We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Opera House

State Opera House
Opernring 2, Vienna A-1010, Austria
43-1-514-44-2955
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$61*
and up
Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in...
Ranked #6 of 311 Attractions in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Vienna's internationally renowned opera offers nearly 300 performances each year.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We listened The Barber of Seville and it was beautiful!

Tip about tickets: we didn't buy them online, because only expensive ones left. But we bought good tickets for a very reasonable price on the day of the show from the guys in nice ancient suits, that sell tickets near the Opera,

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,176
    719
    175
    32
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Magnificent venue and occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was lucky enough to see an opera at the State Opera House recently - and was amazed by the magnificence of the building. Once inside, it is even more opulent, and offers an incredible opera-viewing experience. The boxes are small (7 or 8 seats in each), with individual "sub-title" readers for each seat, and even though the Opera House is enormous, the design ensures reasonable proximity and excellent acoustics. Close to public transport and easily accessible for visitors to Vienna.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Night at the opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went to see Rossini's Cinderella. A beautiful space, good acoustics. Expensive, even on a high balcony, but worth it to see once. Good selection of eats during intermission, including apple strudel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valetta, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An elegant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was in Vienna for the first time and attended the ballet, Manon, with a friend at the State Opera House. It is absolutely stunning, beautifully decorated with elegant columns, mirrors, and paintings. I will definitely take a tour the next time I am there. We were pleased with our balcony seats though the couple in the row behind us were not. I suggest to anyone attending an event there to order seats int the front row as the views from the back rows are quite obstructed. The ballet performance was lively and animated and the orchestra exceptional. Overall it was the perfect way to spend an evening in Vienna--well worth the money!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our English speaking guide led us on an interesting tour of the Opera House. It was the last thing we did on our visit and I'm so glad we had time. The interiors are beautiful and the insight into what went on behind the scenes was fascinating. Next time we visit Vienna we'll be sure to get tickets.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Opera House also viewed

 

Been to State Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.