We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-Quality InterContinental with a Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Wien to your Saves list
InterContinental Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1037, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #75 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“High-Quality InterContinental with a Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The InterContinental Wien is unassuming at first glance: the stoic exterior looks more Eastern Bloc than Western Enterprise. Notwithstanding, the hotel is exceptional in every facet: lobby; staff; rooms; amenities. Our room (an executive room) was spacious and clean, and the beds were very inviting and comfortable.

The location is perfect for exploring Vienna. Across the street is the underground U train at Stadtpark, and from there you can take the train anywhere in the city (in 15 minutes you're right at Schonbrunn), and just two blocks away is the tram line that gives you convenient access to the inner ring of the city. Also situated across the street is beautiful Stadtpark with its beautiful paths, beer gardens, lakes, and the famous golden Strauss statue.

We found the hotel extremely affordable for the brand and the city. The InterContinental line is never billed as an economy stay, but compared to similar-style InterContinentals in Rome and Paris, Vienna's is certainly affordable. We highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Vienna!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    386
    141
    33
    20
See reviews for
135
405
56
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and walking distance to most tourists attractions and restaurants. The park with the Strauss statue is across the street. The only complaint I have is that they do not have free WiFi. They do have a business center with computers but we were told it will cost $6 for one hour and $18 for 24 hours. You can print your boarding pass free but when I went in, there were kids playing games on them. The staff came in to ask them to leave but the kids were rude. It was not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There's not much to say about this hotel, I was pleased. Location is probably the criteria to choose this hotel, opposite Stadtpark and U4 metro station, walking distance to all major sights in the city Centre. a bit too classic interior to be exciting but comfortable beds and the usual high class service. Bathrooms could use a do over and the blinds don't fully cover the windows.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times due to business trip. The hotel is perfectly located, good connection to public transportation, lots of possibilities for after work events. Hospitality is amazing. I always feel warmly welcome here. Everybody is smiling and very polite. The room is really nice. Very well equipped to support my business trips (flat iron is priceless). Cannot stop choosing this hotel. Seems to be the best in town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental as part of our Avalon Danube River Cruise from Budapest to Vienna. It is located right across the street from Stadt Park and the Kursalon where Vienna Concerts are held. It is an easy walk to St. Peter’s Church and the Vienna Opera House which also happens to be where the Hop On Hop Off Bus Tours starts. There is also a restaurant pub about a block away (Stadt Park Brau) which was good and reasonable. The hotel public areas are inviting and comfortable with the lobby bar bordering on luxurious. We ate breakfasts at the hotel buffet, which was included in our room rate, and it offered excellent and varied choices. In fact, I would go so far as to say, it was one of the finest breakfast buffets I have experienced, and everything we choose was very good. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed (robe and slippers, etc) and ours had a nice city view. The concierge was most helpful with information, recommendations and directions and there is an excellent business center available to print boarding passes, etc. Unfortunately, Wi Fi was costly.

While evening bar service was absolutely excellent, lunch or having pastry in the lobby during the day was so so slow as it was obviously understaffed. We had to go up to the counter as did other partrons to place food orders as no one seemed to be waiting on the tables. There also seemed to be chaos when a tour bus would arrive with all wanting to check in. You couldn’t move in the lobby due to all the luggage. Nonetheless enjoyed the hotel and our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The building itself seems ugly from outside. A very standard building, which does not suit to Vienna's beauty.
On the other hand, as soon as you go inside, your mind changes.
Very big lobby and bar with beautiful chandeliers.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was big, looking to the backyard. Room was clean with all necessary amenities.The main facade looks to Stadtpark across the street.
Access is very convenient with airport train. Either you walk from one end (train station) to the other (hotel) of the park about 10-15 minutes or take a metro only one station.
Center is 15 minutes walk from the hotel.
The air conditioning did not want to work for heat whatever I did. We had to turn it off to sleep comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I arrived in Vienna in February and immediately fell in Love. The Hotel was so well located and the building is beautiful, my room was not huge but every detail was perfect and the views were just breath taking. It snowed on the first night and when I awoke I looked out on a city of white dotted with colourful domes on surrounding buildings. There was so much to do, so much to experience and all on my doorstep.. the only problem was that I was so comfy in the hotel, with the service and welcome from the staff that I hated to go out the door. Go there if you deserve a treat, have a business meeting or just because you deserve something special in your life.

Room Tip: No idea really, but the staff are very helpfull. Ask them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1037, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Vienna
#50 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#60 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.