We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in an historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Konig Von Ungarn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Konig Von Ungarn to your Saves list
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schulerstrasse 10, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location in an historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. Our room was comfortable and modestly elegant with crystal chandelier. Hotel staff was very helpful and always pleasant and willing to help. Included breakfast was one of the best I have had in Europe, including hot eggs (or even sausage and beer if you'd like). Location couldn't have been better, on a lane behind the church. Easy walking access to sites, or to a taxi if needed. Hotel pickup at airport was extra but worth the expense if you've had a long flight. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    82
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
129
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel has a cozy old-town feel to it which suits a vacation in Vienna, and its location right beside the main central square is perfect for touring the 1st District. We found the 'maisonette' room perfect for our family of 4, with its second bedroom/bathroom on an upper floor inside the room. Overall everything was great in the room- comfortable beds, no issue with noise (room was in front), clean & nicely appointed bathroom and plenty of closet space. Between being able to sleep the family in one room and the fact that a great breakfast is included in the room rate, this is an affordable option in its price class. The staff is very warm and helpful. The front desk accommodated many requests of ours, and the concierge, Michael Fallmann, found us sold out concert tickets to the Vienna Symphony (note- inquire when you book). He is very knowledgeable in music if you are looking for suggestions. We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: Maisonette rooms are perfect for families (assuming the kids can deal with stairs). Make sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The room was very immaculate and well appointed with a spotless, large, all white tiled bathroom with separate, also spotless, toilet. With the windows closed, it was very quiet, the bed very comfortable. As I have found customary in Europe the mattress was split in two down the middle. The location, only steps away from St Stephen's Cathedral. Actually the whole hotel was spotless. Restaurant staff was very accommodating of our late supper and late breakfast. Food was excellent and the included breakfast was superb with a huge range of choice at the cold buffet. Maybe a little pricey per night, but well worth every penny in our opinion. There was a large closet to hang clothes and store baggage and all the little necessities such as soaps, lotions, nail files, combs, thread and needle, shoe horn and shoe shine cloths, etc. Would gladly stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was actually a suite, with an upstairs loft with another large bed. Up there it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Nice hotel rooms are ok with everything you need, i was impressed by the location and the fact that the house next door was that of mozart.
The lobby bar employees should be brought to discipline they are always chatting among themselves and you as a guest feel they dont care.
Breackfast is at the border but one lady there is very attentive. We asked for a late check out and early check in and we were satisfied.
Over all i recommend it

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltraud R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review conderning your stay at our Hotel. We also thank you for mentioning some critical points, which gives us the chance to improve. We will immediatly talk about those things in our teams. Thany you & kind regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The first being valentines night. I can't fault this hotel. The room was spotless, had a separate loo to bathroom. With two sinks. Huge comfy bed. Very Austrian decor. Excellent location to explore all Vienna had to offer. Night caps in the Atrium bar are a must. Very helpful reception staff. Good breakfast too hot and cold selection. Baggage taken care of by porter. And turn down service with choccie on pillow is such a lovely touch.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

PLUS: Room design and atmosphere - very cool and romantic!; Service - really good and professional. I asked for the room to be arranged romantically and they offered me some red rose petals in shape of a heart on the bed and a bottle of sparkling wine in ice in the room. Really nice
MINUS: Unfortunately, there wasn't only a big bed, there where 2 beds united - which I hate the most when I go to a Hotel [ especially a 4-5 stars Hotel that costs something ]... It's very uncomfortable! The beds and the doors where making noises... - on almost every movement and :|
Also we ate their restaurant where we served a Goose Menu : goose soup and a main course - also goose. It was really good, despite what I read about the food in the reviews here. But what i didn't really liked, it was that I asked them to arrange the table specially for Valentine's day, and they said that they will put a candle on the table and some flowers. Well, we had only a really tall rose [looked kinda' ugly actually] and a candle... But the light were too bright and there was no special atmosphere...

Room Tip: Ask before which room they have available, and if you take a double room, if you are like me and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel has rooms which are very comfortable with plenty of closet space and a very nice seating area. The lounge area is very bright and comfortable. Breakfasts were very good. The only problem was that the bed was too hard for me and I had to ask at least 3 times for a pad to soften the bed. Finally on the third day, a maid put a down coverlet on the bed which helped . This was the only negative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Konig Von Ungarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Konig Von Ungarn

Address: Schulerstrasse 10, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#24 Family Hotel in Vienna
#43 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Konig Von Ungarn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel König von Ungarn is a first class hotel that has welcomed crowned heads of state, artists and other prominent figures since 1746.Our hotel is in the heart of Vienna just behind St. Stephan's Cathedral and close to the Vienna State Opera and many other sights.Apart from the comfort of the generously appointed rooms, the glass-covered inner courtyard is an ideal place to relax and enjoy in a traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Konig Von Ungarn Vienna
Konig Von Ungarn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.