We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaerntnerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kaerntnerhof to your Saves list
Kaerntnerhof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grashofgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Valencia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Quite a nice hotel in a great location with a bagfull of character. Do not expect old splendor, but the kind of furniture your conservative grandmother might have had. Old, modest, but in a strange way very Viennese. My room was quite large and very clean, but (business travellers beware) no work desk (coffee table, two plush armchairs, small TV). The free WiFi worked very well. The breakfast was OK, quite Austrian: lots of spreads, good bread, no fresh fruit. No mini bar, and, in my room no hair drier. But at the price I paid it was great value for this location in Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    63
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
43
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I reserved a non-smoking, courtyard room.
#1. There is no such thing as a dedicate Non-Smoking room at this hotel. The manger told me that the chambermaid simply airs out the rooms in hopes of getting rid of the stench. Considering the fact that most europeans smoke like chimneys the chances of getting a clean smelling room is remote. I entered the room and was hit by the acrid smoke smell coming from the carpet (YUCK). The hotel's idea of a courtyard and my idea differ enormously. The courtard reminded me of a place where one would be executed and never be heard from again. dark, dank and devoid of ventilation. The hotel did provide the cheapest noisiest fan I have ever seen. I think inmates in prisons get to use better fans than this hotel provided.
After 15 minutes of arriving in this dump I phoned the front desk and asked if I could move to another room. I walk told that there were no other available rooms due to a convention ongoing in Vienna 15000 cardio doctos had taken over every room in Vienna. I told the manager I had reserved a NON-SMOKING room. He looked in his computer and agreed that I had indeed reserved such a room (that never existed in the first place). I told him I would like to move and he agreed to allow me to exit this hotel without charging me the first night's fee. The manage had some connections and did manage to get me a room at the Grand Hotel Biedemeir a Mercur hotel for nearly the same money. It was very warm in Vienna and upgrading to 4 star was absolutley necessary and well worth the few extra Euros. Due to climate change Vienna has become a very warm and uncomfortable city in the Summer. If you are allergic to heat and humidity and want to be able to sleep at night, I strongly suggest booking into a hotel with a/c.
The beds in this hotel were HORRIBLE. The mattress without boxspriring is a joke.
Under no circmstances would I hever consider staying at this hotel no matter how wonder of a location this hotel is at. Location is not always the most important aspect , especially in this case. Vienna is so convenient that everything is easily accessible via public transport which is safe, clean, reliable, a pleasure to use and very cheap.
Good luck.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We (couple and two teenagers, and a family friend) stayed at the Hotel Kartnerhof for four days. Excellent, quiet location, walking distance to many of the wonderful attractions Vienna offers. Super value for area. Helpful staff (we especially appreciated the excellent English). Nice business area. Our room had a double bed and a fold out sofabed--surprisingly comfortable.
It offered a good European breakfast (so strange to Americans, TOO much variety, but no one goes away hungry). The top attraction for teens: free wireless Internet. (Another plus for picky American teens and their cheap parents: Pizza Bizi located about two blocks away near Stephansplatz. Good food, lots of variety.)
Minus: we were on 6th floor, and the neat old elevator only goes to fifth. This was not a problem for us (we usually use stairs anyway, better than a gym!) but they should make sure that will work for guests when making reservations. Ask if that might be an issue for you.
We enjoyed Vienna despite constant rain. Hope to return and would stay at the Hotel Kartnerhof again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Df
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Stayed two nights here in order to see a Euro2008 semifinal. Late booking so choices in Vienna were few and far between. Took a double room for single use - rate was euros194 per night, way over the odds for what I got, even by Vienna rates.

Big plus for the hotel is the location in a side street dead-end - no passing traffic and few pedestrians. Very close to sights, metro station (Schwedenplatz) and the CAT train to the airport. The room I got (106) was spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were helpful, attentive and spoke good English.

Not so good: room has no minibar (and in summer you need water); curtains failed to keep out early morning light; breakfast is very average indeed; no shower (just the 'telephone' in the bath).
Overall, the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift.

So - not a bad choice, but I would only go back if paying a lot less than I was charged this time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some room features / price charged
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Old world charm in a very quiet location near to everything. Had a double room on the first floor at the back and it was very quiet (as we had requested), nice decor, super clean and comfortable. Bathroom quite small but contained everything we needed, even a hair dryer. Breakfast is great with good coffee and plenty of other items to choose from. Friendly staff that are willing to help in any way they can. Best rate we found was with the property direct.
From the airport take the CAT (airport train) to Wien Mitte and then underground to Schwedenplatz which gives you just a short walk up the slight hill and round the corner to the hotel.
Eat at the Hollman Salon inside the courtyard next to the hotel and try all the wonderful offerings.

  • Liked — The location and the price.
  • Disliked — The people smoking in the lobby area and a slight smell of tobacco in the room.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

Unbeatable price for its great location! It's right in the center but off the main streets so you can experience both "touristic" Vienna and "The Third Man" Vienna. Efficient and professional staffs, small but decent room, charming "old school" elevator, good and hearty breakfast buffet (tables with thick white tablecloth), very quick responses to email inquiries, free internet access. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

The Hotel Kartnerhof is a great place to stay! The location was blocks
away from public transportation. The only problem we encountered was finding the hotel from the bus (airport bus). Our room was huge and we
had a bathtub with shower. Blow dryers are kept at the front desk. The
design of the room was very old European. The hotel is located in an alley, so there was little noise. We very enjoyed the staff at the hotel. They helped us pick out tours and places to eat. The breakfast was very good too. We are American's living in Italy, so of course we also enjoy the breakfasts in Austria.

We were also able to walk to St. Stephens Cathedral in 5 minutes. If I
ever get back to Vienna, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The directions to the hotel (on the website)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaerntnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaerntnerhof

Address: Grashofgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#47 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaerntnerhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kärntnerhof where French flair and Italian elegance meet the world. Relax after shopping and culture on the roof terrace with its splendid, close-up view of the city’s famous baroque towers.Our charming, privately run Hotel in the First District, is just a three-minute walk from St. Stephen’s Cathedral and surrounded by many historical sites.44 rooms and suites and one grand salon – with hospitality that comes from the heart. All our rooms and suites feature an en-suite bathroom with shower and toilet, hair-dryer, TV, telephone, safe and free WLAN. Parking is available (fee-based). Access from 6 a.m. until 9 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaerntnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kartnerhof Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaerntnerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.