with the Imperial Torte. Musikverein is right next to the hotel and we saw a show there one night. It is also easy enough to walk to all of the sites in the city including Belvidere.

We have used points to stay at a number of great places in Europe and this one truly stood out for the Old World style and luxury. I hope I can stay there again some day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear “Chris_Addy“ and partner,

Thank you very much for your very positive posting and review of your stay with us in July this year. It was very rewarding to read about your memorable experiences at our Hotel Imperial, although a little disappointing to note that the Imperial Torte did not tingle your taste buds. So there is no other chance but to come back and give us another opportunity to convince you of the Imperial Torte’s temptation.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna to Boston, Massachusetts,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

we stayed there for 3 nights in april 2012 .the service was excellent, our luggage got lost on the flight into vienna, hotel staff went out of their way to help us get it back as smootly as possible.
food was excellent in the restaurant,
bar staff were very friendly and attentive.
room was average to small - however very nicely done and clean.
It was walking distance 5-10 min from opera house.
history of the hotel is interesting

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear „music-soul“ and partner,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel with other travellers. It was rewarding to learn that the attention of my team members made your stay more enjoyable and memorable. Your compliments will encourage them to continue their journey towards excellence.

Have a wonderful summer ahead and sunny greetings from Vienna to Canada,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Luxury Vienna, that is what I would call this hotel. We stayed in the Hotel Imperial, Maisonette Suite, for 4 night in early July. The room was an amazing 2 story suite with a balcony overlooking the city. My two young kids (2 and 4) loved the extra space and the upstairs gave us a little reprieve. The hotel was well located on the loop with easy access to the tram and only a 5 minute walk to the opera house. The concierge was extremely helpful when looking for things to do and places to go. The history of the hotel speaks for itself and we definitely felt like we were experiencing the best of Vienna.

The hotel has an excellent breakfast that we took advantage of every day. Lots of meats and typical Austrian pastries. Then on the last day as we were getting our food none other than Arnold walked in and joined the room for breakfast. Not wanting to look like a crazy American we left him and the 10+ teenagers he was with enjoy their breakfast, but it was still pretty fun to see him back in his home country. Not an everyday thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear „II_Globe_Trotter_II“ and family,

Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. Your description of our central and convenient location will definitely assist others to get a positive impression of one of our many assets. An additional big THANK YOU for the thumbs up on our breakfast buffet at the Café Imperial.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel Imperial in the not too distant future and best wishes for a most memorable summer ahead and sunny greetings from Vienna to California,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna A-1015, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.