We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Wien to your Saves list
InterContinental Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1037, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #85 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for two nights,almost three days, at the end of an Avalon Danube cruise. The hotel is well placed to explore Vienna, walking distance of most sights. The public rooms are lovely, although I felt the restaurant a bit ordinary. Breakfast which was included,was very good, massive of choice. We did not eat there, apart from breakfast, as it was very expensive but plenty of eateries nearby. The rooms are well sized with tea and coffe making facilities and decent sized bathrooms with baths, if you are not too agile getting into the bath to have a shower might be a problem. Not sure if they have rooms with walk in shower, need to ask. One last thought. WiFi is charged for and not cheap unless you sign up to their rewards club , not much of an effort to do, but when I stay in a five star hotel I expect WiFi to be as freely available as hot water. Charging for it is just greedy in my opinion

Room Tip: None of the rooms have stunning views just city rooftop, the Stadpark is immediately opposite, the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Catherine S,
first let me thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!
The location of our hotel is indeed one of our advantages, you can easily reach all of the attractions by walking or by the metro which is opposite the hotel.
To meet everybody taste, we trying our best by offering Asian corner, show cooking, fruits, a full extensive variety of fresh fruits and juices, hot and warm dishes with Austrian and international specialities and I am happy that you enjoyed it!
I am happy to inform you, that we do of course offer rooms with walk in showers. This request can either be made prior to arrival or directly at check in.
All the best,
Claudia Heger
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    424
    145
    38
    23
See reviews for
145
438
65
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Once again we enjoyed the charm of this older hotel. Looking very plain from the outside but once you walk inside you entre another dimension with big gorgeous spaces including the lobby,bar,restaurants and convention rooms.
Our room was very comfortable, the bathroom a bit small but adequate. Only complaint was the room was quite warm and we had to try and cool it by opening the windows ,which is a plus really when you have been staying in hotels for a while.
The breakfast buffet is amazing, best ever and totally worth every cent,a must do.
I love this hotel and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: A view of the Stradpark is a must especially in winter with snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Marie-Louise D,
let me thank you for your lovely review.
I am very happy that you fell under our lobby's spell. Our old Lady might not be that special from the outside but as soon as you are entering our InterContinental Vienna you feel the old Viennese spirit. Great, that you were able to visit our Intermezzo bar - this is the perfect way to let the evening end.
I am also very pleased about your kind words you had for our breakfast. It is indeed one of the best in town and we do offer a great variety of fresh fruits, local warm and cold dishes.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
All the best
Claudia Heger
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was only here for about 12 hours with work. Central location, everything close we nearby. Was slightly annoyed my room key didn't work when I got upstairs after a long flight. But the rooms were great size. Bathroom slightly small. One annoying thing was that the bed had to separate single duvets for a double bed. And if you wanted just the one king size duvet you had to specifically order it. The room service menu was poor, very little choice and extremely expensive.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_Hoesl, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear EmilyBrownTravel,
it is only through constructive and honest feedback of our guests that we can improve our service and deliver the quality one would expect at an InterContinental Hotel and I would really thank you therefore.
Indeed the location of the hotel is one of our advantages, it is just a view minutes from the shopping area and the city park across the street invites for a morning run or a relaxing walk.
Please rest assured that I passed your comments to all relevant departments and I hope that you will give us the chance again to assure you of our service.
Wishing you all the best,
Sandra Hösl
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed at this hotel for 10 evenings. Nice size hotel rooms for Europe, very clean, nice and accommodating hotel staff. Stadtpark was across the street and it was located very close to the central part of Vienna, which had a lot of nice things to see and do. Since I was traveling for 10 days, I did not have space for my DSLR and only brought my point and shoot camera....what a mistake! Vienna was so beautiful! The only downside was the wifi was a little slow, but it was free for IHG club members. the breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks Stadtpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_Hoesl, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Rick K.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the InterContinental Vienna. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Great that you had the option to taste our huge buffet breakfast.
I really hope that you managed to catch some memories and pictures from our beautiful city with your standard camera, but we will be pleased to have you back to take some new photos with your DSLR.
Wishing you all the best,
Sandra Hösl
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay 3 nights from 08th Apr 2015, twin room with very narrow bed around 1.2 meter width, good room services with cleaning and landury services, but reception staff challenge this, try to charge my friends their wifi services but in our package the free wifi is the first emphasised conditions.

Room Tip: Do not use its classic rooms if you want big beds to have your staying better feeling, especially yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_Hoesl, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ZhenluCao,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
It´s the honest feedback of our guests which helps to improve our service and shows us were changes need to be done.
Thanks for your kind words about our room service team and the housekeeping department.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
With kind regards
Sandra Hösl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not have had a better stay. We were there for two nights. Was able to get an early check in which was wonderful after having flown in from the US. The room was nice and the beds were quite comfortable. Breakfast buffet was amazing. We walked in to the Center of town but there is public transportation close if needed. Free WiFi if you join the IHG rewards club, which is free to join.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_Hoesl, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear captmom,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay, your lovely review and the great rating is very much appreciated.
I am more than happy to pass your kind words to the whole team. Great that you enjoyed your time in Vienna and in our hotel.
I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again,
wishing you all the best
Sandra Hösl
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the intercontinental for a weekend visit to Vienna. We felt we had made a good choice.

We didn't spend much time at the hotel, but found it a good base for seeing Vienna.

The location was great. It was right outside Stadtpark on U4, or a short walk (about 7 mins) from the city airport train (CAT) station. It was also an easy walk into central Vienna - many of the key sights within 15-25 mins walk. We spent a day at Schonbunn, and it only took about 15 minutes on U4 and then a short walk.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The view from the room overlooking the park was good. The beds were comfortable and there was a good breakfast, with lots of choice.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_Hoesl, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mefgreg,

thank you very much for your lovely review.
The location of the hotel is indeed one of our advantages and the closeness to the Stadtpark is as well a benefit for our guests.
It´s great to read that you had a good time in Vienna and in our hotel.
Your kind words about our staff and the breakfast are very much appreciated and I am happy to share them with the whole team.
I hope that you will have the option to visit Vienna again soon.
Wishing you all the best.

With kind regards
Sandra Hösl
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1037, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#64 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#70 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.