We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have not made up mind mind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Have not made up mind mind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

My initial impressions of this hotel were negative, with a less than happy attendance by the front of staff. Our room was not ready, it was nearly 2.00 in the afternoon and this did not seem to bother them that much. After waiting for awhile I inquire and ask if the room was facing the park, it was not but if I wanted to wait until 6 in the evening there would be one. We choose this option and returned to the bar to wait, where we did indeed wait, as the barman had dissappeared and did not return for nearly an hour, not good. On returning to the hotel we took our keys and went to the room which I must admit was nice. The bed and extremely comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom was very clean and was attended to everyday in a professional manner. The bar fridge was also free which was a nice touch. Overall it is a good hotel but SOME staff at the front of house let the place down and this needs to be attended too. If you want a hotel in the centre of Vienna choose this one, it is not bad for the price. However, I don't know if it is a five star hotel just yet?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Dear guest,

thank you very much for commenting your stay.

We spoke to our barstaff as well bellboys and doormen and expressed your experience and your comments to them as well a stressed out the importance requested by our guests.

Looking very much forward welcoming you again at the Palais, we kindly remain

with best regards from Vienna

Helmut Sommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    209
    144
    60
    38
See reviews for
91
202
56
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Very convenient location. We could walk almost anywhere. Tram stop just in front of the hotel and subway station across the park in front. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room on the small side but nice, with a view on Parkring and the park. Free internet and free mini bar was appreciated. Breakfast was average. Room service was fast. Business center has two computers linked to the Internet but only one has a printer. Generally, very good value for money (we had the 120 Euro/night offer)
Area full with restaurants and cafes. We found a very nice restaurant not far from the hotel named Kuckuck. It has only ten tables behind a tiny entrance and very nice food.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Dear guest,

thanking you very much for sharing your experience, we would like to extend our best wishes for 2010 and remain

with best regards from Vienna

Helmut Sommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Centrally located and near the old town in Vienna. The rooms had all the amenities in place and in addition Internet and the mini-bar was free as well.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows were too soft, but they were changed as soon as i called and requested for a firm pillow.

The staff were courteous and helpful.

However, the gym which was squeezed into this tiny room and there was only 1 piece of any type of gym equipment (1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer, 1 cycle etc.)

Overall a nice place to stay

  • Liked — Centrally located, free internet and minibar
  • Disliked — Gym at the hotel
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 7, 2009
Dear guest,

thanking you very much for commenting your stay at the Palais through tripadvisor and sharing your experience with the community, we are very much looking forward welcoming and remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Yes, the location is great, all the sights and the shopping are at walking distance and the hotel looks lovely and romantic from the outside, but alas, well inside you think you are not in central Europe but accidentally in some other place, the lobby is crowded with large and loud families occupying the seating area, and there is a lot of noise in the terribly busy breakfast rooms and in the hotel rooms which are not exactly soundproof. We spent a week in summer and had a good time in Vienna but would not think of returning to the Palais. The staff was nice and helpful though, nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Dear guest,

thanking you very much for your comment and sharing your experience, we kindly remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We booked a double and got a twin room. We moved to another, smaller room but the mattress turned out to be a two-piece and not a proper double – very uncomfortable. The air-conditioning/heating did not work properly and we resorted to switching it off and opening the windows (with the attendant traffic and street noise) to cool the room. We were woken up on the first night with a 4 am alarm call which we had not requested. It is a mockery of the ratings system that a hotel as dreadful as this can claim to be a five star.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 2, 2009
Dear guest,

thanking you very much for commenting your experience at the Palais.

Our General Manager, Mr. Heimo LEITGEB, already sent you a personal answer reffering to your letter received at the Hotel.

We deeply regret the circumstances about our housekeeping as well as we assure you, that we have spoken to our bellboy concerning his attitude towards yourself

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

My fiance and I booked a room for two nights cut it short due to horrible accomodations.
The maid woke us up at 8am than agian at 9am and a third time at 930am, there were silverfish insects in the bathroom, heat that wouldn't turn off and the maid again banging on the door at 11:30am. No regard for us whatsoever!
We went to check out at noon the bellhop was agressive about taking our luggage, and when we insisted taking it ourselves he than was rude to us by blocking us from leaving with a cart of luggage from another guest.
This is a 5 STAR Hotel??? by what measure in sum its an embarrassment to Vienna

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I am not sure what happened, but I guess we probably had the smallest room ever. Once arrived, the receptionist offered an upgrade but we directly said no thinking that the room would be a real 5 star hotel style! It was not at all! tiny room with very very tiny bathroom.
The lobby was so small and dull. Breakfast area was like a hallway with no food variety. We were almost invisible but when we approach a staff member, they would help BUT with a dry face; not very friendly..
A tiny mistake while checking out would have made us pay for the breakfast twice! The rude receptionist was insisting that breakfast was not included with our reservation while I was arguing that we even confirmed as checking-in that it was. She spent so much time to figure that out!
I have to warn you that some of the photos I saw here are a bit misleading. I was trying to convince myself this was not the hotel I stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
dear guest,

thanking you very much for sharing your experience we would like to extend our deepest apologies for our accounting mistake.

Concerning the rooms, we may assure you, that since a few weeks we are in the final planning process of a huge refurbishment of the whole building.

Thanking you again for your comment, we kindly remain

with best regards from Vienna




P.S.:
We will keep all our guests & visitors of our tripadvisor profile updated - so stay tuned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#136 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.