We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for my husbands surprise birthday trip and went to the Johan Strauss ball. Wrote to the hotel in advance to say this was a very special trip and having read the reviews could they gurantee that it would be good. They replied to say they would. I booked a club room. The room itself was fine...but not well cleaned including leaving the previous guests coffee in the machine! Room service was the worst that we have had anywhere in the world. Spagetti with a blb of tomato puree, stone cold , small portion for 15 euros. Poorly presented. They have a one button call service which is rude and they avoid at all costs trying to help you. Just impossible to get anything done. Housekeeping not helpful.
Breakfast good, staff in the restaurant ranged from rude to helpful.
Must mention Anna marie in the bar...if only all the other staff were like her. She was exceptionally good.
Disapponited that the hotel couldnt pull out the stops to make our stay smooth and of the quality taht we would expect...even though I wrote in advance.
Cant recommend I am afraid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding our room service performance. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our room service department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    200
    143
    60
    38
See reviews for
88
199
54
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Old style, updated spot close to all the museums and good walks. Tasty breakfast included in reasonable room rate. Excellent service; helped with great seats at 2 operas. Also, there was a mistake on credit card charges we discovered after leaving and they fixed quickly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your expectations were met. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location, lovely building, and helpful staff.
But the decor is a bit old. The "No Smoking" rooms were either previously "Smoking Allowed" or previous occupants have ignored the smoking ban: the room stank of stale cigarette smoke.
But then, cigarettes and smoking are big in Vienna.
So on the way into the hotel through the lobby, you have to confront the stale cigar smoke (or indeed current cigar smoke) which is a bit grim.
Cleaning was half-hearted. The drinking glasses we used for the juices in the (free) minibar were never changed in the 3 nights we stayed there and the bottle caps and used teabags not removed.
The gym is pitifully small although the roof terrace is kind of cool in the snow. The showers next to the sauna have green mould growing around the tiles so the poor cleaning theme seems to be continuing.

I've stayed in Radissons in a few different locations and I'm quite disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Kew_Nick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Radisson Blu Palais Hotel and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any claim is fully investigated. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and kindly assure you, that we will review and re-evaluate the smoking policy at our bar as well as a deep cleaning of our gym.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After spending one night in Belgrade it wa a pleasure to get to this hotel. Staff were great upon entry, very professional, knowledgeable and polite. The room was very comfortable and over looked the park in front of the hotel.
The service from the waitress in the streetside coffee shop was perfect, even when dealing with a mixture of English, Indian, Scottish and Australian clients, who I must admit were asking a lot of questions. She was very helpful with all of our questions and provided drinks and nibbles with a smile.
Hoping to revisit this great hotel in July 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear DurhamPom,

thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay during the summer period with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not remotely close to 5 star even by European standards, I stayed here for 2 nights And I regret each of them. The hotel is old and ratty. On entering the foyer, all I could think was that it smelled like a well used gambling den, the stench of cigarettes was overpowering and strongly suggested that the cleaning staff weren't doing their job. The counterstaff were rude, it seems that customer service is not something that is taught to them, well except for an African chap who was very helpful. Concierge..... I don't know if it existed, I never saw them. My room was minuscule, even by European standards, the bathroom was fine but a room that is so small that it barely fitted a single bed, talking about the cupboard under the stairs..... The breakfasts were average, not a huge amount of variety, but acceptable, although the 28 Euros is very steep for what you get. I have stayed at a heap of Radisson hotels and am even a member of their frequent guest program, this hotel is a disgrace, and Radisson should be ashamed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Radisson is ideally located to visit the historical center of Vienna, most points of interests are a stone thrown away from the hotel. Service is great, with friendly and efficient staff, especially at the reception and the breakfast restaurant. Club rooms are spacious with all amenities. Can only recommend this Radisson

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Vienna and your stay with us and are honoured to have our staffmembers with us, which you mentioned. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Three women friends on our annual pre-christmas trip, decided to stay at the Radisson Blu Palais, and were not sorry about it! We had single rooms, and though small, they were comfortable and lacked nothing (apart from the one that had no view of the park - and was not as close to the two other rooms as we had requested).

When booking our rooms (through Expedia), it was confirmed that breakfast was included. However, at our arrival we were told that this was not the case, and we had to call Expedia to have them confirm it to the hotel. So we did, but later in the day we were informed that the hotel had not received the requested message from Expedia. Graciuosly enough, the receptionist took our word for it, and breakfast was included.

A small thing maybe, and at the end solved in a friendly way by the hotel - it was nevertheless an annoying start to our stay. I don't know who was to blame, the hotel or Expedia, but I hope they have a better communication in the future in order to avoid such discussions again.

Once that was solved, our stay proved to be very nice - the breakfast was lovely and the location of the hotel made it very easy for us to go back and relax (and get warm again!) after having strolled around in the freezing, inner city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the park - unless you are a light sleeper and wants to face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Snehvit,

thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.

As we did have an issue with breakfast included and/or not caused by bad connection between Expedia/hotels.com and our reservation system, the wrong inclusion of breakfast of your booking has been taken care of by Expedia as the fault is known there.

As we discovered this issue sometimes during the past months, our reception employees are already entitled to alter charges like this in front of our guests and will be taken care of "behind the scenes".

Looking forward welcoming you soon again we remain

with best regards from Vienna


PS: Like us on facebook and receive up-to-date news & special offers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.