We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Kaiserstrasse 23, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Selangor, malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Spent 3 night in this hostel. Price of hostel, but with hotel standard. Great amenities, room are clean, and love it's design. Very convenient location, tram 5 right outside the hostel, which will take you to the main station Westbahnhof, where you can change to U-bahn, other tram line, and is also one of the main train station in Vienna. It sits in a safe neighborhood, since is not directly in the tourist spot. Will definitely recommend it. The only downside is weather is hot when I stayed in Vienna, and the room is not air-conditioned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    73
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
48
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The rooms were a great size! Clean, fresh and very comfortable! The front of house staff were friendly and approachable. The whole atmosphere of the hotel makes you feel very safe and relaxed! Even the shared bathrooms were kept clean ad presentable! Only downfall are the closing of the old heavy doors at night- can startle you at first.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Kaiser 23 is an excellent hotel and guesthouse.

It's a great price and you get more than what you pay, it's in an excellent location easy to get to from the airport and is right by a tram and metro stop. It's also only a block away from one of the main train and bus stations that have buses that leave every half hour for the airport. I would reccommend taking the bus over the CTA train, it takes longer but it is much cheaper at about 7 euro.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel was spotless. I thought I wouldn't like having to share showers, but they were incredibly clean and spacious and were never crowded or full. The rooms were also very spacious and the beds were large and comfy.

My favorite part of this hotel was the amazing breakfast, they have excellent coffee options, breads, salamis, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, and juices! The shopping around the hotel is amazing as well and very easy to walk to in just a few minutes and then you have miles of shopping on either sides of the road.

I would definitely stay here again, the wifi doesn't work on all floors but there is a nice relaxing lobby where you can grab and beer and check your email. I loved everything about this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajevo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent three nights at the Kaiser 23 Hostel and Guesthouse, and I must say that we are more than happy with everything that is offered my this cute, little place. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and above all extremely clean. Shower rooms, as well as bathrooms are spotless, although toilet seats are a bit weird (too tall). We had breakfast two days in a row, and although the choice of food was good, we thought it was a bit too pricey, since just around the corner there was a supermarket, as well as Anker bakery (breakfast for around 3-4 euros) and a few cafes that offered breakfast at around 5-6 euros per person (the hostel charges 8 euros). We loved the lobby, with nice comfy couches, a plasma TV, and great and fast wi-fi connection. The location is great as well, just down the street from Mariahilferstrasse, many restaurants, cafes, etc. Another thing we really liked was the quietness of this place. Although the place was packed with tourists, there was no noisy people gathering in bathrooms or along corridors. There were a lot of kids too, and I'd say this place is very child-friendly. I'd stay at this hostel again, and will for sure on my future trips to Vienna.

Room Tip: For extra few euros, it's better if you get a room overlooking the garden, since the street is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hostel has a nice staff and a very confortable lobby. It's quite spacious both rooms and corridors.It has elevator and my room was clean, spacious, equipped with a washbasin a a lot of towels.
But, anyway, despite the silent environment outside , the walls weren't sound proof so often you have to walk like a cat or don't use the washbasin if you don't wanna get a knock knock from your neighbour, anyway the most annoying thing were the toilets: only two both male/female and opposite your side of the floor.
The shower were really ok (4 or 5).
Last good thing: you're a two minutes walk from the mariahilfer shopping street and not too far from the city centre.
Wifi is free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I usually would not have stayed at a place that shares bathroom and showers, but I would stay at this place in a heart beat. It was clean clean and clean. Stuffs were super friendly. Has a computer in the lobby to use, as WiFi does not work on higher floors. Could have more English channels on TV, but no biggie. The only thing is the front door slams at night when people are coming in. It could be kind of loud. I used earplugs for the 2nd and 3rd night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed there only one night. Well situated guesthouse, close to Western rail station of Vienna and few meters from famous Mariahilfer street (Shopping). The problem is noices - you hear almost everything what's going on in Lobby and upstairs.. Still, the hotel provides you a good value for money.

Room Tip: As far frome downstairs as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse

Address: Kaiserstrasse 23, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at a unique place in the Austrian metropolis Wien. In the 7th district, also known as "new building", is the Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse located. The Hostel surprises with a fresh design and the famous Vienna charm. The theme of the young team is "experience Vienna" and this is their everyday goal. The employees at the Kaiser 23 are absolutely professional and they will always find what you are looking for. Whether general manager, reception or housekeeping - our team is open minded, uncomplicated and professional- just what the Kaiser 23 is about. The Hostel is located close to the west station and the Mariahilferstrasse. The stage of the tramline 5 is directly next to our front door. This is the reason why this city hotel is the perfect starting point for wandering in the urban jungle of Vienna or a base station and oasis of peace. After a day full of action and experiences in 7th district, you can come down and relax. In the common room, the Kaiser lounge, is a living room atmosphere - putting your feed up is requested! While drinking a fine Austrian wine, having some tasty snacks or a beer you can calm down and thinking about the passing day. You can send you pictures, holiday greets and videos easily at home because of our fast and free wireless lan. Experience Vienna without deductions, come to the Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse - easy, uncomplicated, centrally, cheap! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser23 Ho(s)Tel & Guesthouse Hotel Vienna
Kaiser23 Ho(s)Tel And Guesthouse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.