We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper to your Saves list
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krugerstrasse 11, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Small family run hotel, awesome location (Ringstrasse main shopping street in vienna)
5 min walk from the State Opera and Karlsplatz underground station.
Excellent service and very walm people.
Clean pretty rooms, only flip side is that they're a little small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
58
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Small, beautiful hotel! Cosy rooms, good breakfast, nice interiors, perfect location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stay in turn of the century Viennese elegance in the Staatsoper. The highlights here are the could not be better location - within the ring, one block off the congested pedestrian street, and a short jaunt to the Ringstrasse tram.

The drawbacks are small rooms; very small breakfast room; and, no air conditioning (but rather large windows.) This would not have been a problem, except that twice in Vienna, we have encountered an unseasonal heat wave. Vienna is one of our top 3 favorite cities, but I will not book again, even in late Spring, without air conditioning.

Nonetheless, the staff and service were warm, exceedingly helpful; the hotel is great value.

Room Tip: Rooms on front have some pedestrian zone noise, but also interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Our stay was in September 2011. Location is the only plus...walking distance to everything. Stay here if you can endure the extreme street noise daily that starts as early as 6am. The noise is from the street cleaners, garbage collection and deliveries.
NO A/C.....in any rooms.
Extremely tiny and confining rooms.
Breakfast was ok.....but in a tiny area.
If you book a stay for 3 evenings and you decide you want to leave after 1 evening....your are stuck with paying for the 3 nights.....read the fine print!!!
Will not return.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a lovely hotel in the middle of this great city.
We were at the end of our bicycle trip and enjoyed 3 nights at this great little hotel.
Spotless but tiny room (3 adults) especially the bathroom. You can barely fit but the location and service could not be beat. Also, the breakfast was delicious and served in the very cozy breakfast room.
We moved to a larger hotel for the next 3 nights(Terminus) and eventhough it was much larger and at a better rate I preferred the Staatsoper's location and ambiance by far.
Will definately return and can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This place is a real jem! Located in the very centre of Vienna, clean and affordable, with kind and helpfull staff.
I was a bit affraid that single room I booked will be small and uncomfortable, but since that was the only option fittning my budget at the time, I took a chance. I am really glad I did it, coz, even though small, room is comfortable, especially if you are planning to explore the city.
Vienna has lot to offer and you definitely won't spend much time in the hotel.
For that time you do, small details will put smile of your face (like candy on a pillow each night), plus a tasty breakfast (on Sunday you'll have a chance to try Austrian treats), and the best location you can imagine.
I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to book directly with hotel, they may give you a better deal then travel agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

A superb place to stay. On the edge of the pedestran area, but not at all noisy - as we were expecting (particularly having spotted the earplugs on the bedside table!). Staff are friendly and, as a fanily-run hotel, it had a very personal feel. The breakfasts were amazing and - leaving for our flight early - the 'packed breakfast' was the best we have ever had. The building itself is beautiful. We sing THE HOTEL'S praises to all our friends. There are lots of hotels to chose from in Vienna - ignore the rest and STAY HERE!

Room Tip: The bathroom was small and an extracter fan would have been useful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper

Address: Krugerstrasse 11, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#112 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Wiener Staatsoper Vienna
Zur Wiener Staatsoper Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.